Guru Nanak Saheb

Re: Guru Nanak Saheb

An unarmed Guru Tegh Bahadur was executed by a cowardly ruler (an outsider to India) who was intolerant towards other faiths and considered his own faith supreme.

Guru Tegh Bahadur gave up his life, but not his faith. He chose death over a faith from outside.

Raj Karega Khalsa:
You are from UK.
You have probably never visited India.
You are affiliated to the Khalistan school of thought from UK.

Am I right?

I hope that you understand that your views DO NOT hold anymore amongst the Sikhs in India.

The Court decided that it posed no threat to civilians and that Sikh People should be allowed to carry Kirpan.

I also agree, I have seen Sikhs in Temples, This is surely the impact of intermingling and marriages.

My sardar friend used to tell that with the onslaught of jehangir, Aurangazeb and his followers, Many of the punjabis who chickened out converted to Islam and the brave remained as sikhs…

Well I have been to Gurudwaras that have photo frames of hindu gods all over the walls - anyone in Dubai is welcome to check out the Gurdwara in Dubai.

Probably a Hindu Mandir where they've put a Guru Granth Sahib because they want to be Sikhs.

Most likely it's run by Punjabi Khatris, they don't know what they are. Go to a Jatt Gurdwara you wont find in there.

Guru Ji was open minded and enlightened, he chose the good things for us and made our lives easier.

Islam is too strict, you're not allowed to eat 'swine' or stunned meat, what's the wisdom behind all that?There's no drinking allowed, I've never drank myself yet because my parents don't like it but I know my religion is not that strict on it even though it forbids it.

Satsriakaal.

Who was he?

Guru Nanak Dev Ji was born to a Hindu family, but he wasnt a Hindu, just like if my parents are doctors and i was born to them it wouldnt make me a doctor. When Guru Nanak was asked was he a Hindu or a Muslim his reply was that im neither Hindu nor Muslim.

His origin?

born in present day Pakistan so thats Indian origin because that was pre-partition time when Bangladesh, Pakistan and India were one.

Was he a hindu originally? Or a Muslim?

Thats answered above.

Did he really performed Hajj, as reported?

Yes he did go to Hajj and on the rest of his travels to preach the oneness of God... and when he went there because he was tired he fell asleep... (and never done this to disrespect Islam) and the maluvi (i think) shouted who is this infidel pointing his feet towards the house of Allah... and then Guru Nanak Dev Ji replied show me where Allah isn't... and when he moved Guru Nanak Dev Ji's feet... the Kabaah moved aswell. Guru Nanak also visited other sacred places to other faiths such as Haridwar... where Hindus throw water towards the sky to reach there ansestors and Guru Nanak Dev Ji started chucking water towards west... which made the Hindu's laugh and question him why he is doing this... and he replied in the lines of- if water can reach your ansestors in Heaven from here why cant it reach Panjab which is just over there... which made them realise about these rituals are of no avail.

Did he believe in onness of God even after the start of Sikhism?

Yup... infact the start of the Sikh scripture begins with IkOnkar Satnaam etc which means theres is only one God, and truth is his name etc. (This was composed by Guru Nanak Dev Ji).

Why he decided to create a new religion altogether?

Paaji if you read the history of Guru Nanak Dev Ji as a kid he was really holy and instead of talking gossip to his mates when he was young he use to talk about God to them and always use to praise God there are loads of stories about him as kid. Infact when he was born instead of crying he was laughing and since his parents were Hindus they took him to a pundit (on the day of the birth) who said that Guru Nanak Dev Ji is very holy person and he will adored by both the Muslims and Hindus.
Anyways one day Guru Nanak Dev Ji disappeared for 3 days... this is when Guru Nanak Dev Ji met God... where God told him to preach Sikhi.
Guru Nanak Dev ji also said Im neither Muslim nor Hindu but i will create a third.
If you read the Siri Guru Granth Sahib Ji theres a verse that Guru Nanak Dev Ji composed which says what ever he is preaching is the result of what God is telling him to preach.

