Guilty of being a Hypocrite. Need help, please

At times people criticize others for breaking the rules (over-speeding, shortcuts in duties, carelessness in responsiblities, being oneself non serious at times in matters that one encourages others to take seriously…etc.) But when people ask him the reason when he is at times caught making the same mistakes himself, he comes up with the excuses;

**"Well, I am also part of this society…everyones does it

It’s a desi ishtyle, you know…

kya karain, Mahol hi kharaab ho gya hai…ham bhi is zamaney mein rehtey hein…etc"

**Ofcourse one can’t be perfect, we all are at times tired/ ill/ depressed/ bored/ lazy…etc. but when this hypocrisy at times tempts me, I feel guilty for being aggressive in those past occasions when I should have been humble (even in thinking about others) and should have commented with hikmah (wisdom) instead of being blunt. (as if I myself have never made those mistakes in life, which is wrong). Specially in cases where the listeners are too nice to disagree or correct me.

Hypocrite in my opinion is the person who is deceived (practically) by nafs that he can even trick his creator, when no one else is watching his misdeeds.

Please advice me in how one can protect oneself from this spiritual disease. JazakAllah Khair.

Re: Guilty of being a Hypocrite. Need help, please

break the ice. dont justs take the rules for granted and enjoy breaking them. I dont do that. So I dont believe everyone does that, really. There are people, might be few though, who are honest and dont look for excuses for their wrong doings.

Keep trying , don't give up one day you will overpower your nafs , Inshallah. Ameen.

Spit in your chips.

Also, if you want a serious/religious reply then you should move this thread to the appropriate forum.

I refrain from criticizing others until I am SURE I've made every attempt to correct myself first. If I feel like smtng might hurt someone else (but i do it too), that is exactly how I would say it "I feel like this is not good for you..i know we all do it at times but we should all work at it" OR "yah, ive been in this situation too and this is how i overcame it or this is how i improved".

Protection Shah Ji, protection. ;)