Hair growth for baby girl

My baby is 7 months and she has very fine hair on her head and EVERYONE is annoying me saying you should shave her hair so they grow back thicker!

Initially I didnt want to as I thought they would start coming through but they are still fine and when we are out people think she is a boy when she isnt wearing girly colours.

Is it normal for baby girls to have not much hair? Should I give in to peoples “advice”

Re: Hair growth for baby girl

I think it does help with the promoting thicker hair growth if the baby's hair is shaved off a few times. I did this with my younger son as he had fine hair and also with dd but not as long with dd same reason as yourself girls look kind of funny with no hair. As your dd is still only 7 months old and i assume not crawling and walking it is probabley still a good chance to have the hair removed as once she is mobile girls don't look nice..... But thats just my opinion.

I would just use a razor and remove the hair my self at her bath times every couple pf weels till the growth looked thicker. You can of course have the barber do it for you if you are worried.

^ Yeah thats exactly why I didnt shave her hair off because I didnt like how she looked when we did it once after she was born...

Might wait it out till the end of the month as we have a wedding and Eid is coming up, as its cold now ill just put a hat on when shes out and about

you can either worry about how she looks now as a child when you can easily put a cap on her head or you can plan for the future and ensure that she has a full head of thick, luscious hair by shaving it a few times.

I shaved my daughter's head every three or four months until she was 2 years old......didn't care how she looked.....and Allah ka shukar hai that I did.....she has lovely hair now, mA.

Some of my nieces had fine thin hair but as they grew their hair became thicker and better. The same niece's sibling had a head of thick bobbing curls. So each child is different.Hair has it's natural quality :let it grow out to it's texture. Shaving once or twice is okay but over n over again isn't gud.
PPL will keep telling u over the years the things u should and shouldn't do about ur children, take it with a pinch of salt. ur the parent and if u don't feel comfortable doing something it's fine.

my daughter who was born prematurely had hairs only in the center of her head and dr said it's due to her nutritional deficiency and now masha allah at almost 3 years of age she has got lovely hairs. what I am trying to say that having a good nutritional diet is very important for healthy hairs plus do all the other stuff like regular oiling etc. She will have beautiful hairs Insha Allah just give it some time.

Hair growth for baby girl

^ I apply oil to her hair daily. I also give her solids twice a day with fruit and veg in her diet. I try and mix it up a bit as well so she gets all the nutrition she needs. :)

can you please elaborate on how shaving more than twice can harm? I've never heard that and I'd like to know the other side.....

this is truly the best advice in these sorts of things......do what you feel comfortable with.....rather than following what everyone or anyone tells you.

Medically there is no indication that shaving heads shall promote hair growth. Lots of babies are born bald or with fine hair which grows thicker with time. My friend's daughter had very fine hair and every one told her to shave it. She is a doctor and knew better and with time she was proven right. The little girl is 6 and with normal hair. Lots of it depends on genetics too.

Hair dont stay the same as we were born with. One of my sister had thick curls when she was younger, now her hair is pretty straight and fine. The other one had fine straight hair and now has thick curls.

On that note, when we were expecting our first child one of my colleagues who already had 2 kids at that time said the following to me:

"I will only give you one advice and that is: Don't listen to anyone's advice. Do what you think is right." :)

There is no convincing medical evidence that shaving leads to increased hair growth. When you shave, you are just chopping off some of the hair length which gives appearance of the hair shaft to be thicker. All kids who have fine hair gradually grow up to have the usual hair growth and to its normal appearance. It depends on the nutritional status as well as genetics. Meanwhile there is no harm in shaving hair either. Except for minor cuts or risk of infection. The rest it's all up to you. These days you get really pretty headbands for baby girls and they look adorable.