Was he a good friend of Baba Fareed of PakPattan and other Muslim saints of that time?

Yes Guru Nanak Dev ji was good friends with Muslim saints such as Bhai Mardana Ji etc. Guru Nanak Dev Ji companied alot of holy people inc Hindus aswell, this because he companied the holy which is important part of Sikhism.

Did he have good relationship with Hindus?

Guru Nanak Dev Ji had good relations with everybody he met regardless if they were Hindu, Muslim, Buhuddist and i even think he came across Christians -not too sure on that one though-.

How much and when Aurangzeb factor came into play in the birth of Sikhism?

Aurangzeb had nothing to do with the birth of Sikhism.
Guru Gobind Singh Ji what he preached was the same as Guru Nanak Dev Ji preached aswell as the other Guru's teachings. However there was one thing left to preached which was the Khalsa roop (image) which was revelaed to us by the will of God to fight injustice... and so that Sikhs can stand out from the crowd.

What is the term Khalsa?

This means the pure, which all baptised Sikhs take on this 'title'.

What does Khalsa emblem represent?

The 5 K's.

Is he buried or was burnt?

Well the Hindus wanted to cremate him and Muslims bury him... so he said Hindus place flowers on my right and Muslims on my left and he said who evers flowers are fresh in the morning they will have it there way and put a sheet over himself. The next morning both of the flowers were fresh and Guru Nanak was missing... so the Hindu's and Muslims halfed this sheet between themselfs... the Hindu's cremated it and the Muslims buryed the other half of the sheet.

--

I have put this in blue because this wasn't part of the original topic.

Originally Posted by Sheraz CT
^ so what you are saying is that he took good things from both religions and came up with a new religion..and this is how sikhism was born

pretty much

Paaji/penji i totally disagree.... by saying this you are suggesting that Guru Nanak Dev Ji just made Sikhi by preaching what he wanted to... which is not true because Guru Nanak Dev Ji preached to us as God had told him to... as this verse suggests:

“Me, the bard out of work, the Lord has applied to His service. In the very beginning He gave me the order to sing His praises night and day. The Master summoned the minstrel to His True Court. He clothed me with the robe of His true honour and eulogy. Since then the True Name had become my ambrosial food. They, who under the Guru’s instruction, eat this food to their satisfaction, obtain peace. By singing the Guru’s hymns, I, the minstrel spread the Lord’s glory. Nanak, by praising the True Name I have obtained the perfect Lord.” (Guru Nanak, Pauri, Ang. 150)

I have read alot of comments about idol worship on this topic... i thought i'd clarify idol worship is forbidded in Sikhism if a Sikh does idol worship thats another matter since this against the teachings of the Guru's. Most Sikhs do have images of the Guru's but they are not to be worshipped as ive already said since they are not God... and the Gurus were just the slaves of God and anyway God is formless without shape or form .
No Sikh worships the Siri Guru Granth Sahib Ji, we believe the scriptures to be God inspired since the Guru's were told to recite this by God, but it isnt worshiped since God is formless, these are just praises of the Lord, in how Sikhs communicate with God. But God is formless and we worship God by reciting these verses but not by actually worshipping the scriptures because that would be like idol worshio which is forbided if that makes sense. However i thought id add that some Hindus's do, do aarti of the Siri Guru Granth Sahib Ji and some Hindu's do have pictures of the Guru's and visit Gurdwaras which ive tried to explain at the bottom.

Guru Nanak was one of the most influential leaders of the sub-continent. He was born to a working Punjabi Khatri family. His views about Islam were not that great- so leave it putter!

Paaji/ Penji i dont think Guru Nanak's view on Islam was its bad as your suggesting from the above quote because if that was the case then surely Guru Nanak Dev Ji's 6th sucessor wouldnt of built a Mosque for the Muslims (as the Muslims must of needed a place of worship)... infact that got converted to a Gurdwara after 1947 and when the Muslims asked for it cuple of yrs ago... All the Sikhs gave it happily back to the Muslims... even though knowing our Guru had instructed for this building. :)

People are spreading misinformation about Sikhi here. We are not part of Hindutva, we are Jatts separate from dirty, effeminate skinny idol worshippers.

