Good news, Saeed will play the worldcup:)

Saeed Anwar not being sent to South Africa but likely prospect for World Cup](http://www-pak.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2002/DEC/109685_PAK_19DEC2002.html)

The Pakistan cricket selectors have decided against sending opener Saeed Anwar to South Africa for a two-Test series starting at Durban from December 26 but have almost guaranteed him a place in the World Cup squad. The team management had Wednesday requested for the left-hander arguing that an experienced hand was required on top of the order.

“We (the selectors) deliberated at length and finally reached the conclusion that Saeed Anwar should not be sent to South Africa (for the Test matches) because he has not played any competitive cricket for over two months. We are not sure of his match fitness and form,” the chairman of selectors Wasim Bari said.

Bari added: “We have reasons to believe that pitches for the two-Test series would be difficult and different as to what would be in the World Cup. Instead of taking the risk of sending Saeed now and shattering his confidence, we have decided that since he is now a near certainty for the World Cup, he be allowed to play in the domestic circuit so that he can regain the required form, fitness and confidence.”

Pakistan’s first-class competition, the Quaid-i-Azam Trophy, will commence from December 21 and Saeed will have at least five first-class matches to reclaim his magical touch.

Saeed, who last played a Test against Bangladesh at Multan 16 months ago, has scored 4,052 runs from 55 Tests at 45.53.

“Of course, it has been a hard decision to make and a lot of thought has gone in. But I believe we have taken the right decision that is in the interest of the player, team and the country,” Bari said.

**Bari said it was now clear after the one-dayers in South Africa that, at least, an opener’s slot was available. “Naturally with the experience Saeed has, he is now a near certainty (for the World Cup) and we expect him to avail the opportunity of making the best use of the domestic first-class matches.” **

Allah(SWT) Ka Shukar hai :)

[thumb=A]_38611017_anwar301.JPG[/thumb]

Saeed is a highly experienced batsman :wink:

Saeed Stays at Home

The Pakistan Cricket Board have turned down a request for opening batsman Saeed Anwar to join the squad on tour in South Africa.
Team management wanted the left-hander as an extra batting option for the two Test matches, the first of which starts in Durban on 26 December.

But chief selector Wasim Bari said it was likely Saeed would be part of the squad for the World Cup, which also takes place in South Africa next February.

“Instead of taking the risk of sending Saeed now, we have decided that since he is a near certainty for the World Cup, he plays on the domestic circuit to regain the required form, fitness and confidence,” :wink: Bari explained.

**Pakistan have tried nine different combinations of openers this year without being able to settle on a regular pair. **

**And their batting was a cause for concern during the one-day series, which South Africa won 4-1. ** :mad: :mad: :mad:

Saeed has scored 4,052 runs in 55 Tests, including 11 centuries, and more than 8,600 runs in one-day cricket, but he has accepted the PCB’s decision.

“The fact is that I have not played competitive cricket for a while now, and I would have been under a lot of pressure in the Tests against South Africa without first getting some practice,” :smack: he said.

Pakistan will be without veteran all-rounder Wasim Akram and pace bowler Shoaib Akhtar for the Tests.

Wasim wants to rest ahead of the World Cup, while Shoaib is suffering from a knee injury

Laut k buddhu ghar ko aeey @ Pakistani Selection Comm

Khair

Dair ayed durast ayed

aur ager

Subah ka bhola sham ko ghar a jayee tu usey bhola nahee kehna cheyee

Well let's hope that Saeed can perform well without any chance to warm up which the dumbness of Pak selectors have denied him.

The Game Responds:

*I always knew that Saeed Anwar would be selected; the limited talent of Saleem Elahi was too obvious to not be ignored. People, That Is All.*

Originally posted by the game: *
The Game Responds**:

*I always knew that Saeed Anwar would be selected; the limited talent of Saleem Elahi was too obvious to not be ignored. People, That Is All.* 

Great.

Now, I have gotta backing of The Game on Saeed Anwar. :D

Saleem Elahi is a fine player; and in my defence, he's got to play domestic Cricket alot.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Well let's hope that Saeed can perform well without any chance to warm up which the dumbness of Pak selectors have denied him.

