Gupshup Rules

Assalaim-Alaikum,

Can I ask whether it is ok to use sexual references in the Religion forum. Bearing in mind that it could offend, what is normally done about it?

I view this very seriously, so please reply with this in mind.

Jazallah

Walaikum Assalam....

What do you mean by 'sexual references'?

In all forums, espeically in the 'Religion Forum' it is expected of all the participants to use appropriate and decent language.

I'd let GFQ answer your question, bcz I know you are referring to the post titled "NYAHMEDI".

Take care...

PS. Pls remember that only the moderator of the forum or the member who wrote a post can edit it.

Sex? how could you even use that word?

Pristine, thanks yaar

My post is being ignored.

Do you not have any answers for me?

Jazakallah

In my post NYAHMEDI - the member of the same name used such language in order to get the thread blocked.

normally admin/mod edits the offending message and gives the user a warning.

This didn't happen. Could it be becuase NYAhmedi is a moderator himself?? surely not.

For the forum rules, read this: http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/Forum13/HTML/001955.html

It seems that your questioning arises as a consequence of the ‘NY’ thread. In my opinion, personal attacks and crusades have no place in this forum. Therefore, that thread had no place…the discussion that thread entertained had no place in this forum.

I mean if someone wants to discuss the Ahmadiya/Qadiani religion, fine, but to single out someone specifically like that doesn’t make sense to me. Discussing a religion is one thing, discussing a person is something quite different.

Perhaps, NY Ahmadi went a little too far, perhaps he didn’t. Reading the post and the ensuing replies, I understood why he said what he said in the way that he said it, and though personally I might not agree with the degree he took it to. I don’t see how it can be said to be offensive, some may view his choice of words as coarse, abrasive, and even crude, its plausible. But as I see it, the post was more provoking than insultive or offensive. Therefore, it wasn’t deleted or edited. But the thread was locked.

Jazakallah for replying.

To reiterate your point, sexual references are allowed in this forum if you are provoked? Why then was the same reference used in another post, in which alpha1 and NYAhmedi were discussing the same topic (can't seem to find that one now)?

I will bear that in mind in future if any gupees use offensive language after being provoked.

Wasalaam.

Another one bites the dust!

From my latest post that has disappeard (they do the Stazi proud), NYA said the following:

1. He did not respond to the question if he was a Muslim
  2. He denied the verses of the Quran
  3. He denied the majestey of Allah and the Qadar
  4. He conceded that the ahmedia is spread using money

My work is done!

[This message has been edited by Alpha1 (edited December 19, 2000).]

Why wasn't it locked like the other one? Are there rules for when a post is deleted or locked?

Dear Alpha1 great job, well done, just one tiny irrelevant question, what are you gonna use this info for?
Not that I care just curious – one tine lil thing in urdu, Izzat karo aur karwao!

Cooldude there is huge difference in insulting or provoking one person and insulting his religion. But since you already know this stuff I wont waste your time. The conclusion is, NO, it is not and will never be ok to break any of Gupshup’s rules, the moderator makes the decision in every case, but Admin’s can make the final decision, if we have to jump in. If you can, challenge them intellectually or stop this nonsense, this kind of childish behavior doesn’t paint a good picture of Islam either, so what are you gaining by offending other’s religious figure or religions? What or who are you representing, definitely not Islam! By the way I need no answers to any of this, as this is not a discussion, follow the rules, end of discssion!

Saba

Originally posted by sabah:
**Dear Alpha1 great job, well done, just one tiny irrelevant question, what are you gonna use this info for?
Not that I care just curious – one tine lil thing in urdu, Izzat karo aur karwao!

Cooldude there is huge difference in insulting or provoking one person and insulting his religion. But since you already know this stuff I wont waste your time. The conclusion is, NO, it is not and will never be ok to break any of Gupshup’s rules, the moderator makes the decision in every case, but Admin’s can make the final decision, if we have to jump in. If you can, challenge them intellectually or stop this nonsense, this kind of childish behavior doesn’t paint a good picture of Islam either, so what are you gaining by offending other’s religious figure or religions? What or who are you representing, definitely not Islam! By the way I need no answers to any of this, as this is not a discussion, follow the rules, end of discssion!

Saba**

Tell me Saba, my aim was to establish clarity of belife which has been attained. True it got personal, but that was not my doing. If that is not intellectual then what is? AhmedG's posts perhaps? I can clearly see double standards here.

...this kind of childish behavior doesn’t paint a good picture of Islam either, so what are you gaining by offending other’s religious figure or religions? What or who are you representing, definitely not Islam!..**

Who am I offending? Please provide proofs as I make it a point not to attack others beliefs. I only give my opinion, of which I state as such.

Please do not give out false information, esp during the month of Ramadhan.

Wasalaam

Cooldude, You == General public! As for rest of your post, good decision, now stay on the safe side!

Alpha1
You wouldn’t like to discuss standards with me, as for this discussion, drop it!

Saba