Hamid Mir and Geo -- a force behind destabilization of Pakistan?/CIA psy-ops (merged)

Re: Hamid Mir and Geo -- a force behind destabilization of Pakistan?/CIA psy-ops (mer

I'm a big proponent of freedom of speech & media must have maximum freedom, but that freedom comes with big responsibility, especially, when country is at war. That is why I think we can all agree on one point (or I hope we do) that whatever Pak media does they must not promote terrorists' agenda & the terrorists do not deserve airtime. Spokesperson from terrorists outfits should not be allowed to give their version of story when they blow up a building or slaughter a hostage to justifying their crimes, & that is exactly what the Geo & clowns like Hamid Mir are doing.

That is why I canceled my subscription to Geo & if they don't change they should be forced to change b/c they singed on document agreeing to rules and regulations regarding their operation in the country.

Re: Hamid Mir and Geo -- a force behind destabilization of Pakistan?/CIA psy-ops (mer

Shamraz, prove to me where Hamid Mir justified their crimes.

Reporting facts, as to what the army is actually doing (or not doing) does not mean hes justifying the terrorists. In simple words, he is there and he is just telling you whats going on over there. You can draw your own conclusions but please dont pass that along as his judgement. Even the anti-mollah american army isnt happy with Pakistani Army's lacklustre efforts.

@shamraz but thats the whole point. according to mir the casualties are not terrorists and those who believe they are think Mir is siding with terrorists.

Bhai Mushrraf is history & so are those who were around him. And, if you read my posts, I don't think you would find anyone more critical of armed forces & their involvement in politics than me. We can thank them for that, but that not an issue anymore. Issue is how we can keep this fragile democratic system going & make it work, defeat these terrorists & keep another general from taking over the country b/c can happen again. And, right now, the biggest threat that country is facing is this war against these barbarians. They must be defeated at all cost & they do not deserve airtime on public airways, and likes Geo & Hamid Mir are just doing that. No country in the world in a war time would allowe something like that, including the US. You don't see American journalists giving air time to Bin Laden & asking him why he blew up Twin Towers, or do you?

^^ Thats exactly the point. By spreading the army-killing-innocent-civilians word, they're only adding more fuel to the already beyond controlling point fire. They're creating terrorist sympathizers. And then who is innocent and who is taliban, how exactly did he determine that? How does ANYONE determine that? Do the taliban have horns on their heads?

Yaar you have to read between the lines. Watch those 2 clips on 1st page of this thread & let me know if you see anything wrong with that. Hamid Mir or likes him on tv are not going to announce openly that they support taliban b/c they will lose their jobs. Thats why they create this emotional drama & we know how our aawam react to drama. And, thats not all. These people actually give airtime to terrorists on their shows & that is something we should not allowed.

^ i am sorry if i am being repitative and this has already been in the thread. but i am interested since i havent kept in touch with news lately. can u give me a link where he is giving air time to terrorists?

If the armed forces arent doing the job properly, Hamid Mir and the media have every right to be critical of them . How can you (same applies to me)be sitting outside of Pakistan, and assuming they are doing everything perfectly? Hamid Mir is there, unlike you and I and reporting from the front line. Admit it, our army isnt a bunhc of farishtey and we have the 1971 kartoots to admit that.

So hes not, so what seems to be the problem then? I would do the same thing if I find out that the army is carrying out a rag tag operation where nothings been done really. Keep in mind the money that we spend on this army, and if they dont do their jobs properly, there will be many hamid mirs in future criticizing them.

One day or the other day...we all have to settle into dust...but the most important point is that who will settle into dust first and later...

I was trying to calculate...but obviously failed like always... :D

In a chaotic world...and in the era of sudden deaths...and living in uninteresting times...its still hard to calculate who will settle first into the precious dust...just another failure of mine...lol

Shamraz, I completely agree.

I think this is exactly the mentality of Hamid Mir type people as well. Whatever they think, they think other people think the same. They come in contact with people with similar thinking and it reinforces their own believes. They conveniently ignore the people who have different mentality.

Unfortunately, majority of people in Pakistan has given their vote for PPP. Anyone, who thinks someone else deserved it should suck it up for another 5 years. And, people did not give vote to PPP because they thought that after coming into power PPP will restore judges, stop war on the border, etc. They gave vote to PPP because they liked PPP, regardless of their past. Same is the case for the supporters of PML. They will happily ignore their wrong doings.

They did not give their votes to the PPP to because they 'like' them, they gave their votes because they had enough of that BS from that dictator, and wanted a change, i.e. an end to this 'fake war against our own people, in many places', and the restoration and imposition of an independent judiciary. Liking has nothing to do with it.

Hamid Mir's program is good. It does bring in good coverage on "war on terror" and domestic issues. He did visit Bajaur agency when thousands of those people living there had to migrate and asked about their situation and feelings and what the current condition of the people are.

