I need some advice, I think this year is the right time for hubby and me to go for either Umrah or Hajj. I’m on leave and he’s really flexible with work. I really would like to take the kids with us, we’re thinking if we go for umrah it should be in ramadan.
But someone told me it’s really hectic then and if we want to go it should be without kids. Hubby thinks we should go for hajj instead and not take any kids with us. Kay is going to be 7 this year. I understand if taking Y is troublesome but I think we can take at least Kay? He’s learning the Quran and I think it will be a good experience for him. Anyone been to hajj/umrah with kids? Kids will be 7 years and 6/9 months respectively, what would you advice? Hajj/Umrah? Kids/no kids? :hinna:
do a search within gs… this topic has been discussed quite a bit and the replies were great… just so you get maximum views.
i would go for umrah first, take both kids. less hectic, you get an overview of the religious aspects to the ritual… that way, when you do hajj… you will know exactly what to do… hajj is like diving in to the deep end of the pool instead of shallow end.. when you dont know how to swim.
ofcourse its not rocket science.. but still..
if you have already done umrah before.. go for hajj.. and definately leave the baby.. Kay wouldnt be hard and can easily go… but i would suggest he stay bk too just so you can totally devote yourself to the pilgrimage…
you know your kid better… if you think he is easy in crowds.. take him too..
I did hajj last year and honestly saying haj wth kids is extremely difficult , hajj requires lot of hard work, I got blisters on my both feet its very very hard especially the 4 days when you have to spend night in mina camps n one night under the sky in Arafat and then throwing pebbles on shaitan all these stuff wth kids is nearly impossible, I would say got to umrah wth kids in off season.
Arzi, if only one trip is feasible and hajj has become fardh on you (in that you can afford it), then in my opinion do Hajj. Without either kid. Hajj is physically draining and the sheer rush of hajjis can be really difficult for kids. Take a short package so you just do hajj, visit the Prophet’s SAW mosque and get back home to your kids
Apparently it’s really packed out during Ramadan too so maybe consider doing umrah at a time when less rush is expected.
But again, in my opinion, hajj should be given priority.
Devilish angel: when is it off season? I feel like it seems hectic all the time.
pinks: That’s what husband says as well. My mother can babysit the kids. It’s not really any problem. It’s just I really wanted to experience it with them. After your post I’m leaning towards hajj without kids because after all that’s what is farz first and foremost.
Yeah we delayed having kids until we’d gone to hajj hehe. It’s awesome that you have no problem in leaving kids. Perhaps next year you guys can do umrah as a family iA in the non-peak months.
Arzi, if Allah has given you time, health and money, and you have not done your first hajj yet, then hajj has become obligatory on you. Don’t waste your effort on performing sunnat when fard is due. You never know when would be the next time, you would get a similar chance.
But as devilish said, don’t even think about going with kids, unless you have someone in Jeddah or Mecca with whom you can leave your kids for five days of Mina.
It’s also the farz part, which I’m thinking about a lot and it has started to worry me a lot. I don’t want to wait anymore, God knows when I’ll have the chance but I think we should make the effort this year.
There’s no problem in leaving the kids with my family. K is used to it anyway but I’m a little worried about the youngest - but it’s out of the question to bring him along. I know I can’t handle him. Not everything else.
I know it’s tough to leave kids behind. If you guys can afford it, then go for a shorter package. They are usually expensive, and have not many days for medina, but you can be back in twelve days, instead of common 22 days or so.
Yes go for hajj and also you don’t want to have fussy kids distracting you from what you went there to do. The most important thing for you is to be able to do dua for you, your kids and family.
You’re right Noor. It’s definitely not the right time to be distracted. I’ve just always wanted to go with my parents and siblings - but never had the chance to do so. Guess that’s why I really wanted to go as a family now.
Is there anyone who has performed hajj with children who can share their experience?
I’m planning to go this year and taking my baby with me… She’ll be a year and five months then! Don’t have anyone I can leave her with so no choice!!
arzi I left my 2.5 year old daughter mth my parents for 25 days allhumdullah everything remain good, you know ALLAH helps you n you just need to take step n he facilitates things for you, I did umrah in Ramadan and the conditions were almost same like hajj bc of rush. and for Ramadan already rush has been started. after hajj visa remains closed for 3 months after tht is not peek time so you want to go for umrah best is to go after hajj when visas get opened , mausam bhi acha ho ga.
I have seen kids going crazy on hajj crying, and mums are not able to pray peacefully the 5 days are tough, all transportation are closed and you need to walk so many km on kids, push chairs are not allowed , keep these things in your mind. and some ppl create problems for other hajji like throwing dirty pampers at the place of wazu.
I went for umrah this jan and Alhumdullilah did not face any problems with my daughter!
I live in Sadia so if InshaAllah I go it’ll be for 10 days or so and will not be going to Medina. I know it’s going to be difficult but the thing is I don’t know how long we are in saudia for coz of hubby’s job… So I really want to make the most of it. I would hate it if I have to move away without performing hajj!
Also visit visas are closed during hajj season so I can not ask someone to come over to look after my daughter. So the choice is between performing hajj with my daughter or not going altogether and this will be the case every year!! Plus if I wait for a couple of years and we have anther baby… Then what!!
InshaAllah if I just make niyat Allah will give us the strength and patience.
and some ppl create problems for other hajji like throwing dirty pampers at the place of wazu.
Lol I would never do that… Trust me!!
Ohh and there’s really no off- peak season for umrah anymore… But ramadan is the busiest.
I’ve heard it’s a little quite right after Eid for about 10 days.