Hadiths About Taraawih In Ramadan

HADITHS ABOUT TARAAWIH IN RAMADAN

Hadith fom Sahi Bukhari:
Narrated Zaid bin Thabit: Allah’s Apostle made a small room (with a palm leaf mat). Allah’s Apostle came out (of his house) and prayed in it. Some men came and joined him in his prayer. Then again the next night they came for the prayer, but Allah’s Apostle delayed and did not come out to them. So they raised their voices and knocked the door with small stones (to draw his attention). He came out to them in a state of anger, saying, “You are still insisting (on your deed, i.e. tarawih prayer in the mosque) that I thought that this prayer (tarawih) might become obligatory on you. So you people, offer this prayer at your homes, for the best prayer of a person is the one which he offers at home, except the compulsory (congregational) prayer.” (Book #73, Hadith #134)

Hadith fom Sahi Bukhari:
Narrated Zaid bin Thabit: The Prophet took a room made of date palm leaves mats in the mosque. Allah’s Apostle prayed in it for a few nights till the people gathered (to pray the night prayer (tarawih) (behind him.) Then on the 4th night the people did not hear his voice and they thought he had slept, so some of them started humming in order that he might come out. The Prophet then said, “You continued doing what I saw you doing till I was afraid that this (tarawih prayer) might be enjoined on you, and if it were enjoined on you, you would not continue performing it. Therefore, O people! Perform your prayers at your homes, for the best prayer of a person is what is performed at his home except the compulsory congregational) prayer.” (See Hadith No. 229,Vol. 3) (See Hadith No. 134, Vol. 8) (Book #92, Hadith #393)

Dear Readers,

Today a majority of Muslims perform 20 Rakahs Tarawih in mosques which offcourse is a good deed. The above hadiths do not necessarily mean that one should not perform tarawih regularly but one should not consider it necessary to perform in mosques only. Tarawih is not farz, but it is a ‘Wajib’ prayer i.e. Sunnat-e-Mokida i.e. Prophet Mohammad (SAW) always performed tarawih prayers in the whole month of ramadan but the number of rakahs and place to be performed was not fixed due to the convenience of Ummah. Jazakallah ! The conclusion is that ‘Tarawih’ can be performed in homes all well as in mosques and 20 rakahs are not obligatory but if done then it is offcourse rewardful for Almighty Allah as he will not discard our deeds but will reward us more than our expectation. Hope for the best from our Lord who is the Creator of the universe, He loves us 100 times more than our mothers.

May Allah guide us in the best way !

Jazakallah Sis! thanks for sharing :)

Please allow me to ask you some questions.

let me start by quoting the hadith you posted above:

He came out to them in a state of anger, saying, "You are still insisting (on your deed, i.e. tarawih prayer in the mosque) that I thought that this prayer (tarawih) might become obligatory on you. So you people, offer this prayer at your homes, for the best prayer of a person is the one which he offers at home, except the compulsory (congregational) prayer."

you wrote further:

Today a majority of Muslims perform 20 Rakahs Tarawih in mosques which offcourse is a good deed.

The conclusion is that 'Tarawih' can be performed in homes all well as in mosques

from the hadith above we learn that Rasulallah (in the state of anger) clearly forbade people to perform Taraawih in mosque and told them to offer these prayers at home.

In quran we reed:

Surah Hashr verse 7 "And whatsoever the messenger giveth you, take it. And whatsoever he forbiddeth, abstain (from it). And keep your duty to Allah. Lo! Allah is stern in reprisal."

so my questions are:

1) Why majority of Muslims perform 20 Rakahs of Taraawih in mosque if Rasulallah (saww) clearly forbade it to be perfomed in mosque.?

2) How it is be taken as a good deed if we dont follow the order of Rasuallalh (saww)?

In quran Allah (swt) syas:

Surah al Maidah verse 92 "Obey Allah and Obey his Prophet and worry, and be warned that the Prophet's duty is only to deliver the message clearly"

Surah Nisa verse 80 "He who obeys the Messenger, obeys Allah: But if any turn away, We have not sent thee to watch over their (evil deeds)."

3) Who are you, I and anyone else to decide that taraawih can also be perform at home as well as at mosque (the conclusion you wrote above) If Prophet of Allah told us to do it at home?

Allah (swt) clearly says in quran not to give any opinion on the matters decided by Allah and his Rasul (saww)

Surah AL-AHZAB, verse 36: "It is not fitting for a Believer, man or woman, when a matter has been decided by Allah and His Messenger to have any option about their decision: if any one disobeys Allah and His Messenger, he is indeed on a clearly wrong Path"

wasalam.

K, yeah can you clarify?

