Google Operating System

[link]http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=21553[/link]

One of Microsoft’s key Windows architects has defected to Google.
Could this be a new hope for all disgruntled M$ users?

Re: Google Operating System

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=21553

yes … there are many people talking about it … an authentic blog that I could locate on the topic can be found here:

“Mark Lucovsky, a former Microsoft distinguished engineer, has quietly abandoned the Redmond ship for one of Microsoft’s archrivals.”

http://www.johnlittle.org/2005/02/google-os.html

The Google OS [continued]
http://www.johnlittle.org/2005/03/google-os-continued.html

And a bit more ‘into-the-future’ and ‘high expectation’ type of article here:

wow..
hmm...

waise...i think they shud take care of gmail first (make it official or decide to let it stay as beta limited version) before launching the OS if they do

i'd be curious to see what the OS looks like tho...dayum...! excited :D

considering how Google always tries to outdo whatever is already there, i think they will combine the features of stability (linux) and nice GUI and user friendliness (Windows).....thats gona be heaven for users :D

^ I think gmail is in the final stages of testing ... I received an official invitation to join gmail so I'm assuming its about to be released sometime soon.

"I received an official invitation to join gmail"

hmm...kya matlab nos? plz provide more details?

waise abt the OS, ppl shud make a list of features in their ideal dream OS and send it to google :D

^ I signed up at their website for an alert to be sent to me. This is when gmail was new and you could only get an account via an invitation. Back then, they had this option to sign up for an alert when gmail is mature and ready to be released.

*dang .. I can't express what's on my mind.

oh acha..i think i get u nos…
hmm…so do u think all other beta gmail a/c’s will automatically mature into the “official” ones? that’s gona be cool :smooth:
i have like 50 invites right now aur samaj nai aa rai kya karoon :hehe: chaiye hon toh batana

^ I’ve got 99 invitations … chahyai houn tou batana :yawn:

I HOPE they don’t wipe out our accounts n’ start new cause I’ve got loads of stuff in my account … its more like my official email and online storage

*bored hun?

99??? wow :hehe:

yeah i hope so too coz my gmail a/c is also storage space :smack:

ps. bored toh nai…more like procrastinatnig…kaam karna hae woh bas shuru nai kya ja raha :smiley: what abt u?

:smack: yaar … itnee oukhee ungraizee na boula kerou mairay sath

*oukhee = difficult

I’m just boring myself … n’ giving my laptop some company … planning to go to sleep in a while :yawn:

giving laptop company? boht azeem kaam ho rahy haen mashallah :smiley:

and come on… :smack: ab toh kuch parh likh lo… :stuck_out_tongue: tsk PROCRASTINATING ka matlab bhee nai aata :smiley: it means delaying

what time is it there? its 4:43am here and i am NOT planning to sleep…[lekin i know i will end up not doing any work today and go to sleep aise hi fajar kee azaan ke baad as usual :hehe: ]

aur…parhai waghera theek thaak chal rai hae?

it could be that they (google) need an os for their own servers. it was however sad to know they fired one of their employes for disclosing too much on his blog- we lost a good source of info :(.

lunaticCalm btw i apologise for flooding in your thread !!!

hmmm yes they shouldn’t have fired him, but didn’t he know it was sensitive info that he shouldn’t have disclosed? :bummer:

Google OS is not an operating sytem in competiton to Windows or Linux..

I did some research back in my OS class on this topic and its quite interesting.. Google search engine is an OS.. its a whole filesystem written by OS experts to make the google search better and faster...

I will post my research paper here if anyone wants.. its very interesting file system that enables google to manage huge data effectively and provide better search results..

A simple example of this OS functionality will be "expression solver" which is an application that google developed

so go to google.com and type: 5 * 4343 * log(2) and google os will solve it for you :)

Mainly its for managing huge network and database that google has and to provide fast search results :)

PS: that's what my research taught me.. it will be interesting if it was something else :) hehe

oh ok i see…interesting :k: and cool

thanks for sharing the info Ansoon

Yeh I know about the google calculator and how google works … just read it last night :halo:

But it could be that they are planning a Network OS or even a desktop OS … who knows? It would certainly be interesting though …