Great News!! We now have a genuine Batsman(Finally)

Watch out Tendulkar :wink:

Durham asks Shoaib to play as batsman in one-day games

KARACHI: Pakistan’s speedster Shoaib Akhtar who has truck terror in the hearts of many a batsman round the world is set to step into a new role - that of a batsman - for his county Durham in their next two one-day games.

Durham for whom Shoaib took 4 for 15 in a national one-day league match against Derbyshire on Monday** has been asked to play as a specialist batsman in their next two one-day games.**

Shoaib, who is the only fast bowler of the modern era to have twice broken the 100 MPH speed barrier in international cricket, said from Durham he would be playing as a batsman in a Twenty 20s match and then a national league one-day game against Scotland on June 6.

He made it clear his county had decided to put faith in him as a batsman after he was advised by county doctors to follow a proper rehabilitation programme to ensure he does not suffer from a recurrence of his rib cage stress fracture injury.

“I will not be bowling at all in these two one-day games. I will play as a batsman. They wanted me to rest but I was very keen to play so they said okay you don’t bowl but you play as a batsman. I look at this new role as a real challenge in these two games,” Shoaib told ‘The News’.

The fast bowler, ironically, landed himself in trouble with the Pakistan Cricket authorities in April because of his batting exploits in the second innings of the third and final Test against India in Rawalpindi.

Although Shoaib was injured seriously enough not to bowl in the Indian innings after taking a fall on the second day of the test, he came out to bat on the fourth day and thrilled the crowd with a breezy knock of 28 from 14 balls.

Even in previous instances Shoaib has shown he is no slouch with the bat featuring in many valuable partnerships in test and one-day cricket. His blazing innings against England in a lost cause in the World Cup match at the Centurion in 2003 is a case in point. Even since joining Durham this season, Shoaib has been in form with the bat helping them win against Somerset with his batting efforts.

“People question my commitment to the game or the Pakistan team. If I was not committed and keen to play cricket all the time I would not have decided to even take a chance as a batsman,” he said.

Shoaib said he was getting fantastic treatment from Durham who were looking after him very well.

“They are two doctors and a physiotherapist attached with me who are working constantly on my injury and my fitness to ensure I am fit and don’t face injury problems.”

Shoaib said he had been told to rest for five days before the next twenty 20s match and the June 6th one-day match against Scotland.

“I will than have another rest period before playing a four day match.”

The 28-year old said there were lot of misconceptions about him, which he wanted to clear as soon as possible. “I want to let the people of Pakistan know that I have never played with less than 100 per cent commitment for my team.”

shabash and now be a good boy and dump the nurse warna next time @ the metrocentre u will be clocked by some paki for sure!

Lo kar lo gul :bummer:

ithay vee maTTi paleed hondi nazar aaNdi aye :lahol:

last world cup he showed a good batting against england....
was on course to beat the record for the fastest fifty had he not been caught going for another SIX....

and thats what u need in a twenty-20 match....

great :dhimpak:

Durham must be a crappy county… they can’t find 11 players even. :hehe:

This is the sorry state of current county cricket!. Perhaps that explains the inhuman bowling figures by our superstar rejects and chokers.

Yes shoaib can bat but as a specialist batsman? WhatEver!.Last thing we need is to assign him a role of an allrounder.Batting ko choro bicharay saay pooray 10 overs bhi nahee kiyayay jatay..

well said:k:

*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *
This is the sorry state of current county cricket!. Perhaps that explains the inhuman bowling figures by our superstar rejects and chokers.

Yes shoaib can bat but as a specialist batsman? WhatEver!.Last thing we need is to assign him a role of an allrounder.Batting ko choro bicharay saay pooray 10 overs bhi nahee kiyayay jatay..

Sherry Jee Itna Ghusa. Waisey baat aap any sahee kahee hai. :)

Bicharay say 10 overs nai kyi jate,

let me explain.

Have you ever seen a sprinter doing 10 laps of sprinting? No i bet

The maximum those spinters do is 100m or maybe 200m

However a slow runner can jog for miles and miles

Similarly a spinner can bowl the most, followed by medium pacers but when u are talking for extreme pace like his then ofcourse you dont expect him to bowl 10 overs.

Please dont compare to wasim akram or waqar younis since they did not bowl at the extreme pace this guy bowls at and they had much more of an efiicient action.

He could bowl 10 overs if he didnt put in 100% in each and every delivery

*Originally posted by rizwanfareed: *
Please dont compare to wasim akram or waqar younis since they did not bowl at the extreme pace this guy bowls at and they had much more of an efiicient action.

if these are the only reasons for him breaking down after every two deliveries as opposed to the Ws' relatively examplary fitness record, the prudent thing for Shoaib to do would be to cut down on his pace, IMHO.

Waqar bowled at his peak in round about the same range, Imran Khan was record around 95 mph, Sami bowls in 90's as well. If they can all bowl more then 5 overs on a trot then Shoaib has serous fitness problems and should definatley cut down a yard or two if that could make him bowl longer spells.

The fastest Waqar bowled was in his first tournament in sharjah, where he was recorded close to 97 mph. With these numbers, he was considered atleast as fast as Petric Peterson, who was considered as the fastest at that time. Then, Donald shined from South Africa with very high numbers on the speedo meter, while Peterson faded away. In a tournament in south africa, Waqar bowled around 154 kmph while Donald's highs were recorded at 153 kmph, same match, similar conditions. Pattern followed in the next few ODIs, proving that waqar was the fastest bowler in the world at that time, followed by Allan Donald. Shoaib however is in the league of Thompson, who was not as great as Lilly but was much faster. Same thing can be said when Shaoib is compared to Wasim or Waqar. Shoaib is not as good but much much faster.

*Originally posted by #let uz chat#: *
shabash and now be a good boy and dump the nurse warna next time @ the metrocentre u will be clocked by some paki for sure!

what does this have to do with his profession? :-

exactly:k:

for some he is a modern day role model back home and abroad, in cricketing terms only and when he actually bothers to TURN UP.

secondly being a responsible cricketer and a citizen of pak he should be aware that he will be under scrutiny 24/7 not literally 24/7 but for arguments sake, with so many expectations on his shoulders he shouldn’t be taking advantage of his religion + his rise to stardom and dating girls back home and here in england is a definite :nono: ] god knows how many others he has in other countires.

sahab jee goes on regular drinking binges + smokes, the latter being common umongst all but u know wat i’m trying to say.

let’s say a young die-hard shoabi fan learns of this “extra activities” will he then be setting a gr8 example to those who look up to him, ppl mite start to turn towards the wornd path for arguments sake and say if a person og shoaib’s ability can do it so can we, u know wat i’m saying! if he behaves responsibly then dat would be the best gift any 1 would wish for in dis daur-e-jahaliyat

guys..
Vool down. It is 20-20 and I think the kind of batting skills he has he can be useful in 20-20.

so the news is:
shoaib batted one-down....
scored 15 off 25 balls....
also he bowled 9 overs (5 over spell with the new ball)....
with figures of 2 for 32....

also playing on the opposite side was all-rounder yasir arafat who batted one-down too and scored 5 runs and had earlier taken 2 wickets for 44 runs in 9 overs....
durham vs scotland match....