Govt presses Swiss court case against Zardari

There seemed to be a conflict between Zardari and Mush. Mush is black mailing him so that he joins hands with Mush. This is not going to happen. Further, in view of new government taking over soon, can present purely temporary government initiate such action?

http://www.dawn.com/2008/02/20/welcome.htm

Govt presses Swiss court case against Zardari GENEVA, Feb 20 (Reuters): Lawyers representing Pakistan urged a Swiss court on Wednesday to prosecute Asif Zardari, the widower of slain opposition leader Benazir Bhutto, accused of stashing 60 million Swiss francs ($55 million) in the country. At a hearing, Swiss lawyers for Pakistan argued that money-laundering charges against Zardari should proceed in Geneva in spite of an amnesty signed by Musharraf last year erasing graft charges against the couple. Pakistan’s Supreme Court has not yet ruled on the constitutionality of that amnesty. Swiss lawyers representing the state said the decision was expected in “a few weeks”. “This dossier is a bomb for Zardari,” Pakistan’s Swiss lawyer Dominique Henchoz told the Geneva court. “His name appears on each page as the beneficial owner of offshore companies. Some 60 million Swiss francs have been frozen (in Geneva accounts),” she said. The three-judge court in Geneva, announced at the end of the 90-minute hearing that it would rule soon on whether to send the case to the prosecutor for trial, or back to a magistrate for more work. Bhutto and Zardari always denied the charges. (Posted @ 19:25 PST)

Re: Govt presses Swiss court case against Zardari

:rotfl: rassi jal gayee par bal nahi gaya

Now pro Mush people will come here claiming that its the right thing to do :hehe:

Well, jis nay chori kee hay ussay saza zaroor milni chahyia. Pressing cases especially in Swiss courts is not victimisation, as Swiss courts are fair and do not have corrupt judges like Iftikhar. If Zardari is innocent then he should not worry as Iftikhar who was worried about investigation by SJC. I am sure that if Zardari is innocent, he would not become innocent victim if charges are pressed.

and where was Mushy when he was making alliances with Benazir? Why did he have not balls then to press these charges?

aa jatay hayn pata nahi kahan kahan se uth ke

Well, I do admit that Musharraf is stupidly innocent that he should not be.:)

Waisay ... to me, what I can see is, pata nahi kahan kahan say yea corrupt loog aa jatay hain to influence others with their lies.

Agreed. But what about killers and murderers ruling Karachi and Don of London who live on butta and extortion money from Karachi, about 50 cases of murderes against him. Sub se pehlay to qatloon ko saza milini chahia. Ya un ke saray gunah muaf hain!!!

Killer and murderer of Karachi like Ayub Khan, Bhutto, Baber ... what about them?

As for Don of London, you should respect him as his voters contribute most tax in to Pakistan National tax collection. What you think, his voters could not support him? Question should be, how ganja of Lahore and daku of Thar and their thug supporters afford luxury life in Western expensive Countries?

:rotfl: yes sure. All the tax-money is generated because of MQM, if MQM were not born Karachi/Sindh/Pakistan would be bankrupt today.

Can you be consistent “somewhere” for a change? If you can ask people to respect leader of a killer, dacu, corrupt party then shouldn’t you be offering same to other parties? Or is it just one-way street?

Why are we playing "Who's yo daddy" when it comes to a line-up of chors and kaatils?

I think this is an excellent action by Musharraf, in fact, so excellent that he should have done this BEFORE making any deals with Benazir or even allowing her husband back into the country.

Well, MQM was born because Karachi was exploited and parties that people of Karachi voted (initially PML, than JI and JUP, later PPP), none cared for people of Karachi, so MQM was born so that it can represent people of Karachi. It is not that Karachi is because of MQM but it is that MQM is because of Karachi and situation that existed in Karachi when MQM was born.

Well, I am consistent. I am showing disrespect to those people who represented Pakistan and thus me, then looted and plundered the country (as my representative too … because regardless of one gives someone vote or not, once head of state, they represent all in the state]

As for Altaf, he is not member of Pakistani parliament, neither MQM ever ruled Pakistan on their own, and thus they do not represent people many of whom call him and his party, daku or whatever.

If MQM starts getting votes and seats from all over Pakistan, than form government and than start looting and plundering, killing or doing whatever crime as their representative, then it would be fair for anyone from Pakistan to say whatever they like about them, not when they do not even represent them directly.

For instance, there was MMA government in NWFP but I do not say anything about them as they do not represent me. Taliban and their influence affect all of Pakistan and thus it effect where I live, so I say things about them. When you say anything about Musharraf you have that right as he head Pakistan and thus represent all Pakistanis, but if I start calling Shahbaz bad because he was ruling Punjab, that would be unfair of me as I am from Karachi-Sindh (even though I have some connections in Punjab too).

Prosecuting alleged criminals is just fine, but the timing of this move reeks of desperation.

Govt had some kind of "deal" with PPP, under which BB came back and all the cases were sent into abyss. Now that after election, Zardari is in the position of king-maker, and there are talks of joining with Nawaz Sharif's party, suddenly the government asks Swiss to restart persecuting the cases. Sheesh!

I have no love lost for Zardari. I think the dude is a huge liability to any political party, and is a corrupt and useless person. However, right after elections, when his party has secured the most votes, the timing of this move is a sign of desperation and blackmail. Everyone knows that Mushy wants PPP to form government with PML-Q, and this is Mushy's way of twisting PPP's arm.

More over, this move is so blantant that it lost any impact it could have if the cases had come to this point in their natural course. Now, even if Zardari wanted to make a coalition with PML-Q, this move by the government has put him in an impossible position. This off-again on-again persecution is again a sign of Banana Republic :D

It takes really a shameless person to ask people to respect Altaf Hussein because Karachi generates a big chunk of Pakistan’s revenues. Altaf Hussein has destroyed Karachi by sending many many industries out of Karachi (and its suburbs) in 90s by violence against other ethnicities.

Altaf Hussein has isolated Mohajirs from other ethnicities.

Karachi’s revenue has no “benefit” because of MQM therefore to ask respecting of MQM because of revenue is just ridiculous.

Karachi is still being exploited. MQM rose by playing the “evil-quota-system” card, guess what, MQM was part of the govt which extended the very same Quota for another 20 years :k:

Along same lines, MQM represented “Karachi” people but only worked against them, bhatta-khori, handing over guns to teenagers, killing of other ethnicities who were not even “political” and what not.

Whether Altaf is member of Pakistan or not, he heads a party which has been party of Pakistan govt, hence the connection.

^ dude, the guy told you MQM supporters generate the most revenue. Is there any point arguing about this? Its obvious he heard that over phone from Altaf the Terrorist. So damn the fact that mqm doesn't even represent 5% of Pakistan's population, damn logic, damn common sense, damn everything sane.

Islamist terrorists arent the only delusional morons we have in our country. I put these guys right on top next to'em.

Mashallah justice will prevail one day or another and we will see Musharraf at military tribune for ordering the killings of innocents like on 12th May. :jhanda:

The chief of kaatil is asking for justice. Not bad.

Why did mushy's government ended up withdrawing cases against Bb and zardari last year? Why this sudden change?

Nice step! But late...wonder if anything at all will happen now.

But what of the nation which has re-invited the demons of yore merely to rid of the alleged demons of the day.

Whether this govt punished, reconciled or forgave, what do the 'people' do...?
Sleep on election day, take a weekend trip to the ME, have family/friends gatherings for brunch or get high on ecstasy or some pills stirring hyper-amnesic brain (in)activity?