Guest Lists - Help

Re: Guest Lists - Help

I have acquitances in Bohra community it is a very common practice in them that when they print wedding / valima cards they insert and head INVITES MALE () FEMALE () and numbers in it like INVITES MALE(1) FEMALE (1) you may also do that........its just fine !

Hey guys...one more tiny detail..................card wording...this is what I have...am I missing anything or should I change something around???

"In the name of Allah, The Most Beneficient, The Most Merciful"
Mr. And Mrs. X
request the honor of your presence and blessing on the
very auspicious occasion of the wedding ceremony
of their beloved daughter
X
with
X
adored son of Mr. and Mrs. X
on Sunday, 28th June 2009
Venue :
Empress Banquets 200 E Lake St. Addison IL. USA
Ph. : 630-279-5900
Program
Reception --- 6:00 PM
Dinner --- 7:30 PM
RSVP
X Ph. : 000-000-0000 (USA)
Best Compliments from:
(Immediate family members are listed here)
No Boxed Gifts Please

to cut down ppl from ur guest list invite couples only from the families that are not closely related to u have ur relatives attend with their entire family but when it comkes down to far away relatives and friend just invite the adults only or u can actually have the entire wedding with adults only which is pretty hard to do bc sum ppl who u didnt invite still end up showing. or wut u can do is not set up a buffet have the waiters serve food platters from the kitchen to everyone this will really cut the cost of food and food not going to waste or having to arrange the food for more ppl.

This is great Reha, the only thing I did differently, to pay tribute to my mom as well, was write out their full names so it was

[Mom's name] and [Dad's name] [family last name]
request the honor of your presence...

instead of making her just Mrs. [Dad's first name] [family last name], kwim? Also you don't need to write 'Ph' next to the phone numbers, the format of the numbers should make it obvious and then you can decrease the amount of text as well.

I mentioned my grandparents in the nikkah card instead of my parents and anytime I mentioned a married couple (including his grandparents and parents) I put the woman's name first. Just for girl power (and that's how western cards are written).

Also I would add "Inshallah" before the day. And "proper" etiquette is to write the entire date out, like this:

Inshallah on Sunday, the Twenty-Eight of June Two Thousand and Nine
at Six o'clock in the Evening.

You could also remove the word "Venue" from the card since that is understood. I've never seen a program on a card before, but I'm sure it helps to make sure that guests actually come on time.

You didn't write the stuff about number of invited guests?

Just my opinons Reha, it is great the way it is written already!

Somegroovychick, wud be the BEST person to help u out bonbon!

bon: you need to chop chop and chop some more. I know its easier said than done but unfortunately, to keep your numbers down, its something you gotta do :( you can't please everyone, its your day and there will always be someone p***ed off that you didn't invite them and their family of 23048230483049 people. It's not their function, its yours!

You may have to get your mother or father or someone else to call those you are unsure about and confirm their attendance. It's tedious but sometimes thats what it takes to ensure you've got a final # to give to the hall.

Good luck!

Prioritize your guest list. How many people are coming from his side? Usually the groom's side's close relatives & friends come on Shadi & then they go all out on Walema & invite whoever they want. Probably limit those people to 100-150 people. Then how many immediate family do you have that you know will be attending the wedding for sure. Then those people who invited you on their important events. Your friends & probably family friends. As someone mentioned inviting just the couple is a good idea too.

In my case I am not inviting a lot of friends' moms or families. Just the close ones. Reread your list & look at each person individually & see if you really want them to be there or what happens if you don't invite them. Are they really gonna get upset. Problem with desi weddings is everyone automatically expects to be invited. They think its Pakistan where you can invite 500 people & it won't matter. Prioritize as I said.

Also as to how to make sure the invited ones are coming so you don't end up wasting seats as well as money. Call them. Make your sisters do that. I am gonna make my sisters do this. One week before the event they can call & confirm the number of guests. be like we are really excited about your presence & wanted to make sure how many of you guys are coming so we can reserve proper seats. Oh & if you can do a seating chart. It saves costs & is less hassle for everyone. Good luck.

Humble opinion. Although its very nice to write Allah's name before announcing such a beautiful thing but I'll say don't go for it. I was thinking of writing InshaAllah on our wedding cards & fiance told me a lot of times the cards can get displaced, like lying on the floor or anything. You don't wanna get gunnah for something done involuntarily. I mean how many of us really save the cards somewhere safe after the wedding. I love how you have mentioned adored son & written about the presence & blessings. Also I think you should give some gaps between where & when to highlight. Its better. These are the wordings I am planning to write on my wedding cards. Might give you an idea about the format.

Mr. and Mrs. Abc
invite you to join them
in a celebration of lifelong love & commitment
as their daughter, Bint_e_Naeem
is united in marriage

To
XY
Son of Mr. and Mrs. Abc

On

Friday, the twenty ninth of May
Two thousand and nine

Half past seven

At

Abc Ritz

1234 N. Milwaukee Ave.

Niles, Illinois

*Dinner & Merriment to follow*

[RIGHT][RIGHT]Kindly R.S.V.P by May 20th, 2009[/RIGHT]

[/RIGHT]
[RIGHT][RIGHT]Mr. & Mrs. abc ([family last name) 1-773-000-1234[/RIGHT]
[/RIGHT]
[RIGHT][RIGHT]Abc (my brother's name) 1-773-000-1234[/RIGHT]
[/RIGHT]
[RIGHT][RIGHT]Abc (groom's name) 1-630-000-1234[/RIGHT]
[/RIGHT]
[RIGHT][RIGHT]Abc (bride name) 1-630-000-1234[/RIGHT]
[/RIGHT]

^ that is a lot of information to present on a single card! its better to include a separate insert with the venue address and the rsvp information.

i usually word the invites i design with:

Mr. and Mrs. Him and Her Last Name
request the honour of
your presence and your blessings
at the wedding/marriage/valima
of their son
X
and
Y
daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Him and Her Last Name
on Saturday, the tenth of April
two thousand and nine

at half past seven in the evening

XYZ Hall
Toronto, ON

that's all you really need, and in most cards that are 5 x7 , thats all that will fit with the design, etc. and then you slip in another insert with the rest of the information like a directions card/map, the RSVP info, and so on and so forth.

bint, i really like your opening wording, btw! very nice! :)

Good stuff ladies...I think Ill change it around a bit and post a draft tonight.

Thank you SGC. The wordings were so far the toughest for me in the wedding preparations. Didn't want them to be typical. The RSVP wordings are actually going to be tiny. Just large enough to read properly & the words mentioned in brackets are not gonna be there. Just first names. On the extreme right down below. I am not doing the whole inserting map or itinerary, since our cards are getting printed in Pakistan. But great suggestion though. Maybe I should look into it now since you mentioned.

Bon we'll wait for the draft :)