Happy Divali to Hindu/Sikh/Jains

Arai

As for the person, who referred to me not living in India. Yes, you're right and I find myself lucky in the sense that I rather be born and raised in a Christian country than a Hindu country, and rather not be influenced by Hindu people and like Rani, think that I am Hindu, when I'm clearly of Sikh background.

I am glad you feel lucky to be living among people who believe that only way to God is through Jesus and rest of us will go to hell. You seem to inbibe lot of old Christian values of looking down on non-christians.

You may be Sikh but you don't seem to have any charcterstics of a Sikh which are generosity, open mindedness, universalism and treating everybody with respect.

Start by remembering famous verse by nanak

"Mithat Nivi nanaka, vadiaya tut char."

Rani said to Arai -

" You may be Sikh but you don’t seem to have any charcterstics of a Sikh which are generosity, open mindedness, universalism and treating everybody with respect."

WHY DO YOU THINK EVERY FREE THINKING SIKH IS LIKE YOU ?

[This message has been edited by Malik73 (edited October 26, 2000).]

Mallik,

Talk about Islam.....leave Sikhism to Indians.

Why don't you leave Islam to Muslims then? and talk about Sikhism?

And when discussing Sikhism try to tolerate the view of other Sikhs if you can? Or can you only tolerate the views of Hindu's period!

Malik,

Actually i do, read all the thread about sunni shia fights....indians don't care, we only speak out if our religions is maligned.

Do you know the meaning of word discussion and different point of view....oh i forget you have been taught to follow everything blindly or else....

This our "Devali"...since you are not going to celebrate don't worry about what we say to each other...this is a discussion among our family....nothing to do with you.

[This message has been edited by Rani (edited October 26, 2000).]

Hey guys I said to myself this morning, I am not going to argue with anyone today.:) first result: Boss gave me more work and I couldn't argue with him how my schedule is already very tight.:)

So Happy Diwali to all.
What sucks is that you cann't put up deeway on the baneras(no baneras on houses, no roofs to walk on so that you can see parhosans...the whole deal sucks) and cann't play firecrackers. What is a diwali without shurliyan, patakhay, phulljhaRhiyan and hawaiyean!

Rani said -

" Do you know the meaning of word discussion and different point of view.... "

AND THIS IS WHAT SHE SAID TO ARAI -

---- " You may be Sikh but you don't seem to have any charcterstics of a Sikh..."

SO RANI ITS A CASE OF DO AS I SAY NOT AS I DO HUH?

malik, r u unhappy that I did not wish happy diwali to you? I am sorry for the slip. Happy diwali to malik and other sunni wahabis, taliban included.

Now thank you very much ZZ buddy.

A happy Diwali to you to and many happy returns.

Malik,

That is my point of view, he can come up with his own and let me know if i am wrong...boy it is hard to explain anything to you.....

It seems nobody is willing to give you any attention ....is this your way of getting some.....ha haa haaa

Anyways "Happy Devali"....

Yes but is is necassary to question his commitment to Sikhism or India if you disagree with his views? - thats my point.

Happy Diwali to you as well.

I think the whole thing about this diwali festival is just stupid and crazy.

All these people must be silly spending so much money on burning fire works just for an evening's exitement when there are so many people dieing of starvation in India.

Rani.

Christians say we'll goto hell. So do Muslims.

And in Hinduism. I'm sure non-Hindu's will be constantly reincarnating in low-life forms too right? It's just all relative.

Sikhism, only religion that believes all people of all religions will goto Heaven or what paradise/destination they believe if they stick true to their religion and believe that he is the same God of all religions and is only ONE.

Christian views? Far from that my friend, the last thing Christians would do is to support any Athiest.

Because, I'm of Sikh background and you claim to be a Sikh. Doesn't mean I have to necessarily have to have your opinion.

For your claim of being a Sikh, if you really want to PRETEND to be a Sikh, at least accept that Sikhism isn't Hinduism, and simply the relation between HIndu's and Sikhs would never be the same as it was before the whole Nehru government, Operation Blue-Star, and many other events that were unjust to Sikhs.

Arai

arai

For your claim of being a Sikh, if you really want to PRETEND to be a Sikh, at least accept that Sikhism isn't Hinduism, and simply the relation between HIndu's and Sikhs would never be the same as it was before the whole Nehru government, Operation Blue-Star, and many other events that were unjust to Sikhs.

No hindu will claim that they are Sikh, you may be pretend Sikh, anybody on this board may be pretend anything...i have no desire to prove myself to you. You can think whatever you want as for the events mentioned in your post, they have been discussed at length on this forum you can use search and read the discussion.

P.S. Anybody who dares to discuss anything contrary to what you think is not a Sikh...very interesting.

Originally posted by arai:
*And in Hinduism. I'm sure non-Hindu's will be constantly reincarnating in low-life forms too right? It's just all relative.

Why r u sure? Did u read something like that? Or just for the heck of it!

You r also sure that Rani is not a sikh because ehe does not agree with ur opinions on sikhism which have included a) pork is forbidden to sikhs b) there has not been even a single dravidian sikh c)sikhs do not throw color on each other on divali while hindus do d) atheism is perfectly acceptable for sikhism and more gems of wisdom to follow.

on the other hand only person u claim to respect is chanmahi, beacause he agrees with u and though none can support all ur idiotic statements he has provided cover for many of them. a perfect 'u pat my back, i pat urs.' group alike to CM-malik on politics forum.

