Any good place will do!
And I also need translation for the following:
- Where is the bathroom?
- That’s it for today …
- No alcohol or pork.
Any good place will do!
And I also need translation for the following:
1) toyre wa dochira desuka?
2) As for number two, what do you mean? Different phrases are used for different situations according to who you are talking to. Generally speaking, at the end of work when someone else is leaving you say, "Utskare sama deshta".
3) osake nomanae desu (i dont drink alcohol)
butaniku tabenai desu (i dont eat pork)
When ordering food, you can say "buta niku nashi" which means "without pork"
niku - meat
gyu niku - beef
tori niku - chicken
sakana - fish
Tell them "gyu to tori wa daijobu desi" - beef and chicken are ok
Where will you be staying, I can tell you accordingly about where to eat. Tokyo is a huge city.
You need more tips than this if you are coming here on work or business. Otherwise its easy to offend Japanese people and to be misunderstood!!
Gambarimasu! (good luck)
Be very careful, they love to put pork into everything.
If you want to ask whether something has pork in it say, "buta niku haite arimasuka?"
Useful phrases...
"ano sumimasen..." (excuse me)
"tetsudate itadakemasenka..." (can you please help me)
"ginko wa dochira desuka..." (where is the bank)
"arigato gozaimasu"...(thankyou very much)
"ego wakarimaska"...(do you understand english)
"ego hanasemaska"...(do you speak english)
"nihongo zen zen hanasemasen"...(i dont speak japanese at all)
before eating say "itadakimasu"
after eating say "gochi sosama deshta" (thanks for the meal)
ohayo gozaimasu (good morning)
konnichiwa (hello)
ogenki desuka (are you well)
Great!!! Actually my brother is going to be in Tokyo for 2 weeks, starting coming sunday and he is taking it very lightly. Wait till he hear 'they love to put port in everything' hehehe
Beef and chicken are ok? ![]()
Fish is usually pretty halal no?
aaaaah...i love Japanese.
Cat..u fluent in Japanese?? How long did it take u to learn
ahmedjee, Japan is quite accessible, especially Tokyo, unlike China or some other Asian countries. Im sure he wont have any difficulties as long as he knows the basics!
Umer, before I came here I only ate halaal food, but I soon discovered that it was going to be very difficult living for me. I do eat as much fish as possible though.
Sharaabi, fluent...lol hardly, um been here for 9 months. And when I came here I only knew "konnichiwa".
naaa...u seem pretty fluent, as if u were born there.
Now that youve taught him these questions, can you also teach him what to expect as an answer? I mean, you can catch AJs brother a fish, and feed him for a day…but he’d need more than that. ![]()
Ahmadjee…heres a list of some halal restaurants in Tokyo, though I think your brother should try local japanese cuisine by weeding out non-halal stuff:)
Yeah Akif is right, Japanese food is really great and no matter where you go, youll get top quality food I kid you not. Foreign restaurants are usually wayyyy too expensive anyway. Why would you want to eat salan roti when youre in Japan for 2 weeks only?
Well, Akif replies vary and my understanding of Japanese is much better than my verbal skills. So I always catch the gist of what theyre saying. In restaurants though, they use kego, which is very formal and polite and thus much more difficult to understand.
Nonetheless, "hai" means yes, "iie" means no.
masugu - straight ahead
hidari - left
migi - right
aida - middle
Another useful question "sumimasen, chikaku ni kisaten/ restaurant arimasuka?" which means, excuse me is there a cafe/restaurant nearby?
In Japan they never assume that just because youre a foreigner you cant speak Japanese. Theyre quite arrogant like that.
Anymore questions, feel free to ask!
:k: Akif bhai! He loved it. He found most of the streets on the detailed map the company provided him and also has found the nearest subway stations. Now if he can do the yen conversion right, he can figure out if it’s worth going all the way out for those resturants or should he stick to sushi! hehe
Even I know about ‘hai’ and ‘iee’ ![]()
okay cool, can you believe, I havent been to those restaurants yet. I had the same listing as Akif provided. I have been to a Pakistani restaurant and a couple of Indian ones. There are also some good Turkish restaurants in Shinjuku.
Cat woman: I think u'd like these as well
Watashino unko kusai (My crap smells)
unko sh1taiy (I want to crap)
Unko sh1ta (I crapped)
fallenpieta, baka kodomo!
Catwoman, Baka na onna
nihongo wa jozu dayo! ![]()
ahmedjee, hows your brother doing? Tell him he has to have onigiri for breakfast, he can get it from any conbini (convenient store). Make sure its without pork though ![]()
Im eating onigiri as I type.
I sent him an email but he didn’t reply … must be really busy or confused ![]()
No worries i am sure your bro is fine, Japan easy country to get by in.
As for halal foods there many shops in tokyo and other main cities also. There no excuse to say theres no halal food available just need to look for it.
Only 2 bad things about japan already mentioned by others the japanese like alcohol too much and pork also :yukh::yukh: