Graduation

7 Things That Will Definitely Happen at Your Graduation](http://www.holytaco.com/7-things-will-definitely-happen-your-graduation)

1. One of Your Relatives Will Say Something Racist, Then Make an Apology That’s Even More Racist.

2. Someone in the Crowd Will Have a Dumbass Sign

3. You Will Be Annoyed By Drunken Graduate Sorority Girls

4. Someone You Don’t Really Know Will Introduce You To Their Parents :hehe:

5. There Will Be A Large Applause for a Graduate with disability

6. Someone On a Cell Phone Will Try to Tell Someone Else Where They Are

7. The Keynote Speaker Will Make a Horrible Analogy

7 Things That Will Definitely Happen at Your Graduation

what you people think? how much of this is true?

P.S - Sara516, as a recent graduate please share your graduation ceremony experience here. :smiley:

Good observations :hehe:

I’d like to add one more:

Some industry person will receive an honorary degree and you’ll wonder what they did to deserve it while you were spending all nighters working your a$$ off.

They deserve it because they were spending all nighters and all dayers ( I just made this word up) working their a$$ off to be successful at real life.
Climbing corporate ladder , starting a new business and being a successful entrepreneur , inventing/innovating something , being a leader, having passion to achieve something and achieve it is not easy. It also takes many , many all nighters and many many all dayers.

P. S : I must add. Coming up with explanation of unexplained , writing a/many best seller/s , investigating and breaking news story etc , etc takes sweat and blood.

LC, that’s not fair. They get honorary degree’s because of their contributions or money towards certain dean sponsored projects .. :wink:

Highlighted in blue is not actually a word we use these days. In fact, it is highly offensive. Some might say its the same as using the word ‘paki’ which as you well know lots of people get their knickers in a twist over. I am getting my knickers in a twist over you using this word.

Please may you change it to something that sounds a little more politically correct, e.g Person with disability, Disabled person, Person is not as able as others.

Thank you.

p.s even if you googled it, it still counts.

:eek: Aw thank u :blush:

It was definitely crowded, everyone calling to look for thier guests… No drunken sorority girls, no dumb signs, no racist jokes from a family member (though if any of my family members had been there…maybe :hehe: ), noone introduced me to their family.

Speeches were not so bad actually, I enjoyed hte ones I didn’t sleep through, I just wish I had had a notepad and pen to jot down a few importnat points.

Our main speaker was the Secretary of Labor, and the best part of her speech was her recount of an experience with her high school counselor who said that she’s not college material and should become a secretary like her sister. She paused, and said.> “I never knew a title could be so important.” :smiley:

It was awkward hearing our President refer to Twitter and facebook.

Because you are married. !

Congratulations, :k:

I have my graduation ceremony next month. I have no idea what to expect.

Re: Graduation

sara, u graduated from high school?

Nahi... kg se

acha

I have no idea whether/why that word is offensive. But I've changed it anyway, if that makes any difference. :)

Mirch bhai... I'm not doubting the merit of their deserving the degree... and having worked in the industry, I appreciate the differences between the academic and industry realms.

My comment above was from the perspective of a new graduate who's just coming out of their program... having worked hard to achieve what they have... and in that short moment when they hear about an honorary degree... not having had the chance to work extensively in the industy themselves, they often ask the question whether it was all worth it.

Hope you get my point.

Makes a huge difference. Thank you!

Some light reading for you.

BBC NEWS | Magazine | Don’t call me handicapped!

what do the bolded parts and my being married have to do with anything? :confused:

Thanks tho :smiley:

Sure things that happens in most places. I'm really frightened being in such situations. Anyway, nothing like that ever happened in my life until now. I hope it would go the same.

Haha.

and congrats!! Good stuff.