Got a new pet.... "puppy"

yes i got a dog recently.
“haram jaanwar paal lia?” , “farishtay nahi aaingay tumaray ghar”
those are the comments i’m getting from all the uncles who love to butt into other pplz livez.

can someone with some references tell me what islam says about dogs as pets?

i do not wana give my research and findings as to what islam/quran says because more than likely people are gona consider it a bias

Re: Got a new pet.... "puppy"

Hadhrat Abu Talha (Radhiyallaahu Ánhu) reports that Rasulullah (Sallallaaahu Álayhi Wasallam) said, "Angels do not enter a house wherein there is a dog or an animate picture. (Sahih Bukhari Hadith no. 2986)

Hadhrat Ibn Abbas (Radhiyallaahu Ánhuma) reports from Hadhrat Maimoona (Radhiyallaahu Ánha) that once Rasulullah (Sallallaaahu Álayhi Wasallam) became sad; and said that Jibra'eel (Álayhis Salaam) promised to meet him at night but did not turn up. "By Allah what has kept him back," said the Prophet (Sallallaaahu Álayhi Wasallam). Then he realised a puppy was under his bed. He ordered that the puppy be removed and the area be sprinkled with water. In the afternoon when Jibra'eel (Álayhi Salaam) came, Rasulullah (Sallallaaahu Álayhi Wasallam) enquired as to the delay. Jibra'eel (Álayhi Salaam) said that we, the group of Angels do not enter a house wherein there is a dog or pictures. (Sahih Muslim Hadith no.3928)

In the light of these Ahaadith and other narrations it is not permissible to keep dogs as pets. The household is deprived of the Mercy of Allah Taãla.

However, Jurists have stated that it is permissible to keep a dog for security purposes, farming and hunting.

The saliva of a dog is Najis (impure). if it touches the clothes or body, that portion also becomes impure and must be washed.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Muhammad Kadwa
FATWA DEPT.

CHECKED AND APPROVED: Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Abu Hurayra (Radhiallaahu Anhu) was a Sahaabi of Rasulullah (Sallallaahu Alayhi Wasallam). The name ‘Abu Hurayra’ means ‘Father of a kitten’. This title was given to him by Rasulullah (Sallallaahu Alayhi Wasallam) himself as he was fond of his kitten pet.

It was a common feature to have cats in the house of Rasulullah (Sallallaahu Alayhi Wasallam) and the Sahaaba (Radhiallaahu Anhum). It is permissible to have cats as pets and for them to be in the house. It is obvious one has to take care of any pet and also ensure that they do not carry any disease in them.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

*Dogs are wonderful creatures of God. They bond with humans, protect them and serve them and that has been true almost since God placed man on earth. Does it make sense then that Muhammed (or any messenger of God) would place prohibitions on these loving creatures when God does not ? *

How do we know that Muslims are not forbidden to be around dogs? We look at God's word, at the Quran. In the story of the men of the cave in Sura 18, it becomes clear that God sees dogs as part of men's lives. **
*18:18 *"You would think that they were awake, when they were in fact asleep. We turned them to the right side and the left side, while their dog stretched his arms in their midst." *
Hadith tells us that angels won't enter a room where there is a dog. That means that for 309 years that the sleepers were in the cave, no angel ever entered. Yet God says "We turned them...." The use of "we" clearly indicates the participation of angels. There is absolutely no reason to mention the dog as part of this story, except to make it clear to future generation that dogs are permitted to live among people, right "in their midst." And 18:22 clearly shows that the dog was counted right along with the believers. *

**"Some would say, they were three; their dog being the fourth, while others would say, Five; the sixth being their dog, as they guessed. Others said, seven, and the eighth was their dog. Say, My Lord is the best knower of their number. Therefore, do not argue with them; just go along with them. You need not consult anyone about this." **

Dogs have always participated in the sporting world, as the Quran attests in 5:4 **"They consult you concerning what is lawful for them; say, Lawful for you are all good things, including what trained dogs and falcons catch for you. You train them according God's teachings. You may eat what they catch for you, and mention God's name thereupon. You shall observe God. God is most efficient in reckoning." **
**The heavens and the earth are full of proofs for the believers. Also in your creation, and the creation of all the animals, there are proofs for people who are certain." (45:3-4) **
**"Among His proofs is the creation of the heavens and the earth, and the creatures He spreads in them. He is able to summon them, when He wills." (42:29)* *

Imran, Quran also TALKS ABOUT and MENTIONS pig, zina, etc. does that mea its okay to do eat pig and perform zina?

