PESHAWAR, Pakistan, June 21 (Reuters) - Unidentified gunmen kidnapped nine Pakistani Christians on Saturday in an attack on a religious gathering in the northwestern city of Peshawar, police said.
“The gunmen came in six vehicles and attacked the house where the Christian people were praying and took away at least nine people with them,” a senior police official, Imran Shahid, told Reuters.
Some local residents said over two dozen people had been kidnapped in the attack in the Danishabad area of Peshawar city, the capital of North West Frontier Province.
No one immediately claimed responsibility but the area lies close to the Khyber tribal region where Islamist militants have been active in recent months.The region is also notorious for smugglers and bandits.
Pakistan has seen a wave of militant violence, most of it in the northwest and the adjoining lawless tribal belt on the Afghan border, since the middle of the last year, but minority Christians have not been targeted as such. (Reporting by Faris Ali; Writing by Augustine Anthony; editing by Richard Meares)
This is another despicable act. Unfortunately being a christian in Pakistan is synonymous with being a sweeper and these extremists don't consider/treat them as human-beings. This is nothing but khulli badmaashi and must be condemned.
On a separate note I have yet to come across a mullah or maulvi who made a d'ua for all of mankind and not just muslims during the traditional Friday or Eid prayers. They always only pray for Islam and Muslims. I asked one mullah about this ((after all isn't the rest of mankind (however mis-guided they are from our perspective...) His creation too)) and not surprisngly he had no answer. Such narrow-minded thinking is drummed into us from a very young age and it's no surprise then that some of us grow up with very extreme/intolerant views about 'others'. Why can't they say a prayer, something like, "Oh Allah we are all so grateful to you that you gave us Islam......have your mercy on all human-beings and give guidance to us and the non-muslims amongst us."
This is another despicable act. Unfortunately being a christian in Pakistan is synonymous with being a sweeper and these extremists don't consider/treat them as human-beings. This is nothing but khulli badmaashi and must be condemned.
On a separate note I have yet to come across a mullah or maulvi who made a d'ua for all of mankind and not just muslims during the traditional Friday or Eid prayers. They always only pray for Islam and Muslims.** I asked one mullah about this ((after all isn't the rest of mankind (however mis-guided they are from our perspective...) His creation too)) **and not surprisngly he had no answer. Such narrow-minded thinking is drummed into us from a very young age and it's no surprise then that some of us grow up with very extreme/intolerant views about 'others'. Why can't they say a prayer, something like, "Oh Allah we are all so grateful to you that you gave us Islam......have your mercy on all human-beings and give guidance to us and the non-muslims amongst us."
What you wrote is Islam. But whom you asked, they may consider themselves Muslims but certainly they are not following Islam. If you will try to find out, you will learn that Prophet (SAW) regularly use to pray for mankind, not just Muslims. A person to be Muslim, he/she should have love and care for every creation of Allah (be they Muslims or non-Muslims) and should only hate wrong deeds (be those wrong deeds done by Muslims or non-Muslims). In this world there is nothing personal for a Muslim and thus a Muslim should give justice to even his worst enemy and no person should feel threatened by a Muslim.
If there would be group of Muslims then they would spread Islam (Peace and tranquillity) and other than trouble makers (Muttafanni) everyone would find refuge from them. If you ever see a group of people from whom people of different beliefs, casts, views, communities or religion feel threatened (in whatever way) then be assured that these people are not Muslims but soldiers of Shaitan and Jahannumi.
On a separate note I have yet to come across a mullah or maulvi who made a d'ua for all of mankind and not just muslims during the traditional Friday or Eid prayers.
I dont know what kind of mosques you go to or what kind of dua you're expecting for non-Muslims but i often see the Khateeb making dua and asking Allah to guide the unbelievers and the wrongdoers, and to bring them to the Straight Path.
