So insha’Allah we’re all set to go for Hajj this year and I was just wondering if anyone has known women who’ve gone for Hajj while preggers?
A friend of a friend of mines’ went 5 mnths preggers and apparently was perfectly fine -
Im not pregnant but being off Birth control for the next few months has my chances high up in the sky and I dont want to be the reason behind me not being able to go -
I know everything happens for a reason but being able to smell the Kabah Ghulaaf in my dreams and then not being able to actually do it in reality just seems like a heart breaker -
I do know that if I am preggers none of my family members would let me go - which is why Im thinking I’ll just keep it a SECRET muahahaha i know im an ullu but I WANT TO DO HAJJ BEFORE THE KIDS
Any experiences?? and any thoughts on what I should do incase Im knocked up by that time :S
My best friend did it. She was all fine. She had no problems or complications whatsoever. She firmly believed that she was heading out to a good cause so Allah will protect her.
She was very early on like second month....later she gave birth to most adorable daughter at full term....
But it's also more of an individual situation as well... you can consult your OB....
Tons of women go to Hajj while pregnant but I don't recomend it in your 3rd trimester. It makes it a bit easier because you don't have to take any BC pills and no timing issues with the final tawaf.
But there are precautions that you have to take - account for heat, comfort, nausea, travel etc. Let your travel agency know so that they can provide you with better options.
If you have a normal smooth pregnancy, you should be able to do it but then of course with the number of people there, stampede incidents, heat, running around to get it all done in a very short time may exhaust you and you might not be able to do full justice to it. Choice is yours but doc's recommendation should be the ultimate!
She firmly believed that she was heading out to a good cause so Allah will protect her.
Its true that we should always have trust in Allah SWT, but at the same time, we have to take responsible measures to ensure our safety and health as well
Mysti -when I went for Hajj, there were two pregnant women in my group. One was 5 months pregnant, she was in great condition, had so much energy and strength and a positive attitude for everything. Alhamdulillah everything went well for her and she didnt have any problems and never complained about anything. The second woman was I believe 3 months pregnant. The poor girl was sick on her bed for most of the time, she got such a high fever, we were all sooo worried for her, honestly it was scary
I think it will depend alot on how far along you are. Many women have a difficult time in their first trimester, feel great in their second, and dont have much energy in their third. No matter how great your Hajj group is, you have to remember Hajj is a challenging experience and things will not always be in your control. The heat, the crowds, the physical demands, the diseases, the changes in food, water, accommodations etc. Realistically speaking, we have to also remember that a certain percentage of first pregnancies end in miscarriage in the first trimester, and given that portions of the Hajj are away from the hotels and main city [tents in Mina, Arafat, sleeping at Muzdalifah], although there are clinics and doctors there for the Hajjis, you need to keep this in mind for your safety and health
Im not saying dont go, Im just saying make a well thought out, calculated decision about it. Speak to your doctor and others whose opinion you trust and Inshallah you will be able to make the best decision. If you are not able to go this year, I pray that Allah SWT will make it possible for you when the time is right. And if you do go, may Allah SWT make it easy for you and keep you safe, Ameen!!!!
Mysti it will depend upon your situation. If you will be feeling fine with pregnancy then everything will be fine.My friend performed hajj when she was 3 mnths pregnant but ALHAMDULILLAH she did fine. Because her previous pregnancies were also fine.But you will know when you will get pregnant. Its a two ways situation depending how your body will react.
Its just a huge dilemma - anything can happen when your off BC and Im just trying to keep my options open - Ive heard alot of positive things from people who have gone in their second trimesters because I guess its a little easier - your baby is big enough to sustain the walks and your energy levels are fine compared to being in the first trimester and worrying about having a miscarriage -
Im definitely hoping i dont even have to worry but just incase I do atleast I can make an informed decision about it insha'Allah!!
Mysti, a little something from personal experience.... We were trying but had no clue that I was preggers, I was usually on and off my date so not too worried.... (which I have heard happens when u go off BC) well guess what I travelled preggers to pakistan and moved around and was on the rocky roads of pakistan.... and I had no symptoms like nausea or morning sickness.... the only ones I had were constipation and being tired and sleepy all the time which I overcame by sleeping whenever I could....
If we had known I would never ever have taken that trip and the trip was an amazing time coz I met hubby's extended family was welcomed and loved by them and even more so by his immediate family.... and it also brought us closer as a couple...
Landing back home guess what the nausea and morning sickness starts full force after almost 7-8 weeks of being pregnant.
My point is that Allah knows best what is best for you.... and He works that into your life.... and Jiss ko Allah rakhay .... NO ONE can harm that being no matter how much anyone tries..... make your neeya for Hajj and work towards it.... I have travelled so much and gone through so much during my first pregnancy that it shocks me... but through out it ... there was only one thing in my mind... if this being is going to be alive and well it is going to be coz Allah kept it .... and that is that....
All the best, and if you do get preggers that would be amazing too... u can thank Allah even more during Hajj for blessing you with child inshAllah ...
The decision is yours and your families. But I'll tell you of my personal experience.
We performed Hajj last year Alhumdulillah, close to our wedding anniversary. While planning for hajj, we thought about the potential of my falling pregnant (prior to hajj) and i was reluctant to do anything that might "delay Allah's blessing", as in i didn't want to delay concieving. But I knew that if I had concieved then I would have taken no risks at hajj (now that i am pregnant i'll tell u my first trimester was terrible and now that i'm in my second, i'm not allowed to travel much at all, no use of stairs, and only allowed car travel to visit the Doc!!! pray that i heal soon inshAllah)
My husband said something to me that clicked; "having kids is sunnah but performing hajj is farz" :) that was enough for the both of us to delay trying to have a kid and just concentrate on preparing for hajj. I figured I have the money, the health, the time and the lack-of-responisibilities to do hajj, i dont know if i'll have that in the future.
That was our decision, you have to make yours and like a lot of ppl said there are many success stories of pregnant hajjans, mashAllah.
Btw, we concieved 2 months post hajj, wahaN pe ja ke itni dua'eiN jo ki thi aur Allah ne sunn li, and all praise is to Him :)
yeah well i waited a whole 2 years for this - its exactly the same thing, I have the money, the resources and the health as well as no responsibilities for now -
Im not pregnant yet but im just trying to get a jist of what the options are -