Hair color myth?

I have always wanted to color my hair but my mom/khala/aunts all tell me that it makes your hair go white prematurely…while my cousins who are currently coloring their hair say their hair has never been better…

does anyone know how much truth there is to this? or do you personally know of someone who has been coloring thier hair for quite some time and their hair went white…

I know that color does damage the cuticle, making hair drier and weaker but I care more about my hair going white…also does the same apply to highlights?

Re: Hair color myth?

NO it doesnt.. my mother did the same.. maybe if ure usin some freaky deaky haircolor but other than that.. its just A MYTH.. a pretty good one too.. it kept me away for 21 years..
From what i know color is liek a conditioner.. its not damaging unless ure usin color that may bleach ur hair n even then i dont think it will give u grey hair. I keep gettin my hair hilighted over n over again n umm no grey hair soo far.. (Mashallah n ill throw in an Inshallah just to eb on the safe side)

I knwo it sounds weird, but i have seen this aunty n shes probably in her early 30s and her hair turned grey after dying her hair. She used to have like pitch black hair!

As long as you don't use a harsh dye like peroxide you'll be fine.

If you hair goes grey you can sue the company that made the dye

Colouring does not damage permanently.

I remember Marina Khan dyed her hair SILVER once. :love:

I liked it. Hence the conclusion, whatever the colour of your hair, those people who love you will still love you.

devilicious, do u color or highlight?

im extra cautious about my hair because i need to put oil in it regularly and stay away from straightening irons so i dont lose my natural shine and luster, thats why im so concerned about hair turning grey....

at the same time i see women all over the world coloring hair and if it did turn your hair grey there would be lotsa suing going on esp in the USA...

It doesn't shweetdreamz. I was going grey before I started colouring my hair in my late teens. Not a lot, but a few grey hairs here and there. Just something individual to me I guess. Meanwhile, my sister who has been professionally colouring her hair for years now does not have a single grey hair. I get mine professionally coloured too, but I have more grey than her. It is just me though cause I know plenty of other girls who colour their hair and don't have any greys at all.

thanks mehnaz and all others who helped me realize my moms tactics.......lol