Guppy Meet & BBQ at Centre Island, Toronto

**June 18th, 2006 **
Time: 11:30 am (Please be on the island at 11:00 am)
PicNic Area: 13 Booked

Centre Island offers:

fishing
swimming (beach is open but water may still be on the cold side)
paddle boat rentals
canoe rentals
bike rentals (or you can simply bring your own bike along)
loads of green space for picnics and bbqs
option to set up net for volleyball and badminton
loads of swings for the young and young at heart
some shows - have to check scheduling for the day we pick
Check out the Centre Island website for additional details:
www.centreisland.ca](http://www.sharjeel.ca/islandmap.jpg)

Games and Competitions
If you can tell me the genders and ages of the kids that are accompanying you, I would appreciate it. If there are enough then I would like to arrange some games and prizes for them. Thank you

Ferry Ride (cuz you need to get to the island, duh)
Adult $6.00
Senior/Student (15-19 with a student pass): $3.50
Children: $2.50 Under 2 years: enjoy a free ferry ride

Centreville amusement park for the little ones (rides are not really designed for adults)
Family ride pass for 4: $80.00 (i.e. $20.00 per person) *Family pass must include one adult minimum. *
Individual ride pass: Over 4’ tall: $27.50 - Children 4’ and under: $19.00
Individual Season Pass: $50.00
Shoppers Drug Mart: Save $5.00 off the pass and earn Shopper Optimum Points!

Attendees confirmed for June 18th:

maddy
faizy
Muzna & Noor (hopefully Ibs can join too - fingers crossed)
cHEeGUm
Uncle Stalker and family (uncle, aunty and two boys)
desi-angel and sister
Attia (plus sister and two cousins)
Furqan
smilestar & Moosa
hayaa
MehnazQ (plus sis and bro-in-law)
gul-e-bakauli
Fayz
danial shah
Desimunda
Umar Talib & Ayesha bhabhi
Amir and Faiza bhabhi
smooth_guy (without bhabhi who will be in Pakistan)
Jal Pari
cat woman
Adeel & Tehmina
Anjum Bhai & Erum
PrinceMS
xkanwalx

Total: 35 adults and 4 children.

Pending confirmation:

Sadiyah
picocio

MENU

Note: If an item appears twice or more times on the list, that means responsibility has been divided to share the burden.

Fish Tikka (Furqan)
Bihari Kabab (PrinceMs)
Bihari Boti Kabab (Muzna)
Paper Plates & Utensils (Muzna)
Samosay for Tea Time (Fayz)
Mixed Bean Salad (Mehnaz’s Sis)
Naans & Buns (MehnazQ)
Marinated Chicken Legs (hayaa)
Marinated Chicken Legs (Uncle Stalker)
Marinated Chicken Legs (Amir)
Portable bbq, Coal, Implements and aag laganay ka samaan (faizy)
Portable bbq, Coal, Implements and aag laganay ka samaan (chegum)
Drinks & Ice (maddy)
Drinks & Ice (smooth_guy)
Condiments, Salad and Chutnies (gul-e-bakauli)
Burger Patties (Desimunda, Umar Talib and Ayesha bhabhi)
Burger Patties (cat woman)
Chai ka samaan (smilestar)
Anjum Bhai & Erum (Chana Chaat)
Chips and Salsa (xkanwalx)
(desi-angel)

Dessert
Cake (danial shah)
Baklawa (Attia)
Jal Pari (shaahi tukray)
Adeel & Tehmina (Watermelon etc.)

Commissioned Photographers
faizy
chegum
maddy

Re: Guppy Meet & BBQ at Centre Island, Toronto

can we PLEASE PLEASE do this on a sunday? :cry:

i think its great, dates could be june 18, june 25 (nearest)

one-dish as menu from everyone.. pre-decided so we dont have too many desserts

and like always, i am in ..

sounds good to me.
yes....one dish per guppy
and yes....not too many desserts
let's get some interest showing so that we can decide what dishes.

I hope DM and Umar Talib can make it. It would be like a re-union meet of the first EVER guppy meet.

I can’t do June 25… both days that weekend I have to be at Centre Island for a dragonboat racing competition.

Centre Island is gonna be jammmmmmm packed for that. You’re welcome to come to watch me race and to visit the Procter & Gamble stalls (we’re one of the main sponsors and sell some of our stuff at cheap cheap prices).

I might even dress up in the Charmin Bear costume if demand is enough :cb:

Muzna,
I'm trying to persuade a guppy from New York City who you probably would be interested in meeting, and a former UK guppy to get to Toronto on the morning of the 18th.

Therefore, I would love the 18th since it would give ma additional leverage over them.

So....June 25th is OUT.

So far June 18th looks good.

But I'm in to watch you race for sure!
I've been wanting to come for the dragonboat races for years now. This is an excellent opportunity.

And maybe.......juuuuuuuuuusssssssssssssssst maybe......if I'm really lucky.......I'll get a "Tide To Go" to commemorate the event!

Ok, my 2 guppies are IN for the 18th.

International guppy meeeeeeeet :yahoo:

See you there people!

in june i'm going to Michigan with my family..so sorry i cant be there :(

It is my birthday weekend so I'm gonna busy that whole weekend.

Have fun!

From past experience its generally a good idea to have a picnic or a bbq on a saturday.. most people go to work monday morning and you need sunday to regain some strength.. im still sore from all that walking on saturday :p

Apart from that any day of the weekend is fine with me

^ nahi nahi i have class on saturday, that is why i was late for wonderland as well.. Sunday will be perfect :(

I prefer Saturday too but there are many that have either class or work on that day. And I don't mind recuperating at work if it means that we get a better turn-out.

If it is a Sunday then all I ask is that we get started early......like meet up for 10:30 or 11:00 so that we can have a full day and those of us with kids that need to get to bed early for school the next day, can still participate without having to leave just as the fun begins.

yeah, yeah.....I know.....I'm the only one with the kid who needs to get to bed early.......

**if **there is somekinda place where my kids can soak themselves (a kiddie pool, waterpark etc etc.) **then **I am very much IN.
My kids are Paani kay jaanwar :cb:

hey i have a kid?

errr, lets just settle on a date+plan, make sure its 2-3 weeks from now, then we can start advertising and asking people to join .. atleast this way they can plan .. otherwise we will just keep on changing dates..

i say, june 18, in honour of MehnazQ's bday .. ?

uncle: yes it is , so start packing them chaddiez

There is absolutely a fun pool for them to play in --- like a wading pool.
Plus there is the sandy beach at the far end of the park too.

I say June 18th is good.

Okay Uncle Stalker,
I just looked at the pics from your Lion Safari trip.
The splash park at Centreville is nothing near the park that your kids enjoyed at the Safari.
I didn't want to mislead you.

if the programme is on 18th (sunday) then inshahALLAH THIS TIME i am definately INN with my family.my kiddo,my hubby and ME:snooty:

^^ unless something :aj: like happens again…as it tends to whenever guppie meets are scheduled :smiley:

ask what::::konfused:

well tell u what this time call him and tell him that u have this plan and call him in the evening then lets see KIYA BAHANNA karta hai woh:)

God knows how eager i am to explore canada:hehe:

waisai tumai sharam anni chahiyai i am in ur city and u didnt came to visit us :mad:.i met ur dad ,he is really a nice person:)app ko kiya SHAHI FARMAAN behjana parai gah kai plz do come ad visit us..

waisai canadian ppl are very cold..koi milta hi nahi:( i miss pakistan:crying:

Muzna: you alwayz come up with the most wonderful ideas! count me in also! I will be bringing fish tikka's :) June 18th confirmed!