grown ups?

I was at a friend’s babyshower yesterday… its i think about the 3rd one ive been to amongst my group of pakistani girlie friends..

As a kid.. or i guess maybe about a decade ago, I used to wonder when will i be all grown up and sitting amongst my friends talking about baby’s and marriages and what not.. like i remember at desi parties, all the girls (regardless of age) used to be couped up in one small room.. ud have some who were at the marriage stage… and at the time i used to be like “wow… they’re so grown up”..

right now, im at that same stage.. i guess to an extent, but i feel exactly the same as i was a decade ago.. although my ideas, opinions, and views on life have changed dramatically.. im still the same childish and immature girl i was back then… and the funny thing, i still see my girlfriends in the same light..

i was watching my best friend yesterday talk to her 2 yr old daughter.. the way she behaves with her or turns on her motherly charms.. and i just smiled.. makes u think “where has time flown? what have i done in the past decade?”

honestly.. it was the wierest feeling seeing all the girls id once been discussing uni courses with, then projects, then jobs.. and now marriages and kids..

i so dont feel like a grown up though…

Re: grown ups?

Whats the hurry?

sadzzz i would have to agree. it seems like time has passed but I dont feel like im any different than 10 years ago. & its weird being in the stages that you used to look up to saying "wow she's getting married" or "wow shes in college" .

cus mum says i have to grow up :frowning: no hurry on my behalf

hhs4462, exactly… sigh where has time gone..

I say enjoy life as it is now, you don't know whats in store for you.

sadzzz u have grown up.. just enjoy the moment and don't stress about it.. inshaAllah you will do awesome in coming years and will always be smiling like you do now.. :)

josh ko jawan rakho.. jeeo aur khooob haans kar jeeo

Majestic, yeap enjoying it as much as i can :D

hahaha mujhe tho darr hai that i'll never grow up.. khair dekha jaaye ga

Ironically guys don't go through that at all. We will always remain kids and thus innocent. :D

Men and innocent? :rolleyes:

Editted. That was not fair on my part. Men do not group up nor do they worry about transitioning. It is gradual and we usually can fall in place when the time comes.

why the sad face CM?

Well its been editted, but the sad face is because it was too easy to annoy someone. Maybe I have been spending too much time in the Politics forums.

yeah i just realised that...

u know what would have even more annoying and provoked more arguments, if u had said "geez desi get annoyed so easily"

Yeah but i am attempting to play nice, and I am a desi. Why insult myself?

thats a first CM… good stuff though :k:

I just turned 30, have a 3yo daughter and am 7months pregnant. I've been married for 5 years and still don't feel like a grown up either. But I think it's a good thing. It's not that I don't feel a sense of maturity in myself, but I just don't feel 'old'. It's like when you're 18 and you imagine, "Oh my God, one day I'll be 30 and i'll be a really boring, old, geek." Well I hope that hasn't happened, but I certainly don't feel that way. Hopefully when I'm 80 I'll still have a youthful spirit.

Yea i've that feeling to sometimes if i my friend (girl) come to my house with her
2/3 month old baby. It's so strange there was a day we talked about marry and having
baby's, Now it's looks like the time is flying or someting lolz.
But thats life huh, My cousins always say to me that im not changed after my marriage
im still the same Anila and thats true i laugh a lot like before my marriage make
jokes everything yea im seriouse if i have to be, But normal i always joking laughing ect with
family friends.

dude, im totally with you on this one…one of my closest friends is having baby #2 inshallah soon.

im thinking :eek: where did the time go???

i know! i feel so weird around thme cuz it feels like they are not the same girls i used to know

Well maybe they’re not the same. Life changes a person. Everyone grows and soon you’ll experience the same things they are.