GTA Desi Bridal MUA?

It seems like there are a tonneee of desi bridal MUAs in the GTA now. I’d have trouble going for a particular one.

Does anyone know how much Shirley now charges?

I’ve been following Jen Evoy on instagram and I like her work. She mostly seems to do Western/gori brides but she does desi brides as well (dupatta setting and all). Has anyone had any experiences with her? It’s pretty early but I am considering booking her for one of my wedding events in the future. Her prices seem more reasonable than many desi artists’ these days.

Also, does anyone have any experiences with or feedback about:

beautybybu (Bushra Kakar)
canvas muah
Nilo Haq
M4Makeup
Sitara Beauty
Magnified Beauty

Re: GTA Desi Bridal MUA?

So I was in the same boat as you 2 months ago. Here's what I can tell you after contacting MANY artists.

Bushra Kakar is tough to get a hold of - and when she did contact me she said she had a slot for 9am-12pm for me; suffice to say I didn't go with her
Canvas Muah - prompt and friendly $600 for full bridal; travel maybe extra depending on location
Nilo Haq - I didn't contact her as her hairstyles don't last all night (happened to a friend of mine for her engagement)
Magnified Beauty - prompt and friendly as well $400 for full bridal

I personally didn't go with either of those. I chose Noor Artistry for wedding and Nida Farooqi for Reception.

Well I got married 10 years ago so my info is way outdated but I had Dimple Shah. I liked her work, but comparing my weding makeup to wedding makeup now, some people may not like it. Mine was very soft and natural, whereas I'm REALLY into the super glam look (heavy contouring eyelashes crazy eye makeup etc).

I follow huma's bridals on IG but idk how much she charges.

beautybybu is my first choice. ive seen her work in person (family friends) and its flawless.. I booked for her mehndi and shaadi, unfortunately her schedule didn't fit mine for the valima
- jen evoys work is beautiful!.. I wanted her for my valima but shes booked and her senior artists aren't that great
- i then inquired about AKMAKEUP.. she does a lot of south Asian brides. Super pretty work, natural and shes great with hair..but shes out of the country when im getting married.. (sept2017 inshallah)
- i am now panicking cause i cant find someone for valima

• i personally didn't give Shirley a chance cause i think she makes some brides (in particular brides with color) very white and pasty--- but on lighter fairer tones shes good (same with nilo)..
  • canvasmua brides are nice from her insta pics.. i may go for a trial
  • lesonne i hear she doesn't travel. her rates are 750
  • amplifiedsoul is... kinda toooo natural, basic

id say go for beautybybu and jenevoy
whens the wedding? congrats

-

Thank you so much! This is veryy helpful. First-hand accounts/experiences are so useful for this sort of stuff but I've found there just aren't really any reviews for most desi bridal MUAs in the area. I haven't shared my baat-pakki status with my friends yet so I don't really have anyone to discuss this with at the moment.

How far in advance would you recommend people contact them?

Thank you for the feedback! I agree--Amplified Soul is a bit too simple for my taste.

I haven't really noticed the colour thing as much with Shirley but I definitely have noticed Nilo brides are made to look a lot fairer. It's also hard to tell how her makeup looks on desi brides--a lot of of the models on her Instagram account seem to be white.

Are you still looking for a Valima MUA? I'd recommend trying out Fancy Face Inc or Rachel Renna (or maybe Bene Pham) if you're looking for a style similar to Jen Evoy's.

Thanks for the congrats :) and same to you. I have quite a bit of time to plan for now I think.The wedding won't be until 2018 inshAllah.

Thank you for the feedback! :) I checked out Dimple Shah's page--did you get mehndi done from her as well?

It seems like makeup's changed a lot in the past couple of years. I don't know if it's just the photos I've seen but it seems like even bridal makeup from 2012 was a little simpler than it is now.

You're welcome! I'd be happy to help/discuss about any wedding related info you need lol. You've got quite a bit of time to get everything done at least. I got engaged this February and I'm getting married this July In-Sha-Allah. I'd say start contacting them now if you like. If possible get trials done. If you can finalize who you want then go ahead and book them, the way I see it, it's one less thing to stress over as the date comes closer lol. Another thing I'd say to look into is mehndi artist. Depending on who you want, they could be booked a year in advance. Unfortunately my first pick in that department has been booked since last year (henna by divya) Definitely attend the bridal shows. You do get to see the work of the artists up close and can discuss with them in person.

Hey,

I'm getting married in July and I'm going with Maggie Wu. She's charging $500. They've done bridal makeup for all my sister's weddings and they did an awesome job!! A little pricey but I think it's worth it. They do book up fast so you should definitely get on it if you're going to go with them!!

Hey, thanks for the recommendation! Do Maggie and Shirley charge about the same? I'm surprised they're not more expensive given the crazy rates MUAs are charging in the area these days.

As far as I know they charge the same. Shirley books up super fast though that's why I wasn't able to get her (I tried booking a year in advance and she was booked so went with Maggie instead). It's $500 for any of the Wu sisters I think. Good luck!!

How much does Nida Farooqi approximately charge for full bridal? I'm thinking of going with her after following her work for a while on Instagram...

Also does anyone know how much Glowing Goddess charges?

Anyone have experience with either of these two and their work?

Nida Farooqi charges $400 flat for any event, whether its Mehndi, Baraat, Nikkah Reception etc.

Thank you! Appreciate the help.

You're welcome anytime!:)
Wedding planning is stressful enough. The more help, the better imo, lol.