harbhajan listening to islamic lecture of tableeghi moulana?

i could not believe on tht when i came accross this news on jang news paper sports page…according to the news,tableeghi guys r giving islamic lectures to paki team regularly in faisalabad hotel and as well as in other cities…moulana Tariq Jameel shaheb gave abt 90 minutes lecture to paki team… Harbhajan Singh was also present at tht lecture.according to the newspaper,he heared the lecture with full attention and interest

the other news tht i hope all of u people know tht yousuf is committed to grow beard…extremely nice to hear…

Re: harbhajan listening to islamic lecture of tableeghi moulana?

Good, He is a true Secular Indian

Tablighees have taken over the Paki ckt team for obvious reasons, this is the best method to get maximum exposure to the Pakistani people. Free publicity from extremely likeable and credible sources.

Sad thing about this entire episode is the fact that Pakistan has its share of religious minorities. What about the Shia boyzz? OH Iam sorry, we dont have any in the Pak team, strange is'nt it? Eik Danish Kaneria left, soon he too shall find his name plate changed to xxxxx Danish.

Pakistani cricket players are paid professionals, if they need to practice their religion and religious beliefs then they should do so on their own sweet time and not misuse their position of paid players.

Mushtaq Ahmed was also included for the same reason, merit does not matter, niether does fairness or interest of the team. What matters is complete control over the Paki team and not allow any foreign influences.

Hail Ceaser.....

Speaking of that, who is that bearded guy always seen clapping and cheering and smiling in the Pak dressing room. He almost picked up a trophy that was presented to Inzi. I think Inzi had to intervene to get him out of the way.

He is the towel boy, guy who carries or does the donkey work for the team and management. I saw him in Karachi stadium when Bangladesh was visiting and Yasir scored his two hundreds, he was acting as if though he owned the stadium. Not a bad chap though.

In a free society, people have the right to be religious if desired. Even in the United States, athletes have reguarly chapel sessions and bible readings. There is no reason to fret this. No one forces them to join and minorities are respected by them. Most people in this world subscribe to some religion and feel God plays an important role in their lives. there is no reason to begrudge our players this right.

Cricketers are no different when compared to paid professionals, they have a job to do and they are paid handsomely for that objective. Just like any other working environment, people are expected to perform and their religious responsibilities are respected. That does not give any religious entity the right to impose its views or be ever present in the players dressing room. You conviniently ignored the point on Mushtaq Ahmed inclusiin as a paid 'bowling consultant'? This is what happens when a particular group assumes control and places its objectives ahead of the team.

Take it from another prspective, Pak cricket team is the host and Tablighees the parasites, a unfortunate choice of analogy but one that fits the culprit.

Another point which u raised and very critical was about 'free societies'. Pakistan cannot be a free society where individuals who refuse to follow a particular or popular line are punished by selective admonition or exclusion. Religion in Pakistan is a taboo subject, what if a player has other priorities and wishes to spend time away from the tablighees?

Finally, your point that rights of minorities are respected is a farce, fact is we have religious bigots everywhere, tell me why doesnt Pak team have a regular Shia player? They do not fit the pre-qualification methods

maybe shia boys play hockey instead! :)

I think yousaf should not grow a beard clean shave looks better. A small one is ok maybe like afridi and inzi but not one like s.anwar

fartguru, Zaheer Abbas is/was a practicing shia. Why are bringing the religious bias into this discussion? It's not valid.

We can discuss tableeghi jamats interaction with the team but it has nothing to do with inclusion of minorities in the team.

inshaallah danish will become a muslim too…
do u not wish he’d be a muslim and be saved from hellfire???
or r u one of those who’d rather have him as a hindu (and finally burn in hell) just so that u cud have a minority representation in the team…

why do u all burn up from head to foot when u hear something religious about the team…

Islam se itni nafrat acchi nahin…

I heard all muslims are going to hell. Didnt u see the latest info in crick info.

^ no i missed it....

wah yaar..iss say zaida bura reply nahi kar saktay thay??..u think atbleeghi jamaat want to become famous?? hahaha…make sense dear…they want to give islam exposure by making cricketers as example for common people and there is nothing wrong in it…
paki players themselves show interest to attend lectures of tableeghi jamaat and u should not be worry abt tht…by the way u think harbhajan was also forced to attend such lecture??
hats off to tableeghi jamaat

Pakistan players captivated by regular religious sermons

From Waheed Khan

FAISALABAD: Pakistani players have become captivated with the sermons of well-known Islamic scholar Mufti Tariq Jameel, who has twice been invited for special sessions by the team management in the last two days at the team hotel here in Faisalabad.

A large gathering attended the sitting by Mufti Jameel on Monday evening while, earlier, he held a private session for the Pakistani players on Sunday night, which was also attended by an Indian player.

Harbhajan Singh was seen sitting with the Pakistani players for a while listening to what the Mufti had to say and a Pakistani player later insisted there was no extremism in the Mufti’s ‘Waaz’ and he basically talked about how a good human being is supposed to spend his life and the principles and ideals he should follow in life.

Mufti Tariq Jameel unlike the orthodox Ulema is well educated and an eloquent speaker and his talks on Islam in a modernised manner tend to touch the players more quickly.

Majority of the Pakistani players have in recent months adopted a new lifestyle revolving around the teachings of Islam and regularly say their prayers and attend sermons from well known religious scholars, who are invited by captain Inzamam-ul-Haq and assistant bowling coach Mushtaq Ahmed to hold special sessions for the players.

The players have taken to praying together in ‘Jamaat’ and their lifestyle is a far cry from what one has witnessed in the past by some of the Pakistani players.

Although Inzamam is reluctant to talk about this new lifestyle of the team and also doesn’t want all religious activities of the players to be highlighted in the media, but nearly everybody else has noticed the big change in the team.

Inzamam said in an interview during the home series against England that this new approach by the players had only increased the togetherness and unity in the team and the players had now become more tolerant and supportive of each other which was good for Pakistan cricket.

He denied that he was forcing any player to adopt this changed lifestyle and said the players took decisions on their own including senior batsman Yousuf Youhana who took the Muslim name of Mohammad Yousuf after converting to Islam last year.

“No one is forced to do anything they don’t want to do and there is no pressure on anyone to say their prayers. They do it out of their own free will,” Inzamam had said.

If that were the case, then Mushtaq would be included in the playing eleven. As for "foreign" influence, well the biggest influence would be the "foreign" coach, don't you think?

My question to all muslim guys in the forum.

Do you think they doing wrong by inviting cricketers to Islam?

If they acting on following the sunnah of Prophet are they still wrong to do?

Is cricket important then religion?

such hatred of hindus! may Sri Krishna make you repent and provide some forgiveness to you so that your soul doesn't suffer too much in your next incarnation!

but more importantly, may Krishna give India atleast two seriously attacking bowlers!

Since Mr. Armughal is at his Hindu bashing, and convert everybody by sword or persuation.
Can we shift this thread to Religion, so we can discucss Cricket here, and let our religious frustrations/ beliefs come out where these can.........

let me take my sword out for you