Re: Hard-core Punjabi Translator
then y dont u tell ME what exactly it means, eh ![]()
^Exactly.... ehsan bhai please tell us the correct translation if you know.
Here's another try
literal= family of lizard and hugging of beams
metaphorical translation= nature of clingers yet you settle for supports
condescending interpretation= capable of do it but you still rely on others
therefore meaning=Lack of confidence when you're perfectly capable
"**Zaat dee kor kili tey chatirra noo japhay."
Chattira = Shahteeraa(n) ... tree branches (or stem)
So it should be
*"Zaat dee kordh'kirli tey shateeraa(n) nu japphay."*
The kind of lizard (kor'kirli) doens't go on to trees it sticks on hard surfaces like walls & cielings.
It means ... someone of lower cast trying to sit among higher casts people ... lower cast person trying (pretending) to be of higher cast. OR someone of lower cast who is not supposed to be doing something is trying to do it.
This is what he is telling you and you still don’t get it???
Lizards can fall off a beam due to the horizontal nature of the beam and gravity at work compared to sticking on the wall. When a lizard climbs up the beam it's prone to fall and taking that as cue the saying basically means what Najim said that when someone tries to go out of his league he's bound for a disaster so one should keep it in his skin.
"Zaat dee kor kili tey chatirra noo japhay."
So it should be
"Zaat dee kordh'kirli tey shateeraa(n) nu japphay."
The kind of lizard (kor'kirli) doens't go on to trees it sticks on hard surfaces like walls & cielings.
It means ... someone of lower cast trying to sit among higher casts people ... lower cast person trying (pretending) to be of higher cast. OR someone of lower cast who is not supposed to be doing something is trying to do it.
OR in salees urdu, "oqaat kuch nahi or khawab daikhna baray baray"
what does it mean??
pretty racist and unislamic thing to say :P
Peace Najim
Thanks for clarifying.
In English it means:
"You are out of your league"
Right?
This is what it pretty much means :k:
We have a winner.
It’s like someone small (not literally) trying to accomplish big stuff. i.e. new worker in a company trying to hang out with the CEO or the board members in hope of getting a promotion. “khud itney chotey ho, aur kaam itney barey karney ki koshish”…like a lizard is small and he/she hugs wood beams (something very large).
p.s. For future reference, you can just PM me about any punjabi questions ![]()
Ravage, har jagah panga nahi changa…no daaka maaring on my haq :nono:
ok this tey means "and" and not "on".....
may be it means that a person has a lower rank or cast but he/she uses very high quality stuff, or may be tariqlkhan is right.
Wrong. no cigars.
Here's another try
literal= family of lizard and hugging of beams metaphorical translation= nature of clingers yet you settle for supports condescending interpretation= capable of do it but you still rely on others therefore meaning=Lack of confidence when you're perfectly capable
Nice try but still no cigars.
So it should be
"Zaat dee kordh'kirli tey shateeraa(n) nu japphay."
At last we have a winner, cooler aap ka howa. :)
Now how about we learn some English as well. It's caste not "cast".
^Good catch Khek.
“small person acting big.”
thats the basic translation.