Oh yeah, NEWSFLASH, Dogs are creature of the God as well... lol!

The QUESTION here is if as Muslims we are allowed to have DOGS as PETS? NOT to protect livestock or for protection of the house but as PETS?

Allah mention in Quran Pig r haram we cant eat them.Dogs r Wonderful creature thts why allah has mention in Quran tht their Dog was protecting them in cave.

Dont bother with hadees rejector. They also intrepret the Quran for their personal desires and whims.

We do use our Aqal o shoor and u r blind followers of ur man made prophets:D

I think Imran did show that quran's statements about dogs are much more relaxed than the hadeeth.

Astagfirullah, make Allah save us from deviants like you.

That's why you're not supposed to keep a dog as a pet, unless you are using the dog for guarding your home property from thieves etc. In other words, protection. And you can't let them everywhere in the house. They are usually left outside, or garage, any sort of place where they don't walk around all over the house.

Man made prophets? Who? Aqal o shoor sahi taraf use karo to acha lagta hai... whats "AQAL" in showing verses in quran that MENTION the word DOG? It has no relations to keeping a DOG as PET or for PROTECTION... it merely *mentions *it!

You're allowed to use them as Guard dogs. Infact, even in Karachi they have that...

thanks for all the input guys, this thread was meant to be informative but i see people are taking it way to personal. thanks for all ur input.
its weird to see people picking some hadees over the quran. but again we have all have our own views.. alot of our answers are "forced" upon us by the way we were raised. if u've been raised with ur rents telling u dogs are najis, dogs are not to be kept as pets - then its really hard to look at the other side of the story..

i contacted the imam at the local masjid, and he had the same views of imranjaff, the imam is arab.

the reason i mention that the imam is arab, is because this whole idea of "dogs being najis" seem to come from the subcontinent - but thats from my experience

How could dogs possibly prevent angels from entering the home when dogs themselves are angels with fur coats?

Besides, everyone knows that All Good Dogs Go to Heaven.

** ARE DOGS NAJIS (UNCLEAN)?
There is hardly an area which the IMAMISM has left unscathed.
01. The Qur'an does NOT condemn any of God's creation and dog is no exception. Surah 18 in fact portrays a dog as a wonderful companion of some outstanding believers in refuge. 02. The Book condemns nothing but certain human attitudes. 03. It is interesting to note that while the Old Testament goes on to state that you shall not touch the carcass of the swine the Qur'an limits its prohibition to eating the swineflesh. 04. The Hadith literature has some extremely humane examples such as:

1. All creation is the family of God, so you shall be kind to them all.
  2. There is great reward for you in the kind treatment of any animal.
  3. A man was awarded paradise because he watered a thirsty dog.
  4. A woman deserved hell because she used to torture a cat. Now The Fabricated Ahadith Could the Prophet (S) have said this?
    1. The Prophet (S) ordered all dogs to be killed. 02. The exalted Prophet ordered all black dogs to be killed. 03. If you are praying and a donkey, a woman or a dog passes in front, the prayer is nullified. 04. Angels of mercy do not enter a home wherein there is a dog. 05. The crow, rat, scorpion, eagle, a biting dog are all "sinful" animals! Kill them even around the Masjid of Security in Makkah.

Prophet came from Allah they are certainly not human made and all sects are agree on that except ‘Ahamadis’ Mirza was human made prophet. We are not following Ahamadi religion here.

Well i m talking abouts imams dear see people do respect their literature more than Umool kitab(Quran)

Lets see if you say that next time you clean up a large pile of poop.

Lets not get emotional, who cleans (human) baby poops? Though I disagree with Seminole's notion of dogs and angels but this point of yours is not a valid argument.

Seminole: Did you find 'dog is angel' in any religious script?