gold sets and what not

Why these much jwellery set… i bet you can’t even wear those heavy jwelleries after your merriage.It’s the locker or your safe who wears those not you.And not only that 1st you invest money to buy em and then pay the zakaat for the whole life :rolleyes:

It’s true in our society these things count ( just to show off).Nobody will go to pay your zakaat.To make your mom happy buy maxm. 2 sets :stuck_out_tongue:

In my opinion buying jwelleries is like wasting your money.There are lot work to do with those money.I have my first hand experience.
I’ll suggest go see the world. :smiley:

I buy my jewellery 3 months before when i got
married. But if u buy or make it before ismay kya
harch hai? I think it is good.
Lekin one thing dont make a big seth coz after ur wedding
u dont wear them. I also have 2 big one and i dont wear them
it is in safe fazool para hai.
Nilu

Gold and precious stones ..... a major source of aggro in desi marriages, even where wealthy and well educated people are involved. I'm ofetn astonished how much importance is given to those things. Maybe at one time that yardstick was the only one avavilable to us to judge whether a couple were well matched ?

What's your own personal point of view?
Do YOU like them/think they are important for your happiness? Do you think that you want to spend your money this way? Do YOU feel it's a good investment for the future? That the person you marry will think less of you if you don't have enough of it? That you want to live your life with someone who feels it's so important? etc etc......

Lots of good ideas here about how to use the money. Lots of good points about how useful the stuff is. Or what a burden it can be.

You can buy some pretty nice costume
jewellery these days.... often no-one can tell the difference unless you tell them.

gold is so passe, a Diamond is forever. And I would prefer diamond over gold, especially hideously huge gold sets. But then, I am so not into jewellery and parents have the idea. And I think I will use the marriage fund(atleast a part of it) to get a jump start in NY anyway( unless and until my parents don;t disown me for moving out)

Shirin has asked some very pertinent questions. Answer them before you buy jewellery.

And I think Chachoo made the recommendation that you should invest in gold rather than jewellery. I would go with that suggestion too. Fashions and designs change all the time....just have the gold handy when you need to buy and you will be able to get whatever you need/want.

Who knows what your preferences will be when you are actually ready to be married? Perhaps you will find yourself hopelessly in love with a man that wants to see his wife decked out in finery. Perhaps you will find a man that would rather backpack through Europe and go camping in the jungles of Brazil, who knows? Whatever the case, having those little gold bricks put away will not hurt.

I personally am not into wearing jewerly or anything close to it. Yes, once in a while I'd buy girly stuff, which I wear for a while and that's about it.

Islamically, there is no concept of dowry (jahez) from the bride's side. If my parents so desire, then they can spend their own money on whatever jewerly (or anything else) they would want to get me.

I know my mom and grandparents have got me a few sets of such nature, but I have never looked at'em as they mean nothing to me.

I was doing so good Islamically and otherwise, until these desis (relatives, acquaintances, and possibly my parents) totally screwed my life. Therefore, I could care less if desis have anything to say about not having enough jewelry or dowry.

I'm happy spending my money on buying clothes, food, and technical gadgets. At least they seem to be providing me with short-term happiness. And that's all that matters to me.

how did i miss this… see what the weekend does to aussies. Bhool jaathe hain kausni thread kholi thi

peoples, i dont think im gonna be making any jewelerry set anytime soon.. several reasons 1) no dhula 2) no money once i get back from my awara gardi 3) i dont think i like jewelerry :eek:

Umer, i know what u mean.. how can someone organise all this stuff when there is no sign of a marraige in the first place. I guess its different when ur living in pak, cus ur parents are always fussing over ur jehaz and wat not.. my cousins all have their jehaz already.. it makes me really sad when i see 3 humungous boxes (bigger than me) full of stuff for em.. and then i see mum and she’s like “im sorry…”.. like as though she needs to say sorry to me cus i have no jahez.. tsk.. the pressure

i thought id be a good girl and organise some stuff, u knows at least take a bit of burden off mum.. but i doubt thats happening any time soon.. neways khair…

catty, i got all these suits made thinking id wear them when i got back here, but they turned out to be all like shadi-wadi style stuff.. so now ive gotta keep em aside for my wedding.. yeaaaaaaaahhh i do have a bit of jahez.. how cool is that

sheesh.. im so bored.. cant believe i wrote such a long post

2Good, im not paying for the bathroom :blush:

Originally posted by garma_garam_gup: *
*once u have all the sona remember to pay zakaat on it.

Luc jee, i dont need gold as an excuse to pay zakaat.. i already do that

I didn't start buying sets until 7 months or so before the wedding day. We bought some smaller sets with ruby and emerald, turqoise, that would match with the outfits we bought. I don't like big gaudy pieces either, so we bought what I liked. My m-i-l is a jeweller, so she had already saved up big sets for her future d-i-laws. I just thought it would be a waste to invest in so many big sets if I'm not going to wear them. We don't believe in showing off for status sake. I totally went with personal need in terms of what I bought.

My mother kept talking about gold like it's a woman's investment. Maybe in the old days, but it's not like i'm going to sell my jewellery...so bigger is not better in this case. Actually all of the big sets I have are stored away in a safe and I only see them like once or twice a year.

In my wedding pic all the jewellery is what mum gave me as a gift. I really could have done without it all but the fact that mum saved up out of her spends for years so she could buy me something to remember...i thought it was incredibly sweet and i couldn't say no to her. Well i did to be honest but i got bollocked and told that you're having it anyway.

Save the main set...my inlaws bought me 3 little ones and one medium sized for my lehnga.

So all in all i had nothing before marriage, lots after marriage...and i'm still the same. It didn't interest me then and neither now. I wear NO gold whatsoever regardless of where i go be it aunties house or weddings. I can't be doing with it.

For a bride though...i know it is a waste of money but i think big chunky jewellery completes the bridal look. You can go simple by all means but i don't know..ok saddzzia...tu jo marzi kar. Don't let them pressure you. Ultimately if you waste money and don't utilise the goods afterwards then it's silliness to buckle under pressure and buy them.

Ignore them.