Exactly Xtreme,

I still don't get it why PCB's selection is poor. Idiots.

Re: Good news, Saeed will play the worldcup:)

Bari should be sacked. He has goofed up enough. A selector who can’t see flaws in technique of a player has no business to be the head of the selectors. Saeed Anwar was getting back his form after a long lay off. His last innings of around 50 was very good. He also seemed to work on his weakness of snicking the ball outside the off stump. He should have been played more for him to fully recover his form. Instead that goof Bari dropped him. And particularly when several new comers were selected and tried afor the opening spot, an aexperienced Saeed Anwar was an automatic choice. Bari’s argument that "We have reasons to believe that pitches for the two-Test series would be difficult and different as to what would be in the World Cup. " is as stupid as his decisions. Why should South Africa have differedn pitches when they know that other teams will be at a disadvantage? And to hope that domestic pitches will afford good match practice, is once again being stupid. Look what our prolific scorers on home pitches have done. Bari should be sacked before he does more damage.

finallyyy!!!!!!!
yes!!!!

Khuda kay wastay koi to Pakistan kay Top Order ko yeh sikha day kay how to play on off on bouny tracks :frusty2:

players like kamran, Salim, Younis Khan, Razzaq and even Youhana ( a man who was greeted by Clive Llyod one morning on the Zim. tour as “Good morning Mr. Bradman” ) go fishing outside the offstump just to be caught in the slip cordon …

I think the difference between the series of Zim and SA is Zim. dropped catches but SA didn’t and they also won’t in Test Series :frowning:

:ahaa: If Pak want to win the WC then give the Waugh bros. pakistani Citizenship and let Steve lead :rotfl: :rotfl: :mudhosh:

CONVICTIONS are a greater threat to the TRUTH than LIES

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *

Great.

Now, I have gotta backing of The Game on Saeed Anwar. :D

Saleem Elahi is a fine player; and in my defence, he's got to play domestic Cricket alot.

The Game Responds:

*No, my friend, Saleem Elahi is not a fine player. He is a shmucky little flat-track bully :) . The only way I can see him do well is if he signs up with some county or something similar to that. Hope you see what The People's ARTIST is painting here. People, That Is All.*

Saeed is only a molvi now.. he should stay in masjids.

*Originally posted by the game: *

The Game Responds:

*No, my friend, Saleem Elahi is not a fine player. He is a shmucky little flat-track bully :) . The only way I can see him do well is if he signs up with some county or something similar to that. Hope you see what The People's ARTIST is painting here. People, That Is All.* 

Yaar Game,

You're painting a fine picture here but let me add some colors.

Before Elahi goes to country, he needs to play Domestic Cricket in Pakistan. That's how he could catch up pace.

Great news. I hope he doesnt end up like Miandad in WC 96 and Saleem Malik in WC 99.

*Originally posted by wake_up_dead: *
Saeed is only a molvi now.. he should stay in masjids.

Hey, if the guy has a beard, does that mean he cannot play cricket? It is his personal matter, so leave it to him. Comment on his game if u want to, not his physique.

lol@colrs :rotfl:
anyways i agree with this notion, he should gain some confidence on flat tracks and revise his shots then go on and try them in WC :wink:

*Originally posted by Ganja: *

Hey, if the guy has a beard, does that mean he cannot play cricket? It is his personal matter, so leave it to him. Comment on his game if u want to, not his physique.

The guy runs/talks like a molvi too .. what can I do? I never said if he has a beard he cant play cricket.. its just that he doesnt seem much of a cricketer now.. players are supposed to be agile and all.. and his batting is never useful as we all know.. so basically he can take up mulana status permanantly.

At one point, when PCB dropped him, I thought it was because Pakistan wanted to make their image different in the international scene. (Hence the extremist issue going on in Pakistan currently in politics).

If a player is good, then he deserves a chance. Even if he is a senior and gets out of form for a long time, he too deserves a chance to be dropped.

Re: Good news, Saeed will play the worldcup:)

Thats a relief, he can score some pretty good runs.