Haqqani: Pakistan just wants to blame its neighbors

This guy was Pakistani ambassador?

Haqqani: Pakistan just wants to blame its neighbors – Amanpour - CNN.com Blogs

By Lucky Gold

Haunted by the remnants

Pakistan President Asif Al Zardari is scheduled to attend a U.N. summit on Afghanistan in Chicago this weekend. However, his meeting with President Obama may depend on whether Pakistan will open the critical NATO supply route into Afghanistan. That route was closed after a NATO air strike killed twenty four Pakistani soldiers and the U.S. refused to apologize.

In this atmosphere of distrust and dysfunction, Husain Haqqani, former Pakistani ambassador to the United States, and now residing in America, appeared Thursday on Amanpour.

“We must understand that there are two parallel narratives here,” said Haqqani, speaking from Washington. “Pakistanis think that the Untied States is an untrustworthy ally; the Americans think that Pakistani’s don’t always fulfill their end of the bargain, especially when it comes to terrorism.”

But how to end the deadlock and distrust? Haqqani realizes it won’t be easy: “Christiane, remember we need to crack down on these extremists for Pakistan’s sake. More Pakistanis have been killed by them than they have killed Americans…. America will leave Afghanistan someday. But we will still be haunted by the remnants.”

Among the things that “haunt” his country, he said, is the refusal to allow for honest debate and accountability: “Look, I am, as a Pakistani, very concerned about the direction of my own country. I am among those who feel that there are elements in Pakistani society who don’t allow us to have an honest and realistic debate about foreign policy.”

“We just want to blame our neighbors, our enemies,” said Haqqani, “we don’t want to take account of what’s wrong at home.”

Talk to any Pakistani for five minutes

However, he did not minimize his country’s legitimate concerns: “We are concerned about the future of Afghanistan. We don’t want India to create a kind of presence in Afghanistan that the U.S. wouldn’t have tolerated if the Soviets had created it in Mexico during the Cold War.”

But hampering any honest discussion between Pakistan and the U.S., he said, is “a small group of people ideologically motivated and seeking essentially the domination of an Islamist ideology within Pakistan, but unable to get votes.”

“Talk to any Pakistani for five minutes,” he said, “and by the fifth minute he will be getting angry about America far more than he would about whoever hid Osama bin Laden in Pakistan. Now there’s been a year that’s gone and we haven’t yet prosecuted anyone for hiding and protecting Osama bin Laden there. So my point is, as Pakistanis, we need to take some responsibility.”

At the same time, “Pakistan demanded an apology for the Salala incident (the lethal air strike) when Pakistan’s troops were killed. America disregarded that request.”

We were left with the baby

He was speaking of reciprocity: “Look, we helped the Americans fight the Soviets in the ‘80’s and what was the result? Civil war in Afghanistan, the Americans left, we were left with the baby and we paid the price for the civil war. Then 9-11 came, we became partners with the Americans again, and this time when the Americans leave, we will still be picking up the pieces.”
“Pakistanis have to wake up to the fact that whatever advantages they have as the ground line of communication provider, that advantage is not going to last forever. As the Americans withdraw, yes, they need Pakistan to withdraw their heavy equipment. But in a worst case scenario, they can say ‘Blow up the equipment, let’s get out of here through other means.’”

However, he cautions that America has its own inflammatory political climate and that, too, hampers any honest discussion between the two nations: “Your domestic politics and our domestic politics often come in the form of a clash, and when they clash nothing good comes out of it.”

I got punched by both sides

Haqqani said that he was not alone among Pakistanis advocating relations between their country and the United States. However, he admitted they are “not always understood there.”

“Well, look, you know Christiane, that I did not come to a very good end as ambassador. I ended up being accused of all sorts of things because I was trying to explain to people in Pakistan that the sentiment in America was now turning against our country. And I kept telling people in America that they need to be a little more understanding of what’s going on in Pakistan. So the proverbial middleman, I got punched by both sides.”
He risks more than punches if he were to return to his homeland. “I will not go back to Pakistan for the moment,” he said. “Purely because there are elements there who have been threatening my life…So until such time as the ideologically motivated hateful rhetoric against me is ending, it’s better for me to stay out.”

But that doesn’t mean he intends to stay out of the argument. “Pakistan has to decide,” he said, “Do we want to embrace a future that will make Pakistan a future South Korea, or do we want to embrace a future that will make us like Iran and Somalia? And I think we should opt for an optimistic future, not a hateful future.”

Re: Haqqani: Pakistan just wants to blame its neighbors

head hunted by PPP - what else you can say :)

Samjh nahan ata qurbani ka bakra kahoon ya gaanda anda:confused:

a few interviews that he has given in the recent past are enough to show where his loyalties lie and whose interest he'd be serving as ambassador.

He has always been like this. Pakistan becomes a prgressive and safe country for only when he is Pakistan's envoy in the US. Else, it's always a backward country which has no hope and no future. He does not surprise me anymore.

true whatever Haqqani said. Until the deep state is taken care of, their is no bright future of Pakistan.
Is their any "maai ka laal" who can dare to ask our Military about there latest blunder of first closing and now opening of NATO supply lines?

abu sahee kehty ty ppp ky bary meen
"yeh woh party hy jis mulak tora tha"

There are some people whose DNA lies decrypted on their faces, open for all to read and make no mistake about them. He is one of those people. Just check out his articles published around the world and you will know what he is made of.

One more thing, you will be able to see him in full action once his boss isn't in power anymore. He resides in the US and he provides them with all the reasons to be a good host.

Iss kaa asal chehra lagta hai, yehi hai. Corrupt mentality. Shakal se hi ghaddaar lagta hai, aur harkaton aur baaton, se bhi.

Shukar hai memo-gate scandal ki wajah se expose to hua aur chehrey ki qalai utar gai.

He is a little thing. Who put him there and tried to use his skill set is more important.
I mean there are killers locked up in jails, we don't discuss them we don't put them on our security.

I was friends with sons/nephews of PPP leaders. Believe it, they consider manipulating and deception on national/international level, good politics.
After all their prophet is bhutto.

People worshipping their graves ?? husain haqqani or memo is no accident.

this guy is an opportunist , who does not have any qualms about what right and whats wrong.

I met this guy , back in 1981 or 1982 , he was the president of KU , I was a councilor , I belonged to Liberals Mateen Qureshi ] , I was standing at the point , waiting , suddenly he came right in front of me, and without saying anything tore his own shirt , said some gibberish ,and walked away with other Jamatis who were escorting him obviously crowd gathered around us , ..every one wanted to know what happened ,...and I was like , what the hell just happened .

next day Jamatis were distributing pamphlets of some serious life threatening Phadda of their president , and every one was asking with whom , even those Jamatis who were with him on the spot , could not recognize me and were telling me how serious and how narrowly he escaped being thrashed really bad by the opposition group , I had discussed this incident with my other colleagues and we decided to remain quiet , for Jamatis were looking for trouble and this we considered as a deliberate attempt to start a ruccas and brawl on the campus for political reasons. , so I remained quiet and just smiled .

Like I said, he looks very corrupt.

now he talks of democracy and terrorists although he also started his career through zia ul haq's help.

The Haqqani Network

Erstwhile phone buddies Husain Haqqani and Mansoor Ijaz have amply proven each other to be dubious characters, and such people have a recurring habit of falling out. The truth about Memogate’s sponsors notwithstanding, the motivation was primarily to bring the Pakistani security establishment to heel, the ultimate goal being to “de-nuke” Pakistan. Mansoor Ijaz being an American-born US citizen was safe promoting stated US policy. What was Pakistan’s ambassador to the US, His Excellency Husain Haqqani, up to? The Supreme Court did the right thing appointing a really high-powered Judicial Commission (chief justices of three provincial high courts) to sift fact from fiction.

Mansoor Ijaz scored big by giving his BlackBerry PIN number to the Judicial Commission and offering to hand over his BlackBerry and all related data. Husain Haqqani seemed to suffer from “memory loss” about where his device was, saying it was somewhere in his home in Washington DC. He later obfuscated, initially flatly declining to have his BlackBerry data investigated, then allowing limited access. The government (and his buddies in the media) faithfully parroted Haqqani’s defence about the memo being fake.

Mansoor Ijaz went one better by presenting additional forensic evidence in London on May 10 to experts engaged by the Judicial Commission. The eight-hour examination of his computer and BlackBerry handsets by forensic experts verified and validated each and every word of all BBM chat exchanges, e-mails, SMS messages and the telephone calls exchanged between him and Husain Haqqani. Many deleted messages were also recovered in the process. Haqqani and his lawyers boycotted the proceedings on the grounds that the examination should have been conducted earlier during the cross-examination of Mansoor Ijaz.