Reminds a sanskrit couplet 'ushtranam vivaheshu gitam gayanti gardabha, paraspara prashansanti, ahoroopam ahodhwani' in the marriage of camel, donkey was the singer. the singer praised the handsome looks of the groom and groom praised the sweet voice of singer. continue.

Heh, by the way.

Happy Diwali to everyone who does celebrate it..

Arai**

Arai tum to gadhey ho, khota na ho to, kya diwali diwali laga rakhi hei.

ZZ.

I don't know many Sikhs who agree with bombing, and the destruction of their very own holy city.

I don't know many Sikhs who think it's okay to oppress their freedom of speech.

I don't know many Sikhs, who fought for liberation, became Martyrs for even India, and will credit that to Gandhi.

In all of these, Hindu's were the prime oppressors.

I don't know you ZZ. But, I know one thing. A Sikh is NOT A SIKH if he finds any of the those things acceptable. ANY SIKH who agrees with the above is simply not a Sikh or of Sikh background for that matter.

As for Aryan/Dravidian mentioning. Since, you like this issue. I will provide you articles on this, journals, and thesis's well-documented on this subject. You're not a man of rational reason, or science. I would hate to present you material that you will have no idea how to comprehend. It's like giving a blind man a book to read. But, since I am FORCED to do such a thing, I will provide this for your will.

You also twisted/paraphrased my comment on how some Sikhs don't eat Pork. In the post where I mentioned that, you can see that I said something like "SOME SIKHS DON'T EAT PORK, OR SOME SIKHS CONSIDER THE EATING PORK WRONG." Hence, the term "SOME". Which tends to mean in the English language, a word not to generalize the entire population. And as for Pork, it's very obvious why not. To eat a animal that eats it's own feces shouldn't even be made a choice of religion, just based on a sense of hygiene. That is common sense, and really is a cultural value, not of religion.

As for Diwali. That was my own honest mistake, in which I responded with an admittance to that mistake. Unlike, you and Rani. I won't continuously fight against something I don't believe in, or something I know that I am wrong in. Yes, I mixed up Holi and Diwali. Have a party now.

Well.. As for Atheism accepting Sikhism. Well my friend, you're not an Atheist. I am. Now, I am sure of what I know I accept and what I don't. If I don't accept the Q'uran, or the Gita, but I accept the SGGS because I feel it makes more sense. Than I just happen to be an Atheist, who is more compelled to the Granth Sahib. But, I can still firmly tell you that I don't believe in God. If Nanak Dev, can say God is whatever name you believe it to be. What if my "God" has no Name? Or his name is "Nothing"? Buddy, you're not an atheist, stay out of atheism, and stick to your polytheistic views.

As for your personal attacks. "Idiot", "Limited Knowledge", etc. Seems as though, you make yourself out to be someone of unlimited and infinite knowledge? Wow, with such a vast amount of knowledge, I'm sure that no one would need to discuss in this forum, since you know everything. Heck, maybe you might be this "God" character?

Anyhow, ZZ.

Since, we can't have a decent conversation, without arguing or without you having to make personal attacks, I will just ignore your replies in regard to this. But, I will still provide you the Bio evidence on this Dravidian/Aryan information.

Take care Hindu bro.

Arai

But, I will still provide you the Bio evidence on this Dravidian/Aryan information.

This is getting more interesting by minute your are interpreting personal preference of not eating Pork part of the religion. I know many Sikhs who don't eat meat. All Sikhs are not Aryan although you may like to believe that because that may somehow make you look superior. Hindi and Punjabi speaking Jatts of punjab and Haryana, Gujjar of UP and Rajputs all come from "Hans tribe" that came central Asia after Tamoor Lung's attacks. Illustrated weekly of India at one time ran series of article identifying various groups and where they came from...read them if you can get hold of them.

I don't agree with attack on Golden Temple but at the same time I don't agree with that people like Bhindrawalla should make a Golden Temple head quarter for operation and black mail whole Sikhs community.

Take care.

[This message has been edited by Rani (edited October 30, 2000).]

But, I can still firmly tell you that I don't believe in God. If Nanak Dev, can say God is whatever name you believe it to be. What if my "God" has no Name? Or his name is "Nothing"? **

and hence monotheism=atheism. What an argument!

Buddy, you're not an atheist, stay out of atheism, and stick to your polytheistic views.

I am an animist and idol worshiper. I also believe in witchcraft. But that is besides the point.

*As for your personal attacks. "Idiot", "Limited Knowledge", etc. *

"Limited Knowledge" was not me, it was ur friend chanmahi.

*Since, we can't have a decent conversation, without arguing or without you having to make personal attacks, I will just ignore your replies in regard to this. *

No probs, I am anyway going on vacation for a month. have a gala time.

But, I will still provide you the Bio evidence on this Dravidian/Aryan information.

fine.

Take care Hindu bro.

Take care.

My dear sikh friends

Please accept my apologies for being so rude to you in the past.

After having been very rude to a Sikh gentleman in Agra about a couple of monhs ago I have been feeling very guilty of my deeds.

I have been to the library and been reading a lot of books on the Sikh religion, not only that I find the religion very complete, fullfilling and full of wisdom but I also feel that this is the religion I want to belong to.

I have made up my mind that I want to convert to the Sikh religion and I'm going to go to Delhi to become a sikh of the guru.

I used to feel very proud of being an Indian muslim but after reading many things about the muslim rulers, how they treated other human beings in India, I now feel ashamed to be a muslim.

The only problem I will have when I convert to be a Sikh is that there is no way that I can reverse my circumcisson.

I have started to grow my hair and my beard already.

Waheguru ji ka Khalsa

Waheguru ji ki Fateh