GRE tips

**salams,

i collected some info abt the GRE for a friend in Pakistan last yr, these tips were emailed to me by some pakistani grad students in my college. they have been written by different ppl. Allah un ka bhala karay :~)

wasim21 in cafe posted that he would like some tips on GREs and i had these emails lying with me so i am posting them here…hope they help you guys as well :~) **

Well first of all For GRE general:

The best is to prepare thru practice and ETS GRE Big Book has almost 20
paper based previous test that serve for this purpose… Its the most
helpful book that i found.

For understanding tricks of analytical, mathematics review and verbal
section, one can use Barrons and keplan.

and lastly for CBT, ETS provides two sample test, kaplan has three
computer based tests. They can be used to familiarise with the CBT
testing, once one is thru with his basic prep.

For GRE (CS)

There is not many books which provides sample tests. But the one i
remember is ETS GRE Computer Sceince book, it has two sample papers which will help give idea about the pattern of the test.
For Gre CS subject test one needs to cover compilers, automata, analysis of algorithm, Logic, discrete Maths and computer architecture. They has started including some questions about the basic OOP programming but they are not really tough.

Following could be good resources.

Analysis of Algo - CLR Book
Compilers - Ullman aho sethi
Architecture - hennesy petterson or stallings
Logic - Mano
etc etc

I am not sure how much this would help - because i did it 10 years ago but got a great score.

I went through the Barron’s and other GRE books - in my days - I just went to the American Consulate Library and htey had tons of books. Plus aslo hasd actual GRE exam books.

Though I would ask an Indian friend in school - they supposedly have the system down to a science.

I would recommend studying GRE’s and Barron’s preparation books and if you have the money, join Kaplan’s training program.
ETS also publishes practice tests for both General GRE and Computer Science tests.
I just studied Barron’s and GRE’s practice tests.

I think it depends on the person’s abilities in the three individual
sections: analytic, quantitative, and verbal. I used a Barron’s GRE
preparation guide. The preparation involved sitting down and doing the 6 or so example GRE tests in a timed manner. For me quantitative and analytic parts were rather simple and I didn’t gain anything from the Barron’s guide. However, my weakness was in the verbal section, and their vocabulary list helped me up my score noticeably. The real gain is knowing where one stands and what needs improvement, and that is definitely where the example tests help. How one improves their weakness is a matter of personal preference. Reading good books was another thing I did extensively to improve my vocabulary.

I used almost all of the material available on GRE i.e. Barrons, Arcos,
Kaplan, Princeton Review, Big Book, ETS Power Prep

For quantitative I think Arco’s Review and excercises followed by CAT exams which are in kaplan, princeton review and power prep are enough. I only spared it 5 days though.
For analytical section, I found doing Barrons problems( for doing longer
problems), followed by kaplan and then big book analytical exams (for
gaining speed) and then doing CATs (from princeton review, kaplan and ETS) to do difficult questions in time…which really helped me.

For Verbal i think you can give that person better advice. However, in GRE, vocabulary has ever more importance than in SATs. So vocabulary should be good to get high marks in verbal. Doing big book exams help ppl a lot for verbal.

aoa,
the info i wrote previously was just an overview and which books should be
used........here r the real tips........also i like to mention that i've
also statistically analyzed original GRE results of my friends who got marks in a wide range, in order to figure out how does that CAT scoring mechanism works......(this feature is available after GRE for 6 months
under.....www.gre.org diagnostics basic service)

General Information on GRE (based on experience and some statistics)

Difference between CAT and paper based.......
Question level (1 - 5) according to difficulty level (easiest - hardest)

CATs usually have questions which increase in difficulty when u get a
question right.......and decrease in level if u get one wrong......but its
not always the case......to get good score its imp. that u get difficult
questions......if u are very smart and do an allotted max difficult
questions correctly in say lesser time than estimated than u'll mostly get
ez questions after that.......as they give u about 30-45% of level 5
questions if u r to score in the range of 770-800....I suppose u r aiming
for this score.(At least in quantative and analytical)...so i'll only give
the figures for this score range.......30-40% are of level 4 and the
rest.......are of 1,2,3 even if u do every question right......

It is not reqd to do all questions correctly to get 800
if u can do about 26/28 in quantative u get 800 in 45 mins
if u can do about (31-32)/35 in analytical u get 800.......in 1 hr
i don't know about verbal :) may be u can tell me :) however it has about 30 questions....and 30 mins time....

if u do questions slowly but correctly u'll get more level 5 questions
.........i.e. upper range......40-45%
if u do questions fast and correct u'll get less level 5 questions
.........i.e. lower range......30%
Remember there can be any type of experimental section A, Q, V .......so u have total of 4 sections.......u'll be lucky if u get V or Q as they require less time to complete........but don't worry if u get A.......

