Halwa, Aloo, Channay, Puri

Some please post easy recipes for this desi breakfast please.

:hula:

Re: Halwa, Aloo, Channay, Puri

Easiest puri recipe: Deep fry a tortilla!

For me - the hardest part is the puri. I have tried the Dawn and the crispy bread ones and the are :hayaa: and 1/2 the work.

Chana - soak chanay in soda - throw all the maslay and use the pressure cooker. Dont’ forget the fresh grinded “sauf” for the kick.
Halwa** - sooji, sugar and water. top with slivered almonds.

Aloo - you can do allo zeera, or allo acchar or allo bhaji all without the pyaz and it takes less time.

midnighteyes, That's what I do. Now post other stuff :@:

njgal, can you please elaborate :emmy:

ahaaa something that I can make and share :smiley:

For starters, here is the pic :slight_smile:

and recipes:

halwa

I follow this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=slScjp64-fU

and for channay aloo, Shinoo’s Recipe!

1. Channay aalu:

2 cups boiled channay
2 big potatoes
1 big tomato
2 medium finely chopped onions

Heat around quarter cup of oil in a pan, add the onions and fry till golden. Add around 1 tbspoon ginger/garlic mixture and crushed green chilli’s.
Add all the dry masala’s: red chilli powder, haldi, dhaniya powder, salt, zeera powder and a pinch of garam masala and stir. Now add the tomatoes and thori dair bhoono with a splash of water. Now add the channay (and also half a chicken stock cube, if you have it). Dissolve a tbspoon of corn flour in few tbspoons of water and add it to the channay mixture. Boil the potatoes seperately, peel and cut in small cubes and add it at the end when the channay are cooked.
Sprinkle fresh dhaniya and chaat masala on top and you’re done!

and for pooris:

Deep fry the tortillas!

Enjoy :slight_smile:

Acha khana khanay ka bhee shouq hay mehnat bhee nahi karni. :@:
Toh restaurant say lay aa-o ya wahan ja k kha low.

so I post my only kitchen achievement ever and Niksik chooses to ignore it.

:heart broken:

GTGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG :hug:

Thanks honeybunchesofaoats. I’m going to try it over the weekend and post back here.

:sigh of relief: I feel better now :D

I think I am going to try as well.. or probably just request my mom for this brunch :$

lol! So you make the channey and aloo together....have you ever made the aloo ki sabzi/tarkari separately?

my mom makes aalo ki tarkari separately.

nopse too much work :D

For the aloo ki zabsi, usually sauté chopped spring onions with cumin, crushed coriander seeds, long pieces of ginger, tomatoes and green chillies. Throw in some some, mixed masala, haldi, and methi, and then the small cubed potatoes.
The puris, I make out of normal roti ka atta, just dip it ever so slightly into the oil before rolling out the puri.

CB, those sholay look so yum.

I loveeeeeee halwaa puri channy bkfast!

I like and use a pakistani puri recipe vs the indian puris (all wheat flour) .....

1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all purpose flour (plain maida ... so no baking powder in it)
pinch salt
1/2 - 3/4 tsp sugar
1 tsp oil
water

combine all ingredients and make a stiff dough. knead well. let stand covered with moist paper towel 20 mins. divide in to equal small rounds and roll into thin puris.
heat and test your oil (tiny bit of kneaded flour placed into oil should rise to surface immediately). fry puri one at a time ...

the 1:1 wheat flour to maida ratio works best for my personal palate. you can be changed to 1:2 etc... .... more maida = harder to roll in my experience and give you a puri that has more of a stretchy consistency ....

-

damn I love this stuff.

I dont like poori’s :bummer: its tooo oily:( and i dont know:bummer:
I love chanay and sooji ka halwa with paratha :smiley:

i’ve heard you can make poori without hving too much oil in it. This aunty was like if you add yeast or ghee (either one) while kneading, the poori’s wont soak up too much oil. Is tht true? :confused:

If you do quick fry in oil at high heat , poori will not be as oily as fried in a low heat oil. Tried and tested. Because it will be ready in no time and you will take it out of frying pan , karahi faster. Also the top layer will be sealed faster and will not soak lot of oil.