hey Bhagwaan ye main kiya dekh raha hoon. is it for real?
Is it religiously / culturally accepted practice in any part of the world?
hey Bhagwaan ye main kiya dekh raha hoon. is it for real?
Is it religiously / culturally accepted practice in any part of the world?
Re: Gun worship?
Yes it is for real. Two links for your reading pleasure.
News article from India Today:Modi worships assault guns : West, News - India Today
A blog post for history of this worship:
Weapon worship
Interesting info.
Shastra /Ayodha Puja:
This worship is a traditional ritual, followed by those who carry weapons-like the Rajputs, or members of the armed forces and the police. It is believed to have its genesis in the worship of weapons by Rama's followers before the final battle with Ravana, in which the demon king was killed.
@shaasavera
What does it mean 'shastra pooja is manmat not Gurmat'?
Gun par PK ka kiya rade amal hoga? ![]()
PK kon? Amir Khan?
Han G...
uska kia lena dena iss topic se? ![]()
Uskay motabiq yeh gun wala bhagwan hai…
Uskay motabiq yeh gun wala bhagwan hai....
ye kon? Modi? I heard after release of PK, Amir Khan ki jaan ko khatra hai? Is it true? What happened?
Yeh to mojhy nahi pata... Indian poster can shed light on it....
He is mass murderer, TATA had a failed project in one state because of indigenous struggle.
Modi set that project up in gujrat, so he won fav of industrialists hence became front runner for pm.
Before that, he killed 2000 muslims to secure hindu votes, to be or stay CM of gujrat.
Very twisted stuff..
please ask for links... if like to know more.
the pics are a bit misleading, the worship is not for the gun, but the deity the guns are placed in front of. besides guns, all sorts of weapons and tools and books are placed in front of the goddess to be blessed, and none of them are used for the two (or maybe 3) days of puja.
but still it looks odd to have guns at worship places. Its as odd as we seen gun carriers in Laal Masjid.
Difference between manmat and Gurmat?
Anyone?
Pehli baat mujhe yahan solo mention mila hai. Mujhe abhi bahot garv mehsoos ho raha hai apne aap pe. Main to in cheezon ki authority hoon. Main bandit queen aur gulabi gang se kam nahi
I feel like they are misusing the practice for showing a strong image. Not everyone does this type of prayer but if you are a warrior and it is part of your job then it is prayer for helping with your job or your duty. It is similar to how a musician may pray to Goddess Saraswati to bless with musical success. It is unusual to see civilian do it. I think he has been doing it for many years so this is not new.
From a website..
**Shastra Puja **is held on the ninth day of the Navratri Festival – this is the Mahanavami day during Durga Puja. The weapons (Sastra or Astra) used by Goddess Durga are worshipped on this day. Shastra Puja date is September 27. Today, people worship the tools and objects that they use to earn a livelihood. Some say it is for Goddess Durga that this prayer happens.
Weapon worship
Shastra Puja is also known as Ayudha Puja in South India. A similar ritual held during Durga Puja is the Astra Puja.
Earlier, the kings used to worship the weapons used in war on the Shastra Puja day. Weapons like sword, spear, bow and arrow were kept for purification ritual on the day and they would remain untouched the whole day. After proper rituals they were taken on the next day.
Today, people worship and perform purification rituals on objects they use to earn their bread.
Goddess Durga carries numerous weapons which were given to her by various male deities. Therefore there is a belief that the weapons carried by Durga represent the various forces in Nature – Durga’s energy rests in these weapons.
Today, Ayudha Puja is the day when Hindus keep the tools and objects that are used to make a livelihood for pooja. The tools and implements are not touched on the Ayudha Puja day. It is only taken on the next day morning with renewed vigor after the blessings from Goddess.
Which tool one keeps during Ayudha Puja depends on his/her trade – this can be laptop, desktop, cycle, autorikshaw, screwdriver, sewing machine etc. Nowadays, people also do not use vehicles on the day. Cars, scooters and bikes are also kept for puja.
Children and people who are associated with art and literature also participate in the Ayudha Puja; they dedicate the prayers and pooja to Goddess Saraswathi. This is referred as Saraswathi Puja. Here too people abstain from touching books and other written materials.
Visiting temples dedicated to Hindu Goddesses is an important part of Ayudha Puja. Special poojas are also performed at home by elders and books and tools are kept for puja.”
This is from a Sikh site so im not sure if it is something Sikhs do as well.
Manmat and gurmat are Sikh words.
Manmat is an opinion based purely on ones own ego, pride and only on ones personal needs and desires. One who refuses to take into account the needs of others; the directives of the Sikh Gurus; the well-being of the community; One who is driven only by ones mind and one bodily requirement disregarding everything else.
The word Manmat consists of two parts – Man and Mat. The first part, “Man” means your own mind or your own desires. The second part “Mat” literally means “understanding of”. So the full word conveys the message “the desires of ones own mind”; “to follows ones own desires”; “do acts according to your own mind only”. The ‘Manmukh’ is attached to worldly desires, material wealth, worldly allurements and sensual enjoyments. His desires and his needs are unlimited. He does not follow Gurmat, which is the opposite of Manm
Gurmat is beyond worldly desires. Wanting success in job or material things is manmat. Gurmat is following tenets of the Gurus.
but still it looks odd to have guns at worship places. Its as odd as we seen gun carriers in Laal Masjid.
I think it looks strange because only people who use this as part of their job are meant to do this worship. Now a PM can take guns from commanders and do worship looks odd. I don't think a PM is seen as head of armed forces.
PK ko kuch nahi hoga. Many movies have been made mocking gods and all. Some people protest but others go about their business.
Supreme Court’s final Judgement on Banning Aamir Khan’s PK
Now we get the Final Judgement from the court “Don’t waste the valuable time of court by applying stupid logic. If you don’t like the movie, dont watch it and keep you and your family away from the movie.”
Supreme Court – “If you don’t like it, don’t watch the film. Don’t bring religious facts here,” Chief Justice of India, Sources, said adding, “These are matters of entertainment. If you restrict it, it will affect other’s rights. Everything is on the internet. What will you hide?”
The court said, “Indian society is very mature and knows the difference between entertainment and other things.”