Good things...

Just a few weeks ago, there was a plethora of “Mommy/baby/pregnancy” threads in Life 1. These past days it’s been evil husbands and their evil mothers/fathers/sisters. So in the spirit of Chandbeti’s “Horror stories” thread, people, please post ur stories/opinions/and experiences that make marriage worth the trouble. No, my mind isn’t goign to change one way or another, with horror stories and nice stories, but I think it would be nice to hear the upside of such a huge, scary commitment :k:

Re: Good things…

aaah :blush:

I go up and down in regards to this scary feeling. Right now im terribly excited. The more time i spend with him, I realise that my decision was right. And to know that i’ll be spending the next phase(s) of my life with someone who i adore and love, and who loves me just as much, is simply awesome..

i dont think ive ever been happier…

b/w it really does help to have sweet inlaws

awwwww that is so sweeet :hug:

That’s what appeals to me about marriage… spending a major part of my life with someone whom I care about and cherish and returns the feelings, through lifes ups and downs… and yea ur rite, in-laws make a HUGE difference in how u view the person and ur feelings for the guy..

Re: Good things...

^ yeap :) its special..

umm i dunno if inlaws change the way you feel about the person.. hmm. I think they just help in making life a lil less stressful.

I dunno....

i think that if i saw that his parents were really bad, like they would deff make my life stressful after marriage, then i wudnt wonder about the guy... if he wud help make things easier for me, or make it more stressful...

anyway.. no more in-law bashing :D I wanna hear good things bout in laws, nice stories etc etc

my inlaws are lovely people, Mashallah..

Nice.. :k:

So u going to be living with them in the mideast?
Have these threads about “evil in laws” scared u in any way?

yeah, i'll be staying with them for a bit..

aah na not scared me. I mean you hear and see things like this happening all the time. But, it doesnt mean its gonna happen to you as well. All of us have been making a sincere effort to make one another happy.. like its just really sweet.. and i think thats what makes the difference. Inshallah, it'll stay this way

sarah.....while u notice all the negative threads....n mishaps surrounding these phases....i assure you....there r plenty on the other side too....!!:)

like all other phases in life....birth, marriage , inlaws issues....everything n all the issues have pros n cons....

just like we might have issues with our own parents...siblings....we might have these with hubby/in laws.....there's nothing to be afraid of....if anything u should be afraid of the consequences ur actions might bring to u.....Allah never puts us through what we aren't capable of dealing with.

n yes i'm talking from experience.....married for seven years now!:)
may be i don't have perfect in laws....but i know i myself can't be labelled as perfect....i've lived in joint family......n i've the experience of living seperately too.....i did make mistakes....n i still do.....n same is the case with my parents....n parents in law.......we know we'll live together....n will remain a family inshaAllah no matter what....so just learn to forgive n forget....n you'll be fine!:)

^ an experienced and mature brain speaking, good to see we have some left of GS.

Sara - people post when they need help mostly or want to share a story. You hear mostly the bad because people reach out when they have a hard time handling something.

Marriage is just like any other personal relationship. To keep it going you have to talk, a lot, everyday. The first year is an adjustment period, after that it is comfort, and if you are really lucky bliss.

The key is communication BEFORE marriage. Talk about everything. Talk about each others families, how much you would be seperate or involved in each others family. Talk about goals for the marriage (this was important for me in my second marriage since I could not have any more children), long term plans. This accomplishs three things - draws you closer, allows you to see a more complete person, and allows the two of you to forsee potential problems (and even in great marriages, there are problems).

You have no problems it seems thinking things through and speaking up for yourself. You will be fine. It is healthy to be cautious of something you don't know anything about, but you shouldn't be scared, you'll do great.

LOL kya suney chatey ho hahahahahahaha it is true t hat my mom in law is a witch.
But my daddy in law is sweet :)

No matter what long-term relationship you ever have, there are always ups and downs, good times and bad. In order to most appreciate the good, you need to also know bad. Its how you deal with things together that make the relationship sweet or sour. If your marriage is truly a loving partnership, the good times are always remembered sweetly and the bad times become faded and pale. Experiences, both good and bad, enrich a partner-type relationship. The reverse is true in a "bad" relationship. Its impossible to hang on to the fires of that initial passion....but in a loving partnership, the initial bonfire turns into a lasting flame. I'm speaking in generalities here and that isnt what you asked for but specific stories of happy times dont really answer the question I think.

u r so correct, i wish i was given that chance. talking does help alot

Not all in-laws are bad.

One of my friends is blessed with wonderful in-laws, masha'Allah. She likes her husband's side of the family so much that she has more fun hanging around with them than with her side of the family. :)

I guess I'm lucky in a way, my husband is definitely a momma's boy, but his mother is not here in US. However, he replaced her with my mother.

My mother, one of the strongest, smartest women I know who taught me how to be strong on my own, how to protect myself, the feminist from the 70's when it was dangerous and unpopular to be one.... my MOTHER becomes a limp, giggling, smiling, blushing, ray of sunshine around my husband. My HUSBAND becomes an attentive, charming, servile person who pulls out chairs and holds open doors and passes out comments like "That is a particularly LOVELY blouse you have on" or "You look great today, did you get a trim?".

As much as I complain, I think it is so, God help me for saying this, cute to watch him and her, but it gets tiring after 2 or 3 days. Then I start thinking it is time to break the love fest apart and go home. Even then it is days of my mother calling my house, asking how I am, then wanting to speak to the Man.

As much as I say it was my choice to marry my husband, when I introduced him to my mother it was with the understanding that she had to approve of him. Little did I know this would result.

btw - this was written with humor, I love my mother and love the fact that my husband and her get along so well. Only drawback is I feel left out sometimes :)

EDIT: Wrote this because you asked for nice stories :)

^ its ok minah_pa :)

i feel quite left out when my fiance converses in urdu with my mum.. i feel so so hmm like im an outsider. I wish my urdu was just as good... and when they talk about food.. ive no idea...