Halloween and other occasions

Re: Halloween and other occasions

​:smack:

I will only take the religious mambo jambo about Halloween from the Muslims living in west, only if they refuse to take a day off on Dec 25th and promise me that they will not take advantage of pre and post christmas sale.

rest of you, just shush. You guys have made your religion, the religion of convenience. Jahan convenience nahi hai, wo haraam. Jahan faeda hai, wo halal.

Personally, don't bother with it. Never really interested me, however, I give a loada sweets. I have a box ready. Lol.

1- Which muslim asks for day off on Christmas day because of it being a christmas day?

A lot of muslims and non-christians DO get appointed on christmas day to work since their 'bosses' or 'schedulers' decied for them to work on that day.

2- Who in the right mind would not take advantage of any sale? Those people may have big background and not necessarily Muslims.

Besides, taking advantage of ANY sale does not mean agreeing with the reason behind it. Does it?

3- I agree religion should not be used as a reason to get a **wrongful **benefit,

............but Muslims do not and have no reason to ask for sale before or after Christmas hence should not be accused
of **using religeon for their convenience **in your scenario.

They just go for the low price just like anyone **with any religion **would do.

4- If candies are on sale and on low price on this ocassion or any item is on sale before and after Christmas, then anyone including Muslims, Hindus, Jews, Athiests, Buddhas etc. can and should enjoy the financial benefit despite disagreeing with the whole background.

You do know a whole lot of people other than muslims also do disagree with these rituals and activities.

^^ I like your post. Makes a lot of sense too.

On the contrary, celebrating and participating in others ' festivals is a surefire way to spread peace and harmony. Isn't that what inter- faith celebrations and groups are all about? Aren't most problems caused by people being in their own cucoon rather than embracing the world around them?

I absolutely love the Hanukkah and Christmas season. There is truly magic in the air.

Thank you....and to Southie. :)

No to halloween!!!! I only celebrate holidays and occasions like eid ul fitr, eid ul adhaa, eid milaad un naabi, shab e mairaaj, shab e baraat,
I get my fill of sweets and fireworks i.e. halway and patakahy that way. :)

X2, you are a true Pir, remind me to bring you a sabz chaadar when I come for darshan :D

You are a true mureed. :lifey:

yeah come over at the next Urs at the mazaar, just make sure that when you enter the astaana e pir, you dont knock over any koonday sitting there, or any of the mureednis.

X2 sure thang, will i be served some chronic doodh bhang as well :fraudia:

Yes I’ll be there wearing the sparkly white polyester shalwar qameez jora. Please be careful :snooty:

Astaghfirullah! I am so ashamed of reading that with my Gunahgaar eyes. :smack:

“Koonday” nahin hehtay. :mad:

Poorion Ki Niaaz Kehtay Hain!.. MaShaAllah :blush:

With “Kheer in Matti Ki Shakorian” and all of these for whole Mohalla!

Matti Ki Shakorian = Small plates made of red clay

Yes, and I will keep the chillum ready for the special huqqa as well

haaan haaan

kabhi kabhi ziyadah haaal aa jata hai, mix up ho jati haen cheezain

Thought so!

Haal Mein **Be Haal **Hona Bhi Ek Sifat (quality) hai. :D

Its funny considering halloween isn't an American tradition.

How does one celebrate halloween/christmas/easter/eid/diwali reluctantly?

you just kinda scowl and not smile, so it looks like you are just going through the motions and not enjoying it
...wait...maybe desis are employing that technique at weddings, malls and picture shoots etc too..

Sane post from diwana, yay :phati:

kidding aside, good post diwana. :k:

Actually CB, I see more people focusing on Eid and our own holidays than anything else. I don't find families getting excited over xmas, halloween, etc the way they do over Eid and Ramadan. Its not that way around me at least. Majority of our acquaintances and friends do their best to make Eid such a special occasion so kids see their own heritage and faith. One girl I know gets her kid's entire group together, has a blowout party, rents a tent, hires entertainment for the kids and also does Eid gifts. Eid has always been a big deal for us as long as I can remember.

Yeah, Christmas is a fun time of year. But in all reality, why wouldn't it be? There's Christmas everywhere...it would be hard to ignore. An entire country celebrates it and lets not forget how good the eggnog is. Anyway, its like celebrating Eid in Pakistan.

Yes, people totally take advantage of the holidays they get off to do family stuff...again...why not? Its an opportunity to be close to your loved ones...you don't need a reason for that...which also means you could use every chance you get...including xmas.

As for Halloween was never celebrated much in our home...my mom lovvvvvvves kids so she has a barrel full of candy ready for them when they come by. The munchkins dress up but I think pretty soon that will die down as well. They didn't dress up this year at all.