Paaji/penji can i just say even though i agree with you that Sikhs are not Hindus... but i think you are misinforming aswell (with no offense) because 'we' are not Jatts... because all Sikhs are not Jatts... white Sikhs are not born to Jatt familys... neither are partrai Sikhs etc. And remember here after 'kisi ne nah tere jaath puchne'. By calling Hindus 'skinny and dirty' is also going against the principles of Sikhi... Seeing the light of God in ALL wether they be Muslim, Hindu, Jew or what ever. And you cant judge a whole group of ppl based on their faith, judge them individually. Because if we judge everyone by groups of faiths or whatever then that will mean innocent ppl of every faith will be labelled by names that they dont deserve. And paaji/penji can i just add that not all Hindu's worship idols... there are sects of Hinduism who are against it.

Probably a Hindu Mandir where they've put a Guru Granth Sahib because they want to be Sikhs.

Most likely it's run by Punjabi Khatris, they don't know what they are. Go to a Jatt Gurdwara you wont find any crap in there.

Paaji/ penji again this is against Sikhi because disrespecting anyone else's faith is against Sikhi.
I agree it could be a Mandir... or it could be a Gurdwara run by Sikhs who are less-knowlegable about Sikhi... i dont agree with the comment that you said because 'they wanna be Sikhs'.
This is because of the fact some Hindus dont 'wanna be Sikhs' they want to place the Siri Guru Granth Sahib Ji in the Mandir for a understandable reason:

Some Hindus believe Guru Nanak Dev Ji is the 24th incarnation of Vishnu (i think) (which is why you will see the Hindu version of Guru Nanak Dev Ji is slighty different as in the fact that the picture has more arms). This is because it was prophecised in the Vedas thousands of years ago that this form of Vishnu will come and he will have a 9 successors (the other 9 Guru's) and a silent stage (which we know as Siri Guru Granth Sahib Ji).
The other prophecies include the name Nanak, saying that he will preach 3 attributes (Naam japna, vand ke chakna, and kirat karni). also 2000 yrs ago a Hindu sage Patanjali, talks about that Guru Nanak will be outstanding from the rest of the prophets of the kali yuga (Guru Nanak was adored by everyone who came across him) who will have extra ordinary power and says that Guru Nanak will use a prime mantra called Waheguru which has never been used before in any other era or age.
Here is one of the translated quotes from the Vedas:
"when in the world the sinful ways will be on the rise and noble behavior will vanish, as the disappearance of the moon when on its wane on the darkest night, there will appear Vishnu as a prominent Prophet from the Keshatra Clan and will manifest in consecutive form through 10 Prophets to bring back the ways of virtue to the ailing world"

Please dont get me wrong i do not think that even though the Vedas prophecised Guru Nanak is the incarnation of Vishnu, that Sikhs are Hindu's because Guru Nanak Dev Ji tells us that he isnt a Hindu nor Muslim therefore how can Sikhs be Hindus or even Muslim then?

I only 16, so please forgive me for any mistakes and when ive quoted from anyones writings please dont take it as a direct attack against you i was just trying to present the Sikhi view if i think its been wrongly interpretted. And if im wrong in anyway please tell me as i havent got much knowlege but ive only started learning Sikhi since early last year.

Satsriakaal and peace to all of you.

I've tried to clean up this thread to the best of my ability. Please refrain from derailing this thread any further. Should there be any problems, either use 'report bad post' option or drop me a PM.

Why in the world did the Kabah move? I have heard this story from many other Sikhs and Hindus and to this day I dont understand why the Kabah would have moved for Guru Nanak.

All it means is that it got moved...emotionally i.e...:)

umm still doesnt expalin much but sure :confused:

:slight_smile: Thanks for accepting my explanation.

Satsriakaal.

