Gravestone

aoa guppies!

can anyone give me ideas of something special to write on the gravestone of a loved one?

e.g amina, aged 3, slept forever on 2nd sept 2009, etc
loved and missed by all the family, forever in our hearts etc

verses from the Qur’an?
sayings?
inscriptions?
Islamic Inscriptions?

need ideas please. :slight_smile:

Re: Gravestone

God :(
May allah give peace to family.

whatever you do please NO verses from the Qur’an? ... its just like Page from quran on the road.

just name and age should do ....

kuch likhney kee kya zaroorat hai, jahan sey aaye thay wahin waapis, i personally do not believe in gravestones, may be because i was brought up in ARABS and over there they dont let you put a gravestone and their reasoning behind that is why do you want to put a marker of you loved ones place of burial when you cherish their memories and be happy.

amina, aged 3, slept forever on 2nd sept 2009, etc

Please tell me that you just said that as an example ..:(

^ :(

sigh...

Not sure about the example, but it surely seems major.

Oh god :(

:(

The use of Quranic verses, gravestones or special markers is hugely discouraged in Islam. Let me try to find a better source of info.

^ Agree.

Sorry to hear about it.

Writing ayats on gravestones is disrespectful and we should avoid it. Normally just the name and age/date of passing away is enough.

And I really hope what you wrote was just an example.

nope. she was my 2nd cousin and everyone's little princess.

the graveyard little one is buried in has rules etc. they ask for some sort of marking to identify the grave. even a small gravestone. for the moment they have put her name there with grave number, age number and date of death.

her mum and i are like best friends and she is asking me for ideas of what to write. she wants me to suggest something. anything. its so difficult. everyone keeps telling her islam doesn't allow it...but she is broken since daughter died. she says she wants a gravestone and it is graveyard rules to have one.

babies go to paradise, iA. in islam, its NOT encouraged at all to have a even a permanent grave. in some graveyards in india its the policy to re-cycle every 10 years. let the nishaan vanish. kam se kam "qabr-parastii" to is taraH nahiiN hogii...i mean shirk bhii to nahiiN hogaa

the grave yard little one is buried in has graves dated back to 1700!! what i mean to say is here in london graveyards are permanent.

islam aside, we don't want to fight with the law. nor can we. we live here so we have to go with their rules too. and the parents are okay with that. we just want to bring peace of mind to the parents. graveyard rules requires all graves to have headstone so we need to get a headstone with something special on it.

again if anyone has any ideas what to write however simple would be great help.

same post! opps!

Did she have a favorite children's book? maybe a quote from that?

In that case, keep it simple and i guess the example you gave is sufficient, i did not give my comment based on Islam but as what i knew, however i am really sorry for your friends loss and May Allah give both parents and siblings sabar, Aameen.

i understand that Iyla. but, i thought in london there are so manyyyyyyyyy "ALL MUSLIM" graveyards or portions of within a christian cemetaries...isn't it?**

there are. but you can't just get buried in any graveyard. so many rules here! it has to be within your borough. if you wish to get buried outside your borough then you have to get special permission etc. amina's parents wanted amina to be buried outside the borough where her grandparents were buried but local authority declined with excuses. appeal takes long and fam didn't want to prolong the funeral.

anyway the graveyard have a seperate place for muslims but rules still say you need a gravestone.

thats actually really sweet. will ask her mom.