Golf lovers please respond

Hi,
I need some simple answers to a couple of questions.
Are you a regular golf player or just play occasionally or are you a pro :slight_smile:
Which golf equipment company is more known and which one would you buy?
If you had a choice between Callaway and Nike, which one would you prefer and why?
Err I’ll come back with more questions later but please do respond these :smiley:

occassional player

which golf club company is more known hmm

titleist
callaway
Taylor made
Powerbilt
mizuno
ping

if i had a choice, hmm probably nike
why, I have used nike before and like the feel.

yayyy,, finally a thread on golf.

humsa, i,ve never tried nike before,, they look quite nice though...

i am an occasional player... but i can say that i have been hanging out with the pro's and national level players for quite some time (back in pakistan)... played in tournaments myself... so i know a little bit.

quite frankly,,, i was a big fan of all the big brand names,,, and i still am i guess,, but a professional here who also custom fits clubs and manages a pro shop told me that all these brand names are only expensive becuse of the name,,, and the money they pay the porfessionals to use their sets... he showed me an unknown brand,, and the latest callaway X-16,,, the head was identical. he said they both came from the same factory,, one has the callaway badging, and the other,, some unknown brand... i hit em both, n they felt same.... soooooo if ur not too big on brand names, and have a tight budget,, u can go for one of those after careful selection,,, the shafts are all standard, and u can choose between different ones from true temper to rifle shafts, and graphite and precision and aldila and what not,,,,,

khair , having said that,, if i was given a choice,,, i,d incline towards callaway... theyv been there for a loong time,, all the research and stuff is done by callaway wen they come up with a design,, and then it gets copied down by unknown brand,, same goes for other big brands,,, they all spend the bucks on research and design,, and then the minnows copy down bits n pieces....

I personally own a Callaway X-14 steelhead set and I LOVE it! it has the best feel in the world.. and it has given me at least one club advantage in distances as well.

If you are getting it for someone, it,d be really wise to let em try them both out n choose,,, for me, callaway would get preference... only cos i,ve tried it...

I did a lot of research before buying my callaways, nike's look like a mad set of golf clubs though, depends what the level of the player is too,, if ur a beginner, use oversized (head) golf clubs,,, DONT go for blades, they are hard to hit for a beginner,,, same with forged irons,,, it,d be hard for u to hit if ur a beginner. go for oversize cavity irons...
DONT buy the "X-16 pro series" if ur not a low handicapper... or a nike pro combo... the pro series are normally very hard to hit for a beginner...

mind u ping is a mad mad brand too... i have an old ping eye2 set which was considered a classic in the 80's.. its very good,,, but ever since i got my X-14s, i,ve never looked back...

if ur buying for urself,,, or for someone,,,, the best advice i can give u is,,, get ur swing checked,,, and get the clubs u choose, custom fitted to ur needs,,, it makes a LOT of difference.

when it comes to drivers.... close ur eyes and get a titleist,,, titleist is by far the best in the market right now,,, and trust me,,, theres a BIG difference between different drivers... I have some oldish taylormade, heaps of callaways those big bertha war birds, and the great big berthas ang the biggest big berthas and the big bertha steelheads, and a big bertha C4 too,,,, NOTHING comes close to a titleist.. i have a 975D.. but i,ve heard the newer ones,,, 983k is just awesome!

all this is from a yr ago,, so i wouldnt know wats in or out these days....

damn, i think i got carried away,, my post is all over the place....

short answer,,,, if u HAVE to choose between the two, i,d take callaway,, unless nike felt better at the driving range.

lol i cant be bothered reading all that again,, so apologies in advance if i,ve made any typos or errors, i happen to skip whole words while typing :D

oh,, and just to complete ur set....

titleist and cleveland wedges are very good...

and the putter... pings have been the favourite for a loong time,, and titleist have lately been among the favourites too,, their scotty cameron series has been a hit.

all this.... if u have lots of dollars to waste :p

acchi bandook challanay kay liye pehlay bandook chalani aani chahiye...

and fraudz... powerbilt??

thats like listing hyundai with BMW and mercedes and jaguar :p

i agree with ur other choices, plus cobra/king cobra, wilson, maxfli, cleveland, macgregor, tommy armor etc.

the question was on which companies are "known" more, not which are considered the best, I should have added wilson in there too.

i love playing mini golf...

how often do u play fraudz? I havent played in agesss...

Peer Ji, sanno vi khidmat da monka deyo,,,Kaddi Houston tashrif leyao Golf hi Golf ai....
I have not played in over a year, but go to the range evry two weeks.

kakay, I have not played in some time. I try to get in a few outings each summer, that is the limit of my golfing. For obvious reasons with family situation, I have not gone once in 2004.

Kaleem..

InshaAllah yaar, kabhi chakar zaroor lagay ga, even if it is to come for azkar's kaan marrori and thapraakh cheeni

Wah, I didn't realize there were other golfers on GS. I'm a regular player and now that summer is here in full swing, I play at least 36 holes a week. I'm in North Carolina and so have the luxury of some of the best and cheapest courses in North America.

Callaway definitely very awesome, my irons are callaway, I have a ping putter, and a big bertha driver.

Y'all should come down here and play some really cheap golf on some championship courses, costs around $19.00 for 18 holes after 2:00 PM.

hmmm,, thats quite reasonable,,,, championship courses are quite expensive here,, although normal public courses are around 20 - 25 bucks. aahmed yaar,,, big bertha is old now,, try the new titleist ones,, they give u at least 20 yards extra,, i,ve used all the callaway drivers except their latest one,, (great big bertha II). and trust me,,, theres BIg difference.

So Kakey, do you prefer the wedge or a 9-iron?

:-| whatever u prefer catty, i think i,d be able to control both. now do u prefer a full wedge shot? or a controlled 3 quarters of the 9 iron?? :p

If Im going for an eagle, Id use the wedge, especially if there arent any twists and turns and bunkers along the way.
:p

Janay bhi do. I'm done with my presentation :P

eagle? hehehe,
now stop using random golf terms and pretend ur this big arse golfer! :hoonh:

humsa, how was it?

40 min presentation was stretched to one and a half hour because people couldn't stop asking questions and I couldn't stop being my usual charming, witty self :)

sure! we believe you. :p

oh please, we all know youre still stuck on a 24 handicap! thus, you wouldnt even know what an eagle is, let alone a birdie :snooty:

humsa what kind of presentation?