Hair speaks after the quit offer

Umpire Hair breaks silence over quit offer

Darrell Hair said his decision to ask for $500 000 to quit his role as an umpire following the Pakistan ball-tampering furore was not a panic reaction to events at the Oval last week.

Hair has been heavily criticised since the International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed details of an email he sent to officials requesting a one-off payment in return for quitting their elite panel of umpires after the row. “It wasn’t a spur of the moment thing. I didn’t do it off the cuff,” Hair told Australia’s Sunday Mail.

Hair and fellow umpire Billy Doctrove imposed a five-run penalty on Pakistan for ball tampering on the final day of the fourth test against England in London last week.

Pakistan subsequently forfeited the game when they refused to take the field after tea in protest at the decision. It was the first forfeiture in test cricket’s 129-year history.

Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq will face charges of ball tampering and bringing the game into disrepute at an ICC disciplinary meeting on September 15.

NOT MALICIOUS

But Hair, who has been vilified in Pakistan’s media over his decision and a perceived bias against Asian teams, said he meant no harm with the shock offer to stand down revealed on Friday.

“This correspondence was composed at a very difficult time and was revoked by myself after a period of serious consideration,” he said in a statement.

“There was no malicious intent behind this communication with the ICC. I am anxious the code of conduct hearing takes place as soon as possible so these matters can be resolved and allow me to move on with my umpiring.”

Hair insisted his request had fallen on some sympathetic ears before he retracted it following an intervention from ICC Chief Executive Malcolm Speed.

“I had dialogue with them. (ICC Umpires and Referees manager) Doug Cowie even said in his email reply to my offer that the proposal had merit.” Asked whether he would ever umpire again, Hair told the Mail: “Let’s address one thing at a time.”

SOURCE: http://www.supercricket.co.za/default.asp?id=188935&des=article&scat=supercricket/international

Re: Hair speaks after the quit offer

Well, at last, Hair has destroyed ICCs assertion that this was a rash decision taken under stress and therefore can be forgiven !:

"It wasn't a spur of the moment thing. I didn't do it off the cuff," Hair told Australia's Sunday Mail.

"I had dialogue with them. (ICC Umpires and Referees manager) Doug Cowie even said in his email reply to my offer that the proposal had merit."

So to those who think ICC have hung Hair to dry - above would indicate that Hair Bhai Sahib has ICC by its tail !

Hair claims ICC asked him to name his price

Darrell Hair says the International Cricket Council (ICC) encouraged him to make an offer to quit as an umpire following the Pakistan ball-tampering furore at the Oval.
Hair was speaking after the ICC released an email he sent to officials requesting a $US500,000 one-off payment in return for quitting their elite panel of umpires.
In a statement released by his lawyers Hair said he had been asked to put the offer forward.
"I was encouraged to make the offer that was disclosed by ICC on 25 August 2006," he said.
"During an extended conversation on 21 August 2006 with Mr (Doug) Cowie, the Umpires' Manager for ICC, I was invited to make a written offer.
"The opening words of my first email to Mr Cowie confirm this: 'Just (to) firm up what we discussed earlier this evening.' I note that Mr Cowie replied on the same date: 'Your offer may have merit and is acknowledged and under discussions with ICC management'.
The controversy flared after Hair and fellow umpire Billy Doctrove imposed a five-run penalty on Pakistan for ball tampering on the final day of the fourth Test against England in London last week.
Pakistan subsequently forfeited the game when they refused to take the field after tea in protest at the decision.
It was the first forfeiture in Test cricket's 129-year history.
Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq will face charges of ball tampering and bringing the game into disrepute at an ICC disciplinary meeting on September 15.

source => abc.net.au

Re: Hair claims ICC asked him to name his price

^^ It would be better if you post the direct link to the source so people dont have to go to the main site of Australian ABC and look for the article. In anycase since I was “vella” I went to the site and finally navigated to the story. The link to the above posted article is
Hair claims ICC encouraged quit offer - ABC Australia

