Hamstrung Akhtar eyes comeback in final Test against India

I dont know how to react to this news.

Hamstrung Akhtar eyes comeback in final Test against India](Yahoo is part of the Yahoo family of brands.)

LAHORE, Pakistan (AFP) - Fiery Pakistani pace bowler Shoaib Akhtar said he was recovering fast from a hamstring injury and hopes to play in the final Test against India at Bangalore later this month.

“I have been on rehabilitation and the injury is healing quicker than expected,” Akhtar told AFP Thursday.

“I hope to get fit and play one or two side matches in Pakistan before going to India,” he said.

“It could be the final Test in Bangalore” on March 24.

The 29-year-old pacer, regarded as one of the fastest bowlers in the world, pulled out of Pakistan’s first tour to India in six years because of the injury.

He announced his withdrawal a day after being fined 500 dollars for breaches of discipline during the tour of Australia, although he said the punishment had no bearing on his decision.

“It’s agonising not to be with your mates but its out of my hands,” he said.

“Missing a tour like India is a great disappointment for any player but I am hopeful that I would play at least the last Test and one-day games.”

Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) medical panel is to submit reports on the recovery of Akhtar and two other injured bowlers – Shabbir Ahmed and Umer Gul – on Friday.

The PCB has said Akhtar will have to prove his fitness before being considered for the tour.

The 16-member squad is currently in India for three Tests and six one-day internationals. The first Test starts in Mohali from Tuesday.

Re: Hamstrung Akhtar eyes comeback in final Test against India

Allah khair karay. From article above:

"I have been on rehabilitation and the injury is healing quicker than expected," Akhtar told AFP Thursday.

Or is it that negotiations (re VC and later C) with PCB are going smoother than expected?

Anyway, I hope the first 2 tests really go well and our bowlers (whatever we have) perform better than expected (Sami and Khalil esp) then he may have to wait for the team to go to WI with them.

Maybe the injury is healing quicker than he was expecting or when you have been dumped by your team and country, it works wonder on your bloated ego.

^ :hehe:

agree with ehsan bhai

:slight_smile:

so true Ehsan Bhai:biggthumb

ehsan bhai u know u missed something intentionally. The limelight in the land of bollywood, who will miss it the most :hehe: He can’t see Millions of girls screaming ‘Afridi…Afridi’ all across the country :stuck_out_tongue: Rainy and Gamey… good news for you guys!

On the serious note: All I can say is, this time around he comes back in the team and become insaan for once. He knows he doesn’t have enough time to do all those gymnastics anyway. May he earn respect from the nation with his true bowling potential.

see, I predicted this on the day they said Shoab won't be in pakistan team! always hedging these selectors.

Pakistan needs Shoaib Akhtar in Tests more than the One Dayers, it's a pity that with his stamina he can hardly last a 4 over spell. Hopefully Rana, Khalil and Sami will come good even though I have no hopes for Sami.... he's a very overrated bowler. If only someone could knock some sense and responsibility into Akhtar's head..... (and Afridi's for that matter).

gud news, our already depleted bowling attack needs a ace spearhead, although shabi' isn't the ideal person one would like to associate themselves with but he is a gud bowler and if he can do a job for pak, we got to back his a$$.

He’s tainted and doubted. I don’t think he should play now or ever for Pakistan. For his roz-gar he can stick to county cricket if feasible and entertain ‘old trafford’ crowd. no pun intended

Pakistan Zindabad - Kuch nahi hai es kay bad :jhanda:

^ looks like somebody is forgetting his own comments in past, something which showed lack of committment etc.

---------x st–j–u–d—n-----

Captain Saheb, Don’t open the can-of-worms again. I neither forget nor lacking any
Commitments. Just One advice for you - If you don’t understand some thing - simply move on. :elmo:

Etc.

I was not referring to YOUR comments or YOUR lack of committment... but comments of Shoaib which showed HIS lack of committment etc. Get it?

----------x–st—j–u–d—n------
I’m sorry my bad , phriends? :hug: :smiley:

Np ... baray shehron mai chhoti chhoti batayn hoti rehti hayn :)

All the Shaoib haters wil be unfortunately proven wrong over these next few tests. Looking at Sami and Razzaqs figures against the Indian practice sqaud scares me. I cant imagine what will happen what will happen against the real Indian batters.

Sami has never been good, and Razzaq has been pathetic the past 2-3 years. I see both of them getting hit all over the park by Sehwag and Co.

bhai mere, I really wouldn’t have missed him had they not selected Sami and Khalil, seriously. Now with this bowling line, 3-0 is just waiting for the beginning of test matches.