Arrey.. what’s up with y’all? Koi kehta hai “I am not in the mood to celebrate Eid”, to koi naraaz behta hai, aur koi aur bahaney banata hai…
Eid is not a choice. Celebrating Eid is also not a choice. Yes, I have just delivered a fatwa here.
Those in the west who esp. live in small towns with little muslim populations pls. raise yr hands and say “Aye”. Now pls. take that pathetic helpless puppy look off your face and put on a smile.
Eid bhi koi “mood” bananey ki cheez huwi bhala? What do u take it for… strawberry milkshake?? Someone doesn’t have a new dress, someone hasn’t got time for henna, someone has to go off to work, someone has exams, someone lives on campus, someone doesn’t have a car to go for namaz .. excuses excuses!!
Tell me, who has a “mood” for Xmas? It’s just the commercial hype around Christmas that makes the mood. Same way, u gotta shake yourself a bit to go do something memorable on Eid. And be grateful - u have a PC to type on and come to GS, means that you have a lot more than millions of poor children and people around the world, who also don’t have new dresses or new hairdos, but they still grin like monkeys on Eid day. Heck, 90% of the time their Eid days go without food even. Kuch samaj aaya?
I have never been acquainted with a more ungrateful lot in my life! Aab ki baar kisi ney kaha na “mood nahin hai to celebrate Eid” bohot maar pareygi. Depressing people… huh!
*Originally posted by Ana: *
Eid is not a choice. Celebrating Eid is also not a choice. Yes, I have just delivered a fatwa here.
Those in the west who esp. live in small towns with little muslim populations pls. raise yr hands and say "Aye".
Aye "Mowl-Ana" Bibi. I wasn't depressed at all until you made me realize how miserable my life really was (the story that followed your decree).
The nearest Islamic center is close enough for Eid prayers (~40 miles) but I have no idea what to do after the Eid prayer. I'll probably celebrate the rest of the Eid day it in office, unless of course you have a suggestion for me/us.
Hmm i have to agree i didn't think so many people would be this bitter about eid. Anyway i'm excited even though i have to work late and than have class until 10pm during which i have to give a presentation infront of annoying people. But its Eid, yay!
*Originally posted by belle: *
Hmm i have to agree i didn't think so many people would be this bitter about eid. Anyway i'm excited even though i have to work late and than have class until 10pm during which i have to give a presentation infront of annoying people. But its Eid, yay!
Very sweet belle...believe me ! u have put the old /sacreligious cu*** to shame ...who have had the audacity to reply to this thread with there furustarated and twisted humour....:)
Take the day off, drive to a city 9 hours away, have dinner in a muslim restaurant, chat up the owner, compliment the cook, drive back home. I did that once... went all the way to NYC in the freezing cold, had dinner at an Afghani place in Queens, drove all nite back. :). Try it. It's UNFORGETTABLE.
OR
Stay at the masjid after namaz, and get together some guys / gals who r just like u - bored - :) - and go out as a group to some bowling alley or something, have lunch, then go watch a matinee show, then sit around and chat till dinnertime. Then splash on dinner at yet another place, and everyone go home. NICE.
In case u're having qualms about meeting people after namaz, hand out a flyer before namaz that says "A group of muslims plan on doing this this and this after namaz, so feel free to join us and meet us outside". It's a wee bit of a lie - u're the group - but people will come. VERY NICE.
OR
Take a cake/snacks/pastries to work if u really really gotta go, and share with yr colleagues, and send out a broadcast email that says "It's my festivity, pls. share it with me. Goodies in the usual place." LOVELY.
OR
Get a calling card and call up each and every person u know on the face of the earth. It's keep u occupied, trust me. CHO CHWEET.