This is from cricinfo

Hair hits back at the ICC
Cricinfo staff
August 27, 2006

Darrell Hair, the Australian umpire at the centre of the ongoing ball-tampering controversy,** has claimed that his offer to resign if offered US$500,000 was made at the behest of the ICC.** In a statement issued through his lawyers last night, Hair stated that *he was invited to put his offer in writing by Doug Cowie, the ICC's umpires manager. *
Hair said that his offer "was not a spur of the moment thing" and that he had a dialogue with the ICC. This immediately shifted the focus to Cowie, who first responded to the infamous Hair email last Tuesday by suggesting that his resignation offer "may have merit".
But Hair has now claimed that Speed made only a partial disclosure of exchanges three days later. Hair's lawyer also said that his latest statement was designed to "address certain misconceptions that appear to have arisen as a consequence of the release of certain confidential correspondence between Mr Hair and ICC".
"I was encouraged to make the offer that was disclosed by ICC on August 25. During an extended conversation on August 21 with Mr Cowie I was invited to make a written offer. The figure in the e-mail correspondence was in line with those canvassed with the ICC. *I would have thought that it was quite apparent from the text of correspondence that I had been in discussions with ICC about the issue. The opening words of my e-mail to Mr Cowie confirm this: 'Just (to) firm up what we discussed earlier this evening ... *'"
The ICC quickly rebutted the claim. A spokesman said: "There were many informal discussions between Mr Hair and Mr Cowie between the end of the Oval Test and Mr Hair's first e-mail on Tuesday, including a discussion on the potential impact on his career. Mr Cowie's role was to support and counsel Mr Hair, as his manager, at a difficult time. It is our understanding that at no stage during their conversations was there discussion of a pay-off, nor secrecy, nor deadlines, nor misleading the public over reasons for retirement -- all of which was subsequently laid out in Mr Hair's email."
Speed said he wanted Hair to continue as an international umpire but wasn't sure whether it would be possible after all this. He went on to back Cowie as well. "If he could play it again, Doug would play it differently," Speed said. "When the email came to me, I saw that not for one second could we contemplate it."
© Cricinfo

There were clearly, a lot of conversations held between ICC and Hair - a lot was said but the threat of Pak legal team scared the ICC into disclosing this.

Imagine, if we hadnt protested and threatened with legal options, they would have simply swept this under cover....

^ True, instead of Hair being forced to quit, it would have been Pakistan trying to defend itself from allegations of cheating from English, Australian and Indian X-players.

Hair apologises for email

Darrell Hair, the Australian umpire at the centre of the ball-tampering controversy, has maintained a defence of his conditional offer of resignation and issued a statement apologising to his friends and supporters.

“I wish to apologise to all my family, friends and supporters, because I somehow feel that I may have let them down, simply by sending an ill-advised but entirely confidential email,” Hair said in a statement after his demand for US$500,000 compensation was made public. “That has given other people the opportunity to question my motives.”

Hair had earlier rebutted ICC’s version of the email story, claiming he’d been involved in negotiations for his resignation prior to him sending the e-mail with a list of his conditions, including the compensation demand.

“I firstly want to thank my friends and family for their support,” the statement continued. “In addition, I want to thank so many supporters from around the world, for their support in huge numbers. I am both stunned and gratified by those messages from people I’ve never even met.”

He also requested for himself, his partner and their neighbours to be given some privacy. “I request that you now respect our privacy and allow us and our neighbours to go about their daily routines free of disruption.”

Meanwhile, Hair has been withdrawn from a county second XI fixture he was due to umpire on Wednesday. He was to stand at Chesterfield in the match between Derbyshire and Gloucestershire, but has been stood down by the ECB.

Hair has been on the ECB’s reserve umpire’s list since moving to live in England, from Australia, three years ago. He had been hoping to start umpiring at first-class county level next season.

In the immediate aftermath of The Oval Test, Chris Kelly, the ECB’s umpires manager, had said Hair’s position in the second XI match would be reviewed if needed. On Tuesday, Kelly told AFP: “It’s an inappropriate time for him to do the match with what’s going on. There are lots and lots of issues.”

SOURCE: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/ci/content/current/story/258072.html

*He has no credibility.What a flip-flopper this man is:hoonh: *

Secondly how come this man is umpiring during England test matches when he resides in England and is also a county cricket umpire?

A smelly hairy apology

Hair apologises for email

Cricinfo staff August 29, 2006

Darrell Hair, the Australian umpire at the centre of the ball-tampering controversy, has maintained a defence of his conditional offer of resignation and issued a statement apologising to his friends and supporters.

"I wish to apologise to all my family, friends and supporters, because I somehow feel that I may have let them down, simply by sending an ill-advised but entirely confidential email," Hair said in a statement after his demand for US$500,000 compensation was made public. "That has given other people the opportunity to question my motives."

Hair had earlier rebutted ICC's version of the email story, claiming he'd been involved in negotiations for his resignation prior to him sending the e-mail with a list of his conditions, including the compensation demand.