I go to offer taraveeeh everyday at a local mosque. The imam does not pray 20 rakaats, rather 8 or 10, finishing 1.25 para each night.

The reason I go for taraveeh is taht I get to listen thru the whole quran (inshallah).

At home, I'll continuously just repeat the last ten surahs or so each nite if i tried to pray the 20 rakats so I find it better to attend the prayers at the mosque.

Help me understand whehter it's better to stay at home and pray or go to the mosque.

Thanks.

the mosque. (let me see if I -or somebody else can dig up some hadiths about it)

No need for digging. It is the same old topic, discussed in every ramazan :slight_smile:

Like many differences among shia sunni, this one is not an exception.

To make long story short..

For shia

Traweeh is nafal prayer, should not be prayed with Congregation. As Hazrat Muhammad :saw: clearly forbade it in the hadees mentioned in first post. Traweeh with congression is a biddah started by HAzrat Umar(ra).

For Sunni

Prophet (pbuh) prayed traweeh in Congregation with fellow muslims for some days, but discontinued the practice. So that it may not be made obligatory by Allah and thus be hardship for muslims. It was in Hazrat Umar’ khilafat that he started this practice of praying traweeh in Congregation.

So follow whichever explaination you like :slight_smile:

Assalam Aleekum
Hazrat Umar Farooq(RA) revived a Sunnah.
And It was just b/c of Hazrat Umar(RA) that Muslims were able to
pray Salaat in the open with the blessings of Allah(SWT).

Take Care

rehman1 Bhai ! :slight_smile:

Main ne bhi tu yehi arz ki hai

Clarification ke leye sunni our shia ka nukta-e-nazar, mukhtasaran darj kar dia. ta’ke sanad rahey our bawakat-e zarorat kaam aye :slight_smile:

Waisay btw, as you said..

Why it was abandoned in the first place ? :konfused:

Assalam Aleekum
So that people don’t consider It as Fard and plz look for last years
thread. Very detailed. Very.

^ Walikum salam wa rahma tu Allah e wa barakatu h

Sorry pichly post main apkey salaam ka jawab nahi deya tha :)

Apkey our merey kheyalaat kafi miltey jultey hain..

Code_Red, rehman1! thx for your input.

Brethran! Its not about the shia and sunni. And above all it is not about if the Taraawih is valid or not or if it is a biddah. Its about The Absolute Obedience to the Prophet (saww).

Allah (swt) has said in Quran several times:

** Obey Allah and Obey his Prophet **

check:
Surah al Maidah verse 92
Surah Mujadilah verses 12-13
Surah Nur verse 54
Surah Aal-e-Imran verse 32
Surah Anfal verse 20
Surah Anfal verse 46
Surah Nisa verse 80

** From these ayah we learn, it is obligatory for any muslim who believes in Allah (swt), his Prophet (saww) and his book Quran to obay the Prophet unconditionally. Just like he obays Allah (swt). ** And I hope you would agree with that.

The hadiths sis Dur_e_Iman posted clearly stated that Rasulallah (saww) forbade (in the state of anger) to offer Taraawih at mosque. (I am not saying that he forbade taraawih at all)

And in Quran Allah orders us:
Surah Hashr verse 7 "And whatsoever the messenger giveth you, take it. And whatsoever he forbiddeth, abstain (from it). And keep your duty to Allah. Lo! Allah is stern in reprisal."

So again, if Rasul (saww) orders us to pray these salats at home and Allah (swt) orders us to obay his Rasul (saww) then why we muslim (who claim to follow the sunnah of Rasul (saww)) go to mosque and offer Tarawih there??

Code_Red you wrote:

shia:
Traweeh with congression is a biddah started by HAzrat Umar(ra).

well its not only shia who say that. It was also the words of Hz Umar thats its an excelent bidah. Its a SAHIH HADITH. I could post it here but it would be off topic.

sunni:
It was in Hazrat Umar' khilafat that he started this practice of praying traweeh in Congregation.

rehman1 posted:

Hazrat Umar Farooq(RA) revived a Sunnah. And It was just b/c of Hazrat Umar(RA) that Muslims were able to pray Salaat in the open with the blessings of Allah(SWT).

