anybody know a recipe for them?
Re: gur walay chawal
Yeah I want the recipe too :(
meri pantry mei pakistan ka gurr parra hua hai...but have no idea how to make gur walay chawal:(
I think you make it like zarda but i dont know about the ratio of gurr to rice. :(
I'm in hurry right now....but will post later InshaAllah.....
In the meantime get your pans n pots ready! :p
yeh layin jee...
Ingredients : 225 grams rice, basmati , 400 ml water , 200 grams gur, break into small pieces , 1\4 cup ghee , 1 teaspoon aniseed (saunf) , 8 green cardamom seeds, crushed , 4 cloves , 100 grams almonds blanched,cut into sliver , 50 grams unsalted pistachios, sliced , 25 grams raisins, green , 1 teaspoon lemon juice.
Instructions : 1. Rinse the rice in a sieve under the running water and then soak it in cold water for 30 minutes. Drain. 2. Put water and gur in a pan and bring to boil. Boil for two minutes and then remove from heat and strain. 3. Heat ghee in another heavy based pan; add cardamom, aniseed and clove. Stirring all the time, fry these for few seconds. Stand well back, in case of spluttering, and add the rice along with syrup. Bring to boil, and then reduce the heat to low. 4. Add almonds, pistachio nuts, green raisins and lemon juice. Stir just once, cover with a tight fitting lid and cook for 20 minutes until the syrup is completely absorbed. * Variations : Add 1\2 cup grated carrots or boiled yellow lentils (channa dal) along with nuts.. Serve Hot. •
Married NY did u try this recipe???
as i also like them and made few days back on the request of a hubby,s friend,i too searched for the recipe on net and in all recipe they cook chawal in sheera but sis this is not right way because boiling chawal in sheera makes them hard,so dont boil chawal in sheera .
then i ask for the recipe to a lahori friend she told me only soak gur in little water.and boil it in this water ,and boil rice in normal water like we boil for zerda and when they half cooked dain the water,in a pan heat oil put ilaichi,darchini and sonf and fry it then like we do in zerda first layer rice then the gur and then rice and then gur,and haan gur koo chaan kai dalain as ager chan ker na dalain tu chawal main kirkir hoti hain kiyo keh gur main sometime muti bhi hoti hain belkah akhir main thora sai jo gur ka sheera hoo us ko phaink dain,ok and then in the end add nuts to the rice and half cup milk and lemon juice and cover it with a tight cover,and put on dum for half an hour in between dum once mix the rice . ohh yes i forget to tell the measurments,take equal amount or rice and guror 2cup rice and 1 3/4cup gur if u like light meetha.. u can fallow the measurment of the recipe that married ny told.but dont boil rice in sheera.
oohh tabheee mai kahoun kai chawal aysee waisey kion ho jatay hai awwwww thanks aaish,,thanks a lot khush rahu
You are welcome married Ny.