"I firstly want to thank my friends and family for their support," the statement continued. "In addition, I want to thank so many supporters from around the world, for their support in huge numbers. I am both stunned and gratified by those messages from people I've never even met."

He also requested for himself, his partner and their neighbours to be given some privacy. "I request that you now respect our privacy and allow us and our neighbours to go about their daily routines free of disruption."
Meanwhile, Hair has been withdrawn from a county second XI fixture he was due to umpire on Wednesday. He was to stand at Chesterfield in the match between Derbyshire and Gloucestershire, but has been stood down by the ECB.

Hair has been on the ECB's reserve umpire's list since moving to live in England, from Australia, three years ago. He had been hoping to start umpiring at first-class county level next season.

In the immediate aftermath of The Oval Test, Chris Kelly, the ECB's umpires manager, had said Hair's position in the second XI match would be reviewed if needed. On Tuesday, Kelly told AFP: "It's an inappropriate time for him to do the match with what's going on. There are lots and lots of issues."

Wait a second, he cant just say sorry and get away with it and continue umpiring, can he???

First he accused Pakistan of cheating, then he goes on to pass the blame to ICC for his controversial email.... now he starts to back-track... shmuck! He should be fired already!!

Pakistanis have tempred the ball and they have to pay price :)

^ nobody is talking about ur balls :o

ball koi bhee ho, i know its been tempered :slight_smile:

bus main nai keh deya na and my words are FINAL (unless someone offer me 500,000$ ) :mocking:

Urdu bolna kahan say seekhi?

daikhoo khan bhai, problem yee tha k dunya ka ziyadatur bookies INDIA aur PAKISTAN main hotey hain and i have to deal with them a lot. Eik baar eik bookie choona laga gaya tha tu main nai faisla ker leya k aab main bhee urdu sekhoon ga takey koi bookie ya shoaib akhter mujhey choona na laga sakey :)

aaaww... fkhan2 you deleted my post ? :(

see I am better than the ICC, I delete stuff instead of showing it to the whole world:p . You should be thankful to me.
Now post some relevant stuff here. Don't waste our time.

koche koche naraz ho gaya fkhan2 :)

How are you better than ICC? did you gave me well deserved 500,000$? not yet.

Pakistan seek probe into Hair’s conduct: ICC confirms inquiry request

KARACHI, Aug 29: Pakistan have asked the International Cricket Council (ICC) to hold an inquiry into umpire Darrell Hair's conduct in the Oval Test before captain Inzamam-ul-Haq's disciplinary hearing.

After the cancellation of the ICC executive board meeting in Dubai on Sept 2, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has written a letter demanding an urgent investigation into Australian Hair's conduct during the fiasco.

“The PCB feels it was Darrell Hair who brought the game into disrepute at the Oval and not Pakistan,” spokesman Ateeq-ur-Rehman said on Tuesday.

He said that the PCB had also reiterated that Hair would not be accepted as an official in future matches involving Pakistan.

ICC President Percy Sonn announced on Monday the cancellation of an emergency meeting which was to discuss the Oval test controversy.

Sonn said he had consulted each director of the ICC member countries and they decided the meeting was unnecessary because they were all well aware of the circumstances that led to Pakistan forfeiting the fourth and final Test.

Hair sparked a major incident when he penalised the Pakistan team five runs for alleged ball-tampering.

Inzamam was charged on two counts by the ICC after the visitors failed to return to the field after tea in protest against Hair and fellow umpire Billy Doctrove.

The controversy took a twist when ICC chief executive Malcolm Speed later announced that Hair had asked for $500,000 as a one-off payment to quit the ruling body's elite panel of umpires during discussions with umpires' manager Doug Cowie.

The hearing against Inzamam is now scheduled for late September but the PCB said it was confident he would be cleared of all charges.

“PCB is confident that not only Inzamam but the team will be exonerated of the charges made against them,” Ateeq said.

Sonn had indicated that despite Hair's offer to quit the disciplinary charges against Inzamam would not be dropped or reversed. “We have processes in place to deal with the code of conduct matters and we should not seek to interfere with it,” he said.

The ICC confirmed later on Tuesday they had received a request from the PCB to hold an inquiry.

An ICC spokesman said that PCB Chairman Shaharyar Khan had written to the global governing body asking that Hair's conduct be ‘thoroughly investigated’ and that such an inquiry should take place before disciplinary charges against Inzamam were heard.—Agencies

SO IS HE GONNA STANDS AS HE WAS SUPPOSED TO IN OUR MATCHES AGAINST ENGLAND?