Gre & Gpa

to what extent can a good GRE score compensate for a low GPA from a good university?

It depends on the university that you are applying to.
additional factors would be if the low GPA is in your major courses, if the low gpa is due to grades in freshman or sophomore years etc.

but a low gpa- high gre combo is almost always better than a low gpa low gre combo.

depending on the program, extra curriculars, references, experience, publications, research, interviews, essays are a critical part of the process as well.

details..

Programs applying to: Mathematical Finance, Theoretical Math, Actuarial Sciences

Universities attended: Top 5 and Top 20 (graduating from the latter)

Universities applying to: Second Tier (above average)

hm.. sorry.. might've been able to help had you been applying to a computer science/electrical engineering program.

good luck.

hey bro, do you have to go to grad school right away? why dont you work for some time, work experience counts too when you are applying for grad school and might help you get into a better college...

i'm thinking abt grad school too inshallah but working after undergrad has truly been a great eye opener and teacher...i think it adds volumes to your grad school experience if u enter it with some solid work experience...

kya karoon irem sis, have to do something atleast. Moreover, i am having trouble finding a job, but you are right about working for a while. I haven't applied to any schools this year so the earliest I can join would be next fall I believe. Good luck with your grad school admission, i am sure you will make it to a really good one insha'Allah.

*Originally posted by irem: *
i'm thinking abt grad school too inshallah but working after undergrad has truly been a great eye opener and teacher...i think it adds volumes to your grad school experience if u enter it with some solid work experience...

:I told you so wala smily: :)

Consider work as a way to help you get in as well as help you be more in tune with what you really want to do in the future. Also if you have one average reference letter have you consider getting a third reference letter from someone who may be more strongly positive about you to replace it?

Heretic thanks bro :slight_smile: I know, the job situation is kinda sketchy right now in the us…but you can always work in pakistan…you have one yr OPT na? inshalah u’ll be able to find a job..have u networked with local muslims/pakistanis?
btw, i also missed the deadlines this yr :confused: gotta apply next yr inshallah but abhee confirm naheen hae k aply karoon gi ya nai
best of luck 2 u
and oh, forgot to say, congrats on the amazing gre score mashallah :k:

hmcq yeah bro :slight_smile: