i am not nursing my kid as i was having taylenol 3 and Advil so my doctor told me that its better not to nurse the kid as she will sleep the whole day .i am a very WEHMMI sort of a person and i follow the doctors advice as if these are her last words.
my inlaws didnt like the idea and told my hubby that i dont want to feed the baby and i try to be a modern lady ..well there exact words were PATA NAHI AJ KAL KI LARKIYAAN AISEE HARKATAIN KIU KARTEE HAIN.my hubby didnt say anything ,he says its up to me and the doc knows the best.
i know mothers feed is the BEST thing for the baby .and i am not the enemy of my kid:bummer: all the pressure of my mother in law is making me insane.plz tell me am i doing the right thing???isnt formula milk are not good .formula milk lai kai bachai kiya haar wakat beemar rehtai hain??
Studies show that breastmilk IS better...but if for some reason you cannot breast feed, and if the doctor has also warned against it, then formula isn't that bad either... that's sad that ppl around you are making u feel like crap for that....but at least your husband is on your side (sort of)... btw, i think between our generation and thier generation, there will ALWAYS be conflict when it comes to childrearing..
thats so sad that your inlaws would say that- don't they know you're on meds? and yeah, you can't even take advil when you're pregnant so i'll bet you can't breast feed with it. who wants a drugged up baby?
honestly, like sara said, breast feeding is the preferable choice, factually speaking, but you're not being a bad mom or anything like that if you can't breastfeed your kid for medical reasons! that's not selfish, you're on meds presumably cos you're recovering from your C-section, so you're taking care of yourself so you can take care of the baby in all the other ways that it matters.
next time your MIL brings it up, let her know you're on meds and the doctor doesn't recommend it and that, really, its your baby and your choice.
i am not nursing my kid as i was having taylenol 3 and Advil
for how long are you taking these medications?? on a daily basis?
Your Doctor is right, you shouldn't nurse your child if you are taking medicine such as Advil. It basically have aspirin in it n it does get transfered to the baby via milk and get deposited in their body. If a child get a viral fever n already have aspirin in his/her body then that can lead to Reye's Syndrome.
Since, you are taking medications then its better not to nurse your child - you should explain the consequences thoroughly to your MIL.
Awww. Hugs to you Nazoo. Mine are a little older now and I have to say that my hide has toughened up! Because if it isnt breastfeeding, its something else. Next will be potty training, pacifiers, giving up the bottle, discipline yadayadayada. I got so much "free advice" that i think it would fill up the library of congress if i wrote it all down lol!
YOU are the mommy! And you do what YOU think best for your little one and dont worry about what anyone else says. Cause "they" always know better, did it better etc. SKREWEM!! And just enjoy YOUR baby!!
Breastmilk IS best for the littles when its possible to do it. But formula is just fine too. The new formulas have DHA and EPA now, those are the best formulas to use. If there were a problem with using formula, then more than half the planets population would be in trouble I think! Dont go beating yourself all up over it, your baby will be just fine!
EMM i am taking medicines for like 2 weeks cause i cant bear the stitches pain:bummer: i did told my MIL that i am taking medicines and her reply was TUM WAHID LARKI HOO JIS KOO ITANAI MASLAI HAIN ..BIBI ALLAH PAI BHI BHAROOSA KARNA SEEKOO.
kissi nai saahi bola hai you can win …after marriage ..unn ki baatain suun kai i just tought that maybe i am wrong ..but thanx guys u helped me alot .
btw which formula is good for the baby:hmmm: right now i am using similac:) well my sister says that SUNO SAAB KI KAROO APNI:cb: laikin yai sunanai ka stamina ko paida karai:bummer:
My first baby was nursed for 2 years and the second was formula fed due to my being sick. She is 2 now and is fine so far, infact falling sick less often than my son who didn't take formula. As for your in laws, well most desi in laws talk like that and esp in cases of child rearing no matter what you do its not good enough. You are lucky your husband is siding with you.
If you are in the US, all formulae are regulated by the FDA even the store brand ones. Similac is a major company and should be fine to give as long the baby is not having any issues with it.