However, I think Geo Headline News is getting out of hand. They report even the most minor of things as "BREAKING NEWS" its redicilous. For example, when zardari was visiting the Quaid's mazar, how is that breaking new?? One time a while back, they reported on Muhammad Asif coming back at Karachi airport because he was arrested in Dubai for allegedly takin in dope. Its so stupid.

I believe, liking has everything to do with it. In Pakistan, people vote because they have affiliation with parties or persons. Those people who do not have affiliations simply do not vote. I cannot believe at all that a person who does not have any liking for PPP will vote for PPP and similarly for PML, ANP, MQM, JUI, etc.

I strongly believe, restoration of jury is the least of the concern for most of the Pakistanis. PPP supporters will support PPP regardless of the decision about the judiciary they will make and they will justify their POV. We have many examples here. You are one of the example as well, with clear evidence of corruption, nepotism, meddling with judiciary, etc., by MNS and his cronies, you continue to strongly support PML(N).

We have supporters of PPP, PML(N), PML(Q), MQM, Islamic parties, etc., in this forum and all knowing that all of these aprties have done horrendous corruption and crimes in their times, their supporters continue to justify their rules.

I still disagree but to come to terms with what you are saying, this liking can be associated with the party's anti-dictatorial stance too, dont you think?

I strongly believe, restoration of jury is the least of the concern for most of the Pakistanis. PPP supporters will support PPP regardless of the decision about the judiciary they will make and they will justify their POV. We have many examples here. You are one of the example as well, with clear evidence of corruption, nepotism, meddling with judiciary, etc., by MNS and his cronies, you continue to strongly support PML(N).
Prove to me where I ever blindly supported the PML[N]. PML[N] like the PPP has committed loads of blunders in the past but I do appreciate their present stance to restore the judiciary (you wrote jury but I take it you meant judiciary), and the fact that they still stand up for them. Just because someone supports the restoration of judiciary and opposed musharraf, does not mean they are just blind supporters of the PML[N]. In the past, I have been very critical of NS's politics of power tripping, but lately they (not just him, but his entire party after being filtered out by the Q lotaz) have proved that they are infact the best of the lot right now, if Imran's party (my first choice) fails to go mainstream.

We have supporters of PPP, PML(N), PML(Q), MQM, Islamic parties, etc., in this forum and all knowing that all of these aprties have done horrendous corruption and crimes in their times, their supporters continue to justify their rules.

Same goes for supporters of a larger evil, i.e. dictatorships as seen in the last 8 years. I guess we have to choose the lesser evils then.

and how much did u get for posting this

i cant see hamid mir or geo doing any thing to unstable pakistan, lol

and proof do u have for all that crap, nothing
yeh

I don't much about CIA and GEO connection or other things mentioned in this thread. I did notice one thing from watching GEO for last 4 years that it seems to focus on the negative more than positive. Hardly ever Kamran Khan, Hamid Mir or other hosts talk about anything positive. It is always like Pakistan is about to fall apart where India is about to become a super power. I live in USA and for past 2 years GEO had me really worried about Pakistan. Then my mother went to Karachi and stayed there for 6 months. She came back and told me that GEO was spreading too much fear. Yes there were issues but not to the extend that you can't even go outside of your house without risking you life as GEO will have you believe. She traveled all over Karaci and Sindh without any issues. On India, GEO will never mention people eating rats in Bihar, thousands dying in Bombay’s problem in India. If India is such a super power than how come it produces fewer products than small N.Korea? How many name brand cars, plans electronics or household products you find in Europe or Americas made in India? I don't want to get away from the main topic but my point is Pakistan is not the worst in the whole world. Far from it. This is the country which inherited 2 factories, no military or any other industry in 1947. Now it is a nuclear power and better (not perfect) living standard than most countries in the area. Look at the pictures of Karachi, Lahore and other cities from 1940's and you will know what I mean. After that look at American history and look what they did in their first 60 years. they went through the same political stuff where they also assassinated their presidents among other things and corruption. Today they have the nerve to call Pakistan a failed state.
I just wish we stop negativity about ourselves and our country. Pakistanis are the most negative people about themselves than any other country. I have never seen a Mexican, Indian, Bangladeshi, Sri Lankan bad mouth their country and find fault in it publicly than Pakistanis. Just yesterday at a iftar party the same bull s*** was going on that Pakistan will be finish in 2 years. We had Indian Muslims at this party also who were really enjoying the conversation and brining up India's "qualities". I was totally embarrassed. We have talented people and a beautiful land. I think together we can neutralize these nay Sayers and Pakistan will live until the Last Day. Insha Allah!
In the end I still subscribe to GEO but trust its news as far as I can through Hamid Mir.

^well media is a watch dog
and its his job to pin point negative

I haven't read the whole thread but just jumping in based on this comment of yours my dear vulcan brother. There is an element of liking involved because there were more than two parties competing for elections. The majority of the vote bank went to PPP because the nation chose so and not out of being fed up of Musharraf. How do explain the votes picked up by PML-N and other parties. Everyone votes for the political party they find more affinity with. The vote bank would reflect people think more along the lines of what the PPP leaders project.