Analytical section :
26 analytical and logic games
9 logical questions

This section differs the most from SAT as SAT has no such section..........

The main problem for these type of questions is doing them in
time.......mostly ppl cannot finish this section in time......so to get gr8
score the imp. issue is the ability to do difficult questions in quick
time..........to get started.........u should know that.........whenever
trying to solve the puzzles.......u have to reach a level where u should'nt
be writing ne thing.......in english........all should be written in compact
symbols for various information given in analytical games.......as they areeasier to c when u r doing the questions after writing down the necessary conditions.....and require less time to write as well as
analyze.......develop ur own symbols.......but u can get the idea from
reading Princeton Review book section on doing analytical games.......and also listen to kaplan overview.............
then do Barron analytical exams.........its really hard to do them in
time.......esp when u start from them........so don't worry about
time..........just try to solve 'm even if they take double the time what is
listed........as in CAT u will have almost 2 min per question and this gives
u about 1.2 mins with almost same level of difficulty............when u r
done with barron..........u should do atleast 10 exams from GRE Big
Book........and try to speed up and try to finish 'm in time........when u r
done with 'm...........u should do CATs from Kaplan, Princeton Review, ARcos (if u can get its CD) and ETS (this is the most imp but have some practice from other cats)
Do as much practice as u can........

I forgot to mention........also subscribe urself to Enhanced Service
(www.gre.org, diagnositcs and enhanced service) it will also be good......4u.

Exam Day tips.......1. don't get nervous
2. Don't to egotistic.......and say i'll do this question no matter how
much time will it take......it will kill ur time and score......
3....don't spend more than 4 mins on 1 question except for the first
question of the puzzle as it requires u to write down the conditions
too.......
4... keep track of time.........but don't rush.......keep ur cool.....and
don't worry if u leave 2-3 questions in the end.........if u have done about
28 questions correctly u'll get about 780-790

My Strategy.......i didn't give much priority to logical questions in terms
of time.......and did'nt give them more than 3.5 mins...........usually less
than 2.5.........no matter how hard they are.......as they don't matter much in ur score.....and wastes most of ur time...........but.......u atleast
have to get some right.........to get a high score........Give priority to
games...........if u have to decide.......btw logical questions or
games.......
Quantative section.......
28 questions........
45 mins......

this section is not much different from SAT.........except that u can get
questions from probability, standard deviation......do these topics
esp........
the diagram questions..........are hard.........esp if u r to get high
marks.........and its difficult to prepare for them...........i guess the
enhanced service and ETS will be the best source.........for these......
I did review from ARCO....but to be on safer side.......u should also c
barrons..........and then u can attempt some sections from BIG book but they r quite ez........but remember to attempt all the quantative exams from CDs...........

Verbal........
30 questions...........
30 mins..........

Vocabulary is most imp..............
if u have a gr8 vocabulary its gr8.........but u can polish that by craming
all the remaining words from Barrons list........that will
help.......u.........doing big book exams...........is real help.............do as much as u can...........also do the CATs....from all the CDs........

thnx, it will help insha allah, i'm planning for GRE CS after my graduation
n specially for the site u mentioned, worth browsing

Wow! these are pretty good tips. Thank a lot Irem. :)

~Wasim

Irem and other guppies...

some of this info is older yaar...
GRE pattern is changed, i can say becuz main 15th december ko new format main de raha hoon :(..
pray for me, and you can contact me for all other info or maybe in a day or two i will paste some info here...
i have lots of lots of info on both General and Subject (masha'allah)...

I hope this info helps me in getting good marks :( this verbal section certainly can cause some neck-pains ,,,

old ho saktee hay info but worth reading, jinko koi bhee idea na ho unkay liye to hay
aur saby u plz past what u know abt gre, specially CS one ok
n best wishes for ur exam
hope u'll pass it, insha allah

*Originally posted by Aceones!: *
old ho saktee hay info but worth reading, jinko koi bhee idea na ho unkay liye to hay
aur saby u plz past what u know abt gre, specially CS one ok
n best wishes for ur exam
hope u'll pass it, insha allah

yeh the info was even helpful to me in some aspects :)
sure i will paste metrail and links here!