Let me post two ayah here:

1:
"....This day have I perfected your religion for you, completed My favour upon you, and have chosen for you Islam as your religion…" (Quran 5:3 )

2:
Surah AL-AHZAB, verse 36: "It is not fitting for a Believer, man or woman, when a matter has been decided by Allah and His Messenger to have any option about their decision: if any one disobeys Allah and His Messenger, he is indeed on a clearly wrong Path"

Sorry Berathran! but if the matter was decided by the Rasul (saww) in his life and he (saww) never ordered to pray the taraawih in mosque again and Allah has completed the deen in his life too and we are to Obay the Prophet till the day of Qiyamah, Then in the light of above two ayahs how could Umar revived or started this practice of praying traweeh in Congregation?? But again, a debate on this would be off topic so lets stick to the original topic and the question I asked and i-e:

If Rasul (saww) orders us to pray these salats at home and Allah (swt) orders us to obay his Rasul (saww) then why we muslim (who claim to follow the sunnah of Rasul (saww)) go to mosque and offer Taraawih there??

wasalam

*Originally posted by rehman1: *
Assalam Aleekum
So that people don't consider It as Fard and plz look for last years
thread. Very detailed. Very.

hmm, i think the very thing the Prophet (saw) wanted to prevent is actually occuring. The fact that many people consider it farz in that if they dont read it thier roza is not valid. I've met many 'educated' people with these beliefs, I have to remind them that even though it is highly recomended, a nafl is a nafl and that reading it with a wajib niyyat would make the prayer void.

As for Shia POV, nafls are never read ba jamaat but individually, otherwise it is still highly recomended.. so there you go.

*Originally posted by zer01: *
Code_Red, rehman1! thx for your input.

Brethran! Its not about the shia and sunni. And above all it is not about if the Taraawih is valid or not or if it is a biddah. Its about The Absolute Obedience to the Prophet (saww).

Allah (swt) has said in Quran several times:

** Obey Allah and Obey his Prophet **

check:
Surah al Maidah verse 92
Surah Mujadilah verses 12-13
Surah Nur verse 54
Surah Aal-e-Imran verse 32
Surah Anfal verse 20
Surah Anfal verse 46
Surah Nisa verse 80

** From these ayah we learn, it is obligatory for any muslim who believes in Allah (swt), his Prophet (saww) and his book Quran to obay the Prophet unconditionally. Just like he obays Allah (swt). ** And I hope you would agree with that.

The hadiths sis Dur_e_Iman posted clearly stated that Rasulallah (saww) forbade (in the state of anger) to offer Taraawih at mosque. (I am not saying that he forbade taraawih at all)

And in Quran Allah orders us:

So again, if Rasul (saww) orders us to pray these salats at home and Allah (swt) orders us to obay his Rasul (saww) then why we muslim (who claim to follow the sunnah of Rasul (saww)) go to mosque and offer Tarawih there??

Code_Red you wrote:

well its not only shia who say that. It was also the words of Hz Umar thats its an excelent bidah. Its a SAHIH HADITH. I could post it here but it would be off topic.

rehman1 posted:

Let me post two ayah here:

1:
"....This day have I perfected your religion for you, completed My favour upon you, and have chosen for you Islam as your religion…" (Quran 5:3 )

2:

Sorry Berathran! but if the matter was decided by the Rasul (saww) in his life and he (saww) never ordered to pray the taraawih in mosque again and Allah has completed the deen in his life too and we are to Obay the Prophet till the day of Qiyamah, Then in the light of above two ayahs how could Umar revived or started this practice of praying traweeh in Congregation?? But again, a debate on this would be off topic so lets stick to the original topic and the question I asked and i-e:

If Rasul (saww) orders us to pray these salats at home and Allah (swt) orders us to obay his Rasul (saww) then why we muslim (who claim to follow the sunnah of Rasul (saww)) go to mosque and offer Taraawih there??

wasalam

try to search for last years THREAD.
take care
wese I can also quote lots of stuff about your sect.
speechless hujayee geee. So give It a rest.
Look for last years thread.

*Originally posted by rehman1: *

try to search for last years THREAD.
take care
wese I can also quote lots of stuff about your sect.
speechless hujayee geee. So give It a rest.
Look for last years thread.

Brother rehman1, thx again for your worthy input. I appreciate that you are reffering to some posts from last year. And I am sure those posts are about the validity of Tarawih Namaz. But my dear friend, once again I insist that I am not asking about if Tarawih is valid or not. I am just asking *: if we should obay the prophet as Allah orders us to do so and stay at home or should we disobay Prophet in other words disobay Allah (reed ayah below) and go to mosque to perfom Tarawih? *

Surah Nisa verse 80 "He who obeys the Messenger, obeys Allah: But if any turn away, We have not sent thee to watch over their (evil deeds)."

wasalam

that simply means rehman is speechless :wave:

Did Ali ra during his Khilaafah stopped people from saying Taraweeh in mosque?(verbally or by force)

Plz answer in

Yes
No
Don't know

with historical proof if possible

Don't know

But a more helpful question would be did Ali (as) perform Taraweeh in a mosque or encourage people to do so.