Salaam,
I just wanted to know if there its okay to go to Haj before your parents have had a chance. I have an oppurtunity to go but my parents due to some uncontrollable reasons cant go… would that be okay?
Salaams
Hajj is something that is fard on every muslim who can afford to go. If you have a chance to go and perform it, then say Bismillah and do it.
If your parents are sick and you have to take care of them then its a different issue, so ask an aalim for guidance in this matter.
Allah knows best
WaSalaam
Salaam
This seems like a cultural practice, where people send their parents on hajj (usually in old age), without doing it themselves.
Are your parents depending upon you to finance or take them for Hajj?
If not, then I fail to see the problem. You should plan for Hajj whenever you have the earliest opportunity.
would it be different if they were financiall dependant?
May be. If you have only enough money for two people to perform hajj, would you do it yourself, or give it to your parents. On one hand we are told that whatever we have belongs to our parents, and on the other, each person has to go through their own trial on the Day of Judgement. I would think parents have more rights, cz they are older, and while only Allah knows when our time is going to be over in this world, younger people have more time to perform hajj. Also, it comes under the rulings for obedience towards your parents.
But if the parents have the financial wherewithal to pay for their own hajj, then they will make their own plans and the kids should make their plans. Unless for companionship you want to do it together, then its more a matter of convenience rather than any religious question, IMO.
i think Faisal bhai has hit the nail on the head Muniya
i agree with what he's said
This reasoning breaks down when you apply it to something like zakat (another pillar of Islam obligated before Hajj)… if your parents don’t have enough money on which zakat is due they don’t then include all your (their son’s) money in their total as well and pay zakat on the entire amount… if they don’t have to fulfill their zakat obligation because by themselves they don’t have enough for zakat to be due then likewise if they by themselves don’t have enough for Hajj then there’s no reason to include their children’s money in the equation… if they as individuals don’t have sufficient funds for Hajj (one of Hajj’s necessary conditions) then they are free from the obligation… if you gift money to them then that is obviously highly commendable and highly recommended but “you should do Hajj yourself first, then help your parents.”… and true knowledge is with Allah.
http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=36637&dgn=4
This is more of a problem in Pakistan, where people have to use their life savings to go on Hajj. This is what my Mamoo did for my Grandparents a few years ago, when he got his pension from the army. My Grandparents are older now and have had some health problems, I dont think theyd be able to do Hajj now. Although I dont this is islamically correct, I understand why he did it, and inshallah he will get his channe to do hajj.
For people in the west I think if they really want to go, they can without having to make too much sacrifices.
I have the opposite problem really, my mum wants to go but needs a mahrem, so I may have to go.
*Originally posted by M: *
This is what my Mamoo did for my Grandparents a few years ago, when he got his pension from the army. My Grandparents are older now and have had some health problems, I dont think theyd be able to do Hajj now. Although I dont this is islamically correct, I understand why he did it, and inshallah he will get his channe to do hajj.
Just curious. Is doing Hajj on someone else's behalf gives the person (who is actually doing the hajj) any sawaab? I am sure it does. Plenty of that, to be sure. However, does it extinguish their own duty to perform hajj? For example, if a person's parents are old and can't perform hajj... can the son perform hajj on their behalf? If yes, then what if the son dies after that and can't perform his own hajj? I think you are right, that the whole practice of "performing hajj on behalf of someone else" is kinda dicey concept. Not sure how valid is it or how it got started or whether it has any basis in Islam.
I think you misunderstood, I meant that he gave his money so his parents could perform hajj for themselves. He hasnt been yet, so he still has to do hajj for himself.
Youve gone on to another topic.
I dont think you can do hajj on someone elses behalf unless you have done yours already. If you have the financial means it becomes obligatory on the person themselves, after all it is one of the five main pillars.
After they have done theirs they can do it for whomever and inshallah both will be rewarded. Also not sure if you can do it for someone still alive, Allah may still give them means to do hajj themselves. Best always to check with a scholar before you go on behalf of someone else.
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Just curious. Is doing Hajj on someone else's behalf gives the person (who is actually doing the hajj) any sawaab? I am sure it does. Plenty of that, to be sure. However, does it extinguish their own duty to perform hajj? For example, if a person's parents are old and can't perform hajj... can the son perform hajj on their behalf? If yes, then what if the son dies after that and can't perform his own hajj? I think you are right, that the whole practice of "performing hajj on behalf of someone else" is kinda dicey concept. Not sure how valid is it or how it got started or whether it has any basis in Islam.
Within the space of a half dozen lines you've jumped from being "sure" that a person who does Hajj on someone else's behalf gets "plenty of" sawaab to... backtracking and thinking it is a "dicey concept" that might not even have "any basis in Islam"??
Which is it?
Bhai sawaab tau milay ga jo bhi naik kaam karo gay. The second question was whether he has performed his obligation under Islam (hajj is a farz).
Itni si baat samajh nahi aati? Ab shuro ho jao ke "back track - back track".
Bhai sawaab tau milay ga jo bhi naik kaam karo gay.
Interesting... you call it a "naik kaam" but also say it may not have any basis in Islam... ALL good works have a basis in Islam...
The second question was whether he has performed his obligation under Islam (hajj is a farz).
You obviously can't read what you've written...
"I think you are right, that the whole practice of "performing hajj on behalf of someone else" is kinda dicey concept. Not sure how valid is it or how it got started or whether it has any basis in Islam."
So your comments about it being "dicey" and not having "any basis in Islam" related to the question of "performing hajj on behalf of someone else" and NOT (as you now pretend) on the question of "whether he has performed his obligation under Islam". See? Good!
As to whether he has fulfilled his obligation... all you are doing in effect is repeating the question that started this thread...
May be you should stick to posting your idiotic commentary elsewhere. I have noticed you keep distracting from the discussion by your senseless comments. There is a difference between making definitive statements and questions. If you can't get it in your thick head, may be you should get your head examined.
faisal bhai :(
you guys cut it out..
thanks for all the replies... that really helped :)
now lets not ruin it.
If you can't get it in your thick head, may be you should get your head examined.
Ouch! Do you always get this touchy when your confused arguments/posts are picked apart?... Maybe you should attend "moderating school" or something because you obviously don't know how to stay calm and reasoned...
Well, Muniya, hopefully you got your answer already before some idiotic comments were posted here. Some people have nother better to do than posting senseless critique to come across as pompous Mr Know-It-Alls :)
^^
Next time, stay calm Mr. Moderator...
Don't worry about me. Next time, you stay out or only add constructive comments. :)