Good brought up

Do u think u get better muslims n pakistanis only if ur kids r raised in pak or any other muslim country for instance? everyday i hear ppl moving back to their homeland saying kids r getting older so they fear n wanna take them to their country.
i mean if u wanna teach them culture n religion can’t u do that living in west? or is it that parents themselves don’t wanna be a good role model n think by just changing places kids will develop into better person.

So wats ur intake on this?

Well its everyone's choice but I think either you live on West or East your up bringing will effect child's personality if you are living in east and you are not praying then what difference does it make?On the other hand side there are chances that even sometimes you don't pay attention to namaaz but living in muslim countries has an advantage that may be your child will pick up good habbits if he has good muslim company.But in Western countries you have to work hard.Anywayz at the end the result is as you sow so shall you reap.

Re: Good brought up

i think same that if u don't practice ur culture n religion at home changing places won't make a difference. i've seen girls born n raised here n they r MA way better than girls in Pak wearing sleeveless, dating with guys etc. Even all kids brought up in Saudia Arabia r not gauranteed that they pray regularly. i knew few girls in class n they didn't know how to read Quran n it was 10 standard i'm talking abt. n then so many had bf's that they met secretly even in that tight country.

It doesn't really matter where kids are brought up. If they are brought up in Pakistan, they'd probably be worse off ... not learning respect for fellow human beings and rule of law.

now that another extreme thought i guess

The place of upbringing is definitely one of more important factors, if not the most, in the upbringing a development of a child.

Its for a reason that the Prophet (sas) has forbidden muslims to leave the lands of believers and settle amongst the believers. For those who were born in the lands of the disbelievers should strive to move to the lands of the Muslims.

Those who say that it doesnt matter where a child is brought up are merely speaking out of their desires.

Lets take a scenario where there are two young children, where one is being brought up in a predominantly non muslim community in one of the more secular countries in Europe and the other being brought up in a holy city like Makkah, living next to the haram....ceteris paribus (all other factors being equal).

I think its pretty obvious which one of these two would grow up to be a better Muslim, with better morals and having a stronger relationship with Allah.

n wat would u say abt ppl brought up in an islamic country but as soon as they hit europe or west they forget their morals n religion?
or wat abt clubing n drinking in almost all muslim countries?

Being brought up in a muslim country = good muslim kids....

nope that's a load of boohockey imo...

shouldn't muslim settle in countries of non-believers n teach them morals of islam. i thought it was our duty as a muslim to spread our religion.
but if u compare past to present the number of muslims has amazingly increased in West n now there was a survey that by 2050 or something muslims will reach majority in thee countries. n this is wat we read abt signs of qayamat too that muslim will rule the world.

Hmmmm, so land of the believers like Pakistan today? :chai:

pakistan he kis mujhay tu her muslim country non-muslim se diff feel nahi hoti. take malaysia or dubai for instance even lebanon.
saudia main bhi behind the doors sub chalta hai. masses to Royality all follow their nafs more than they follow Allah n rasool(SAW)

I think most people go back to Pakistan not for the sake of religion but for the culture. No matter how "modern" Pakistan may become there will always be certain cultural taboos which will never become a norm and thus make it easy for parents to forbid their kids from doing something that is frown upon in the society at large.

You could move to Timbuktu and it would not matter. The whole nature/nurture debate has already been exhausted many times before, so I won't go into that. If anything I would say that those in the West, are in a better position if they are brought up the correct way. One should not choose a lifestyle because the mass majority happens to follow it.

Whilst I love Pakistan, I don't think these days it is any better than the West. However, because things get swept under the carpet it all looks hunky dory from afar, What is more important is the values which parents instill in their children. You can only protect them for so long and eventually they will have to make their own choices one day. Living in a Muslim country will not guarantee their goodness. It starts at home. Home does not a geographical location whilst a house does.

^ ya makes sense. i would hate for my kids to grow up feeling confused or deprived, as if they were being brought up with too many restrictions that their peers/friends in school do not have. children take comfort in being one of the crowd, do not like being singled out and as they grow older restrictions in food (halal), dressing, opp sex relationships etc will set them apart from other kids, might be an alienating experience.

not to say, that raising kids in pakistan is a piece of cake, hardly. there is no snooze button in parenting anywhere but at least there its one less thing to worry about since these restrictions are a cultural and religious norm and might make more of an impact on kids as they learn best by example vs reasoning.

Umm.. no. Lots of cultural taboos of the past are completely normal now.

..And you think they refrain from such activities.NO NO!

personally, i know for a fact that it is not the place of upbringing but the upbringing itself that makes the difference.
in pakistan or muslim countries, kids probably hav worse habits, from what i have seen anyway, becuz they hide and do terrible sins. just becuz it isnt out in the open, it duznt mean it duznt happen.
in the west ppl dont hide much, i dont hide anything from my parents. i am quite liberal, i am living away for university, and if i really wanted to i cud get into bad habits but its my iman and upbringing that keeps me grounded.
i am just a teen, and wen i last went to pakistan i was shocked by the things ppl do there and they asked me if i was like that and i sed of course not. they didnt believe me becuz i hav freedom. freedom. freedom duznt mean u do wrong things, everyone can choose what they do right or wrong. i was like these ppl, they dont even realize wut sinners they are.
it is sometimes mind boggling to me that soo many ppl today forget that THIS is not their real life. but the real life begins after death.
i also believe that ultimately it also has nothing to do with how ur parents brought u up. it duz in the sense that they bring u up and based on that u can choose what u choose to do. if u grow up with parents who are alcoholics, u see and learn from that but it is upto u to decide whether u want to be alcoholics like them or learn from their mistake and make a better life for yourself in the future.
some really religious ppl hav atheist children and vice versa.
in the end,every individual is their own person; and they can choose how they live their life.

I know that in Pakistan all sorta things happen but my point was that some things will never become "norm" and accepted in society at large, and yes that makes us hypocrite but its the truth.

Umm.. no. Lots of cultural taboos of the past are completely normal now

For example??, I am taking about the whole Pakistani society which is at most part still conservative, not moral but conservative. The so called "westernized" people who think that any thing goes are still a very small minority in Pakistan.