Grandparents are the soul of every family, I cannot see a family without any of them. Are/were you close to any of your grandparents? Which grandparent are you close to? Why? Describe the bond.Do you wish if you got to know him/her better (if s/he is dead)?
Re: Grand Parents
i've spent amzing time with my grandparents back in pakistan..my mother came to canada first and then she sponsored us here in canada. We used to live with our grandparents... what a time we had.. both died though, my granda pa died in norway like 4 years ago and my granda died last month.. i just wish those old times comes back....sighs.. i miss both of them a lot !.. i used to play chess with my grandpa... he was amazing at that.. but just to make me happy he used to loose....and i loveddddd him for that... what a great personality. May Allah allow me to be like them. Aamin.
My Father's father was an inspiration for me in many ways. I have seen very less people in my life who are so pious and dedicated. He died in my teenage. If he were still around I would have asked him alot of questions about his life.
My father's mother died a along time before my birth.
My mother's father was also a nice man but I was not very much attached to him.
May Allah bless their souls, make their grave jannat for them and give them a place in Jannat-ul-firdos. Ameen!
The only one alive is my mother's mother and she is mashAllah very close to me. Whenever I go to Pak I spend alot of time with her. May Allah bless her with a long and beautiful life.
grandparents in many ways are a blessing from God just like your parents. I spent most of my childhood with my dadi dada and the amount of things you can learn from them are endless. They both passed away just in the last three years and nothing can fill the great loss. Now, to visit Pakistan without them being their in that house is a scary thought.
I never got to meet my dada and nana. They both died before I was born.
I have had some good moments with my nani when we visited Pakistan. She was one of the softest person I have known!
My dadi was always more strict, and cuz of family issues I dont have contact with her anymore. feel like an outcast when it comes to family in Pakistan....
I wish I could have a close relationship with my grandparents and wherever I meet old people I treat them the way I would treat if my grandtparents were around.
I couldn't see my maternal grandfather and paternal grandmother as they passed away before my birth, my paternal grandmother passed away when my father was only ten years old...my maternal grandmother passed away when I was only a year old...so I met only my paternal grandfather, but he too passed away when I was 14 years old, and since we were always on the move because of my father's postings, we didn't spend a lot of time with him either...so I, unfortunately, didn't have a real relationship with my grandparents...:(
But I have heard SO much about my maternal grandfather that I would love to see him in Jannat, inshaAllah :), and when people talk about their Nanis, Daadis, I DO feel a void...as I never got to know what it is like to have a Nani or Daadi...:(
i had this AMAZING and the most BEAUTIFUL relationship with my Dado(my grandmother)...my nana abu died before my ammis shaadi and my nano died when i was only 3 year old...my grandfather (dada) was a very serious and reserved and a very strict person...my dado was everything for me...i loved her so much...she died 3 years ago while we were here in US. She was so friendly and she loved me the most...she used to bring sounf for me every time she visited us...She used to watch movies with us,,,she just loved wretling WWF... and her commentary was hilarious...She used protect me from everybody and she spoiled me alot...she always gave me what i wanted....I was so close to her that when we were moving out of her house i was 7 years old and i just couldn't bear the separation and i was sick for many days...she used to visit me everyday....She always said k mein unki ladli poti hon....
She was my everything to me...I miss her so much...I only wished my husband could have met her cuz i know she would have loved him alot...
Allah miyan unhein janat mein jagah dey...Aameen.
most of my childhood was spent with my naani. i think i knew her more than my mom at the time. i was alwayssss with her, its hard to blv that i was so close to her now that she is gone:(
slwoly ill prolly forget a lot of the memoriess but i can always remember she was like a mother :(
i only hv one regret that i cudnt go to see her oncee b4 she passed away in pak :(
Unfortunately I never met my Daada nor did I meet my Naani, because both of them had passed away many years before I was born.
I did meet my Naana a couple of times during trips to Pakistan, but that were just visits of a few days until he passed away in 2002.
I did however have the pleasure of spending quite a lot of time with my Daadi, because I wouldn't only meet her in Pakistan, but she would also come to Austria every now and then to stay at our place there. At my wedding she was very, very happy not only because she was happy for me, but also because it gave her the opportunity to meet a lot of relatives after a very long time. However that was the last time I saw her, because she passed away 2 months later.
I have been lucky enough to be blessed by the love of both sets of grandparents until 2 yrs ago when my Dadaji passed away. My beautiful Dadi is the absolute love of my life. I have been more close to her than I have been even with Mum. Dadi has been there helping me grow form a little child to a young woman. Much of my thought process, my outlook to life has been influenced by her and everyone knows Im her favourite grandchild- no mean feat when u have about 50 odds to compete with!! :)
This year Dadi turned 85. She has become so frail and unwell and enjoys us reading to her from urdu books. I just love her like crazy. May Allah bless her with better health. To me she will always be the most beautiful woman on earth. **
**Thank you for opening this thread and letting me talk about her.
if my nani were alive today, i know she'd be my everything. my dada and nani passed away when i was 5-6
my daadi hates us and my nana, well he's more like a teenage friend than a nana abbu love him mash'Allah :)
atleast its confirmed, its a family trait.
Grand parents are a pain, at least mine are.
If thats how you think phir you are missing the most precious relationship. :(
absoultely, without grand parents there is no joy in childhood and even adulthood.
being attached to one's parents' parents is in fact sometimes a lot more comforting and secure because through them, parents can understand the needs of their child.
controlling for spoiling or ruining proper up-bringing-kind-of-grand-parents, or those who meddle on purpose, to menace with the family life of their children's family life, grand parents are a blessing to have around children.
the time is not on one's side sometimes, when grand parents are isolated and their life is short. before it is too late, best wishes for repairing the relationship. :)
Dushwari
Grand parents are a pain, at least mine are.
Let us realize the value of this beautiful blessing of Allah before it is too late.
I have seen people crying tears of blood, wishing to get them back so they may utilize the great opportunity of gaining heaven, by serving them, but times doesn't come back.
my dada passed away wen I was younger and my dadi... she lives with us but she's always complaining, but oh well, like my mum says gptta respect ur elders. My nana and nani are in pakistan so i only get to see them once evry 3 years but they are a real laugh wen we do go to pakistan