The Kabaah moved because of the fact the maulvi (i think) said that who's this infidel pointing towards the house of Allah... and in his mind he was thinking that Allah lives in the Kaabah... which is why Guru Nanak replied move my feet were Allah isn't. So when the Maulvi moved Guru Ji's feet 'where Allah isnt living' so the Kabaah moved aswell... showing that Allah is everywhere. I cant remember everything since i read about this ages ago, so if ive said anything incorect i hope if any other Sikhs are on here they will correct me.

Sorry Sadiya sister/brother for going off topic but i was just trying to correct some things that was said on the earlier posts and now im just replying to a question asked- i hope you dont do no gusa.

You can’t even drink in Sikhism. It’s not allowed.

Its a lie, not even true its just a legend. Firstly even if Guru Nank did point his feet to the Kabbah they would have killed him. Its as simple as that.

This is a lie. No Muslim thinks Allah lives in the Kabbah, lol. You’ve been indoctrinated to belief something which is not even true. Tell me did Guru Nanak even once say he was a Sikh? NO!

Also let me tell you speaking facts here, a non Muslim is not allowed near the Kabbah so Guru Nanak Ji must have converted to Islam. Hell he if had a little sword on his side which said on it “liilah Illahal mahmadur rasoolalah”
“There is no God but God. And MOahmmed is the massenger of god”

Guru Nanak Ji also ate with Muslims and prayed with Muslims, even Muslim hyms are incorporated in the Sikh holy book.

Satsriakaal.

Thank you for you reply stomp paaji/ penji.

This is a lie. No Muslim thinks Allah lives in the Kabbah, lol. You've been indoctrinated to belief something which is not even true. Tell me did Guru Nanak even once say he was a Sikh? NO!

Paaji/ penji i never said Islam tells Muslims that Allah lives in the Kabaah... but this is what was in the mind of the Qazi... which Guru Nanak had cleared.

Bro /sis i havent indoctrined a belief which isnt true... i aint accepted anything because i was 'bought up to believe in it' or because 'my ancestors believed in it so its ok for me' and let me tell you one thing bro/ sis i was going to convert to Islam in the search of truth when i was younger at about when i was 13, 14 years of age when i had misunderstandings about Sikhism until one day when something happened which made me believe in Sikhism and all my misunderstandings about Sikhism were cleared... which im not going to go into now.

And the comment paaji/penji that you made about the Kaabah moving is a lie... thats up to you if you want to accept the eye witness account or not.

Brother/sister about your comment that Sikhs arn't allowed to drink... i dont know what to say... this is either a comment made out of the blue to ridicule Sikhs... and if it is... then i must say if you cant see the light of God in all... you cant see God at all. If you did say this to riducle Sikhs then i must say... didnt the prophet Muhammed say that respect other faiths? If Sikhs arnt allowed to drink... then i question how there is even one Sikh in the world... because no person can live without water/drink for 40 days.

About the comment about Guru Nanak not saying he was a Sikh... im sure that you are trying to suggest as the rest of your post is indicating that Guru Nanak is a Muslim... which im not going to answer on this thread... im going to answer this, God willing, on the Guru Nanak is a Muslim thread when ive got time.

Peace.

Firstly, am a man. I am a Jatt Punjabi (as majority of Sikhs are) I know about Sikh culture. Let me tell you something, in Sikh Scripture’s drinking (Shraab) is condemned. Drinking (Shraab) is part of Jatt culture and is not part of Sikhism.

2andly the story about Guru Nanak Ji moving the Kahhbah is a legend, its just a fairytale. Which was no true, Guru Nanak Ji would not have even done that out of respect for Islam, it would be even illogical for him to do that.

3rdly Sikhism is based heavily on Islamic monotheism the empashis is put on the worship of one unseen god. And the Hindu practices of empty rituals, idol worship and caste-system are shunned.

If anything Sikhs dress and hold many of the same values Muslims holds i.e moral and ethical values.

Sikhs believe that all paths lead to god regardless of what god you worship, so for a Sikh to convert to Islam there should not be any problem. And it doesn’t matter if someone converts to Islam or not Islam is not effected in anyway. However I can suggest to you is read the English translation of the Qu’ran and you’ll seen realize that actually Guru Nanak Ji was more a Muslim then anything else. And Sikhism was later introduced by and was the works of other Sikh Guru who used this terminology.

I hope you realize what am saying my brother, please don’t take my words as being aggressive to Sikhism, my forefathers were Sikhs.

Satsriakaal.

Ok lol... oh right i thought you was talking about Sikhs arnt allowed to drink anything as in fluids... i didnt realise you were actually talking about alcohol coz i knew alcohol is stricly forbidden in Sikhism... soz for saying all that... i misunderstood what you had said and i take all that back what i said (even though i know i cant literally lol).

About the Kabaah moving that isnt a legend... that also had an eye witness account... which hopefully if Waheguru wills i'll quote in my other post when ive got time (coz i should be revising for college coz i got exams coming up).

Brother... maybe i didnt get my previous post clearly across... im not going to convert to Islam... because ive realised the truth in Sikhism i believe in Sikhism. I'm 16 at the moment... and the only reasons why i started doubting Sikhism is because of my lack of knowledge about Sikhism... and also i was 'brainwashed' if you like by other people and other faiths in some ways or the other. But i understand Sikhism alot more now along with other faiths... hence why i believe in Sikhism.

And brother i do and have read the english version of the Quran (infact i even have heard Islamic lectures on Islamic channels on Sky digital at times aswell) ... to learn and study more about Islam (but i only follow Sikhism... because i believe in it) and infact that also made me feel stronger for Sikhism... and im not going to argue or debate again if Guru ji was a Muslim or not coz hopefully i will write about that in the 'Guru Nanak ji was a Muslim' thread... because i dont think i will be able to get any revision done if i write on every post about Guru Nanak ji... i hope you understand what im saying.

One thing i would like to say while i dont claim to be a scholor in Islam or anything like that... but i do know quite alot about Islam (i dont say that in a boasting sense.... im saying this to make it clearer that im not just another person off a street who just started believing in Sikhism without learning about other faiths first, to decide what i believe in) ... as i said before when i was going to convert when i was younger... this made me learn more about Islam.

And paaji i dont take your words as being agressive to Sikhism... and its kool to know your forefathers were once Sikhs... but what youve got to realise is when i take things offensive of what people say is because that, i dont know how to put this in words but i dont like when Sikhi is being misrepresented... because my parents didnt teach me anything about Sikhism... which is why i doubted Sikhi because i never had any knowledge about it... and i got mixed messages including why my parents etc cut there hair and cut myn along with it. Which lead me to a constant battle between converting to Islam, Hinduism and Sikhism -its much more deeper than that and there are reasons for each which im not going into. I didnt even know what identity i had because i wasnt taught anything... apart from theres 10 Gurus, one God and the Gurdwara. And then i also got some hate messages from Muslims such as when i forgot to put a tie on one Muslim goes 'all you Sikhs act like this, and think your hard'... and even more hate messages such as 'i wish i could kill all the Sikhs in the world'- to my face... (some of who later came my mates and apologised).... and then i got Muslims telling me convert to Islam... (3 incidents to be exact over these yrs when i wasnt sure in what i believed in) and this wasnt even to make me realise the truth which they think is Islam... i think this was just to put down the Sikh community... and to gain swabh for themselfs... now if they really did want me to know the truth of what they think is Islam, surely they should of preached the Quran to me and not just say 'convert', surely they should of got the pleasure out of preaching the truth and not the pleasure out saying 'convert' and theres one more in number for Islam. While i was searching what i believe in... this is what i got mixed messages). And i know true Muslims wouldnt of said them things... but at the end of the day they were young when said this... so its understable and they probs didnt have much knowledge about Islam then anyway. But all this is really complicated stuff... which i hope you can understand that when i see incorect messages about Sikhism... what i feel... because of the incorrect messages ive recieved.

And i thought ide make it clear that i do believe in Sikhism now... and ive got my reasons to do so... along with the fact that it make sense to me.