**Husain Haqqani started his political career as president of the extremely militant Islami Jamiat-e-Talaba, the student wing of the Jamaat-e-Islami. A far-right Islamist political party, the Jamaat advocates religious fundamentalism and a theocracy-based government system in Pakistan. The MQM then not being in existence, the Jamaat virtually ruled Karachi. Haqqani’s academic brilliance was recognised by Ziaul Haq’s martial law regime, which assiduously promoted his career as a journalist.
**After Zia’s death he started working for the Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz), created by Zia’s military and civilian supporters to counter Benazir Bhutto’s resurgent Pakistan Peoples Party. A past master at giving spin to facts, he excelled himself serving the PML-N. His “dirty tricks” were too much for then political neophyte Mian Nawaz Sharif to stomach, so Haqqani fell out with the PML-N to join its ideological opposite, the PPP. Reincarnated as a liberal, Haqqani spewed poison against his former rightist mentors.
The Supreme Court was naive in generously allowing him to leave the country during the Memogate hearings despite being repeatedly advised that he would never come back. Not surprisingly, Haqqani, who never fails to eventually maul whoever helps him, has now turned his guns on those honourable judges. His latest article “How Pakistan lets terrorism fester, why Pakistani courts are biased?” is a shameful attempt at maligning the Supreme Court of Pakistan.

**Lashing out at the intelligence agencies, he does not spare the media either, “While fighting Pakistan’s endemic corruption is vital, the media and judiciary have helped redirect attention away from the threat of jihadist ideology by constantly targeting the governing party – a convenient situation for the intelligence services, which would prefer to keep the spotlight on the civilian government rather than on the militant groups they have historically supported.”

Ahmad Noorani unmasked Haqqani’s real face in his excellent rejoinder on May 14: “In his true colours: why is sacked ambassador shy of the truth?” “He (Haqqani) says our national discourse has been hijacked by those seeking to deflect attention from militant Islamic extremism and Gen Zia and Musharraf were mainly responsible. What a marvel of a statement if he had only looked at his own career and growth. Was he himself not an Islamist militant student leader? Did Gen Zia not promote him as a journalist in the Far Eastern Economic Review? Was he not advising the dictator, free of cost or for whatever returns. He forgot to admit that he was a member of Team Zia, which played havoc with this country.**

**This scribe has a state-run TV’s video showing Haqqani weeping at the time of the death of his mentor Ziaul Haq. Haqqani accuses the Supreme Court judges of carrying out their ‘own partisan agenda.’ What he calls an agenda is actually the blowback of his own party government’s massive corruption, loot and plunder, which Mr Haqqani conveniently refuses to see.

The PPP leaders have all along shouted from housetops that in 11 years nothing was proved against them. Now that the courts are proving charges of corruption, judges have become biased and carrying agendas! Is there any limit to the depth of shamelessness that Mr Haqqani and his bosses will stop at?”**
Noorani adds: “Haqqani says the Pakistani media has done little to help generate support for eliminating extremism and fighting terrorism. What the media has done for him, he will never talk about. Can he tell us how many hundreds or thousands of calls he has made to each and every media person to push his point of view? How many fake websites he and his cronies, getting funds from one secret fund or other, have been running to malign his opponents and promote him as a victim and as a hero?**

How many fake names has he been using to respond to legal and criminal questions that he was supposed to answer but ran away? Haqqani’s cronies in the print and electronic media are ready to do his bidding “as and when required.” Coordinated disinformation by media celebrities never ceases to amaze. His “media network” outdid itself doing an about-turn justifying Haqqani’s excuses to avoid appearing before the Memogate Commission in person in Pakistan.

Haqqani got away with disparaging the country’s institutions while officially being its ambassador. There is “nothing official” anymore about his venom, or hidden. Americans can sometimes be very naive, but they will never fully trust a man who does not show patriotism for his country, at least while he still claims to be a Pakistani citizen. Having the power of the pen, tarnishing reputations comes naturally to Haqqani, Blogs planted by his minions proliferate. He should remember everyone does not play by the “Marques of Queensbury rules” that others have to adhere to.
Even before the Memogate case came to light, I had said: “For Pakistan’s sake we should first dismantle the far more dangerous ‘Haqqani network’ in Washington DC.”
The writer is a defence and political analyst. Email: [EMAIL=“[email protected]”]i**[EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected]

He is not suitable to present Pakistan. But he has raised some good points there, specially Indian presence in Afghanistan. Its a big question mark for US, what they really want in the region. Too much Indian involvement in Afghanistan is naturally causes problems for Pakistan. It has in past (pre Najib era) and its going to be more since millions of Afghanis have Pakistani IDs and are used to de-stabilize Pakistan.