Originally posted by reza khan:
hey man how did u know i was in essex university. wowwwwwwwwwwww u got some mind there.**
You yourself told me that you're at Essex Uni!
Anyway, Ilford is a place with a very high Pakistani and desi density just outside London, but technically in Essex. You'll certainly be able to find a halaal there.
i don't know how to cook, so living at campus by myself was a MAJOR problem for me. If you enjoy fruits, eat lots of those - apples, oranges, bananas. Besides replenishing on energy, it's also a good source of water (well at least oranges are). Munni's idea of pocket pitas is an excellent one, you can put almost anything in them - cheese with tomatoes, melted in a microwave. If you are health-conscious, try cutting sticks of celery, cucumbers and carrots and put into small bags so that you can snack on them throughout the day (might not be very appetizing but at least it's healthy!). I was usually in a rush during the mornings, and I found what worked well for me was those eggo waffles (sorry, not certain what you call them in the UK?) - that you can just pop into a toaster and they'll be done in a few minutes.
Ya we get them here too. nice ideas thanks!!!!
[This message has been edited by reza khan (edited May 03, 2002).]
I wondered just like u until I went there.
It’s not that bad but maybe coz I like the desi areas and think southall is cool.
cut some onions, any vegetable (i prefer bhinDi, baingan, or courgettes) and then add some oil (olive oil is preffered), and some salt and red chillies (or black pepper if u like) and then leave it on low heat. Tasty whether u wanna eat it with bread or roTi.
teray rub ka tu farmaanla tuq-na-tu
Oye Muzna ji! Ilford main kya kharaabi hay! Mere adha say zayadah khandaan ilford main rehtaa hay!
Originally posted by Muzna:
**ugh Ilford.
couldn't you find a more appetizing way to describe the veggie mince.
ab tau khanay waala bhi haath na laga'ay.
waisay main nay to apni poori college life RAMEN noodles khaa karr apni sehat kharaab karr li!
Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT:
** My sentiments exactly. Hence in 14 years of living in London, I have never been to Ilford.....
mad, waht are you talking about, what is wrong with ilford, its a nice place to shop, as you have nnever been how can u judje. There are plenty of halal meat shops there very reasonably priced, hygienic and accessible. Muzna what is it that you dont like, have u ever been?