On a separate note I have yet to come across a mullah or maulvi who made a d'ua for all of mankind and not just muslims during the traditional Friday or Eid prayers. They always only pray for Islam and Muslims. I asked one mullah about this ((after all isn't the rest of mankind (however mis-guided they are from our perspective...) His creation too)) and not surprisngly he had no answer. Such narrow-minded thinking is drummed into us from a very young age and it's no surprise then that some of us grow up with very extreme/intolerant views about 'others'. Why can't they say a prayer, something like, "Oh Allah we are all so grateful to you that you gave us Islam......have your mercy on all human-beings and give guidance to us and the non-muslims amongst us."
after a long time i see a very honest and gud post.
I dont know what kind of mosques you go to or what kind of dua you're expecting for non-Muslims but i often see the Khateeb making dua and asking Allah to guide the unbelievers and the wrongdoers, and to bring them to the Straight Path.
dude what you mean by straight path? conversion into islam. That is the only dua molvi make and will it solve anyone's problem?
Actually, the duas are as universal as you can get in a mosque. The duas are made for everybody, not just Muslims... at least that is what I've observed in NY, VA, GA as well as Pakistan.
As far as misguided is concerned:
Bhai, baat darasal ye hai ke hum sub hee baiyghyraat hain, awal darjay ke, eik dosray ki misguidance tou humain nazar ati hai par apni par kabhi ghore nahi kia.
Yaar I go to very normal mosques, it's a fact of life. I certainly did not make this up. To be honest I can't remember the last time I heard an imam or maulvi offering d'ua or praying for the whole of mankind during Friday/Eid prayers. They are just too Islam-centric in their thinking. AllahummaA'izzal Islamawal muslimeen is the common d'ua they make all the time. Nothing wrong with that but I just think that we should pray for mankind and not just muslims. I am sure most people here will agree with me on that
Re: Gunmen kidnap at least 9 Christians in NW Pakistan
^^ Do you even know the meaning of what you quoted? You missed the only verb in that sentence, making the sentence illogical.
That being said, we should first strive to find what exactly the dua means. There are certain duas which we can make for unbelievers and other which we cannot. Its as simple as that.
^^ Do you even know the meaning of what you quoted? You missed the only verb in that sentence, making the sentence illogical.
That being said, we should first strive to find what exactly the dua means. There are certain duas which we can make for unbelievers and other which we cannot. Its as simple as that.
AllahummaA'izzal Islamawal muslimeen
Ok have corrected it now. I know the meaning of it btw....Oh Allah give honour and dignity to islam and muslims :)
As for making d'ua for non-believers....you can ask Allah to guide them, forgive them etc.
I’m not the one who supports suicide bombings, so that alone reflects most poorly on your mental state.
And this what the jihadi finta has been up to, they can’t even stop killing themselves:
Five killed as religious groups clash in Khyber**
BARA: Five people were killed and 9 others injured in an exchange of fire between two religious groups in Teerah Valley of Khyber Agency on Saturday.
Ansarul Islam (AI) said it took into custody 30 people belonging to its rival group Lashkar-e-Islam (LI).
The fighting between the two religious groups has erupted after a long ceasefire.
AI said the five people killed in the fighting belonged to LI and 30 LI men were taken into custody, adding that its shura (council) would decide their fate.
Meanwhile, LI refuted AI’s claims saying that the houses of AI activists Qayyum and Jumma Baz were razed to the ground during the fighting and several important posts were captured. However, LI confirmed the death of two of its men in the fighting. staff report
Abducted persons have been released.
PESHAWAR: The 16 Christian hostages, abducted from Peshawar, have been handed over to political authorities in Bara district here on Sunday.
These Christians were kidnapped from Academy Banarasabad (Peshawar) on Saturday, as they were on the way to join a religious carnival.
The Lashkar-e-Islam organization in Khyber Agency released captives to the political authorities however, the spokesman to Lashkar-e-Islam has denied the allegation of abduction saying that the local people had handed over these 16 Christians to them.
^ Thank God to hear the above news. I don't understand , why would Lashkar-e-Islam organization or anyother 'local" people would kidnap them? Are they serving Islam by doing these acts ? Islam has 5 pllars and this is not part of any. This is just simple " ghunda gardi ".
Are you sure? If Allah grants such prayer, they'll end up becoming Hindus!