Gymming Log!

Ok so 2day was my first day @ Gym. Nothing exciting about it lol but i was thinking that we should have a topic here where all of us who workout dialy can share our routine, tips and basically encourage each other. It would help us to;

1. Ask each other for any concerns/questions we might have regarding a particular excercise/machine.

2. We can share excercise tips we may learn from trainers or co-fellows at gym.

3. This will keep a regular record of our dialy workout and if any of us miss the workout the others would hopefully encourage them to be regular :D.

4. Basically anything and everything about our workout can be discussed here :).

My 1st day was ok…i was scared i might not be able to excercise properly as i have stopped working out for about 6-7 months now. But Allah ka shukar hai it went fine 2day. The trainer got me started on a bicycle for 10 mins, than 20 mins @ treadmill followed by 10 mins @ this funny machine which makes you looks like you are skiing and than finally some stretches. I found that skiing bit (LOL) and the stretches hard otherwise it was fine. I wanted to get a personal trainer but this branch which is near to me do not offer personal trainers so i am hoping you guys and the net would be a good way of getting better info as to which is the best way to go about gymming. On saturday i go for a fitness test after which i would have a proper diet chart and excercise routine chartered out for me. I hope its not very tough sigh.

What about you guys? Also, share how to make the whole gymming process less burden and some fun.

Re: Gymming Log!

I did a double class today with my favourite instructor. First hour gymstick - mostly lower body muscle training. My legs and arms will soon look like serena williams. Then I did kick-boxing, first half an hour mostly upper body - punching and jabbing with a stick, last half hour cardio - kicking and punching but on a step.

So I am expecting not to be able to walk for a day or two but I love it :slight_smile: Sweating and working out gives me a high.

(It’s also so I have reason to buy myself more skinny jeans :blush: )

I do kickboxing twice a week, step class once a week and in-between I try to run and swim. Swimming is a brilliant form of excercise - overall body work out. But you have to do a good 20 laps or so. My road running has lessened coz of my knee so I stick to the treadmill

^ Gr8! You seem to be really at it which is great. And ofcourse than it gives all the more reason for shopping :D.

Definitely. I find when I am working out and in shape, shopping is more of a pleasure. When I'm fat and frumpy, and I can't get those jeans up my ass it's depressing.

So yes excercise is important not only for looking good, but for feeling good, doing well in all aspects of your life and it is a major investment in your longterm health!!

There's a sign in my gym that says "movement is medicine" and I strongly believe in that.

Before I went to the gym I was feeling lethargic and depressed, so it's a good stress-buster too :) and then automatically you want to eat healthier too. When I'm excercising I pile on the fruits and veggies.

i have no problems starting exercise and a healthy diet

but the question is how to maintain :bummer:

Yes ofcourse it more than just looking good it makes u feel good too from inside. I guess it gotta do with the blood circulation=LOL!. I can do with fruits but not a vegetable fan :(. Also, salads give me stomaches.

i suppose if u excercise and eat heathy the weight wl be maintained…or do u mean how to not go off track!?! cuz for that only yr own determenation and support of others helps.

Once you start, and push yourself to continue for a month or so, you will get into a rhythm and find that you have to excercise just like you have to eat and sleep. It helps me because my parents have drilled it into me since I was young, and they still go to gym (mashAllah at their age) and are fit and active.

My housemates are also very health concious. One is almost a professional sportsman and they only eat like really healthy food. Usually lots of vegetables lean meat, chicken breasts...I'm the only one that makes salan. lol

anyone curling 55lbs for biceps with dumbbells? ;)

Ive been wanting to go back to the gym...I think the time is coming close when I stop avoiding that road and take the long way home.

i did chest, triceps and shoulders today, and my chest is badly soar now.

Only going to gym is not enough, Diet is the key. it should be a combo of carbs, protiens and healthy fats.

right behind ya bro, only 35lbs more to go lol

what's wrong with salan? our brothers back home eat salan daily, nothing wrong with them, they are strong, live a healthy life, healthier than people here. :)

just came bk from gym…took a shower n here i m surfing GS and havin my mushroom soup :smiley: lol! well it was same 2day as yesterday…2morow i go in for fitness test n than i get my proper workout routine n diet chart chartered out *sigh hope its nt that hard. Argh the stretches kill me…:frowning:

Acha i have few questions;

1. Is it better to tone along with loosing weight? or first to loose some weight and than to start the strength training along?.

2. How may hours b4 your workout you shouldnt eat? and is it good to have your lunch/dinner right after your workout?

3. Any tips that might make the help in loosing weight fast :smiley: lol hehehe we all get so besabra:halo:.

Any other advice you guys might want to give is more than welcome :D.

I have a friend that curls a 100 :eek:

btw great thread maham :k:

^ thank-you for appreciating an honest effort :). Most people here just like to see the wrong in everything even if its meant in humor.

^^ U can do watever u want to lose wieght but dont stop taking fats, its gona kill u if u do.
google for bad fats and good fats. Eg) Kaleji (liver) is a bad fat thats gona make u fat, and if u eat banana (good fat) its gona help u lose wieght. and without taking good fats u cant even tone ur muscles.

^ Aww ok thank you so much for the help :) i wl definately search them up. Thanx Again.

Ooh good thread. hopefully i will contribute soon as well.

maham, just out of curiosity and if u don't mind sharing, what gym are you going to (since your location says Lahore)??

Shapes. Are u from lahore too?.