InshAllah I’m getting married april 2010, and will be goin to london,uk aftr shaadi as fiance is already settled there, now the thing is I have never been abroad and nor have any family there (apart frm sum teenage guy cousins studying), what I wanna know is that what stuff should I consider buying and what not ?? Like in clothes , jewellery , makeup etc. I’m clothes jewellery and not to mention handbag frantic so I don’t wanna over spend in shopping wen I cannot even take them wid me.
We wil be moving into a new house iA so plz let me know if I would need any desi kitchen items .
How many clothes shd I make (heavy , formal or semi formal ) he has almst all of his phophos and khalas over der so I’m expecting a lot of dawats.
I’m nervous, new place new ppl.
Plz guide me
i live in the uk one thing worth buying from pakistan is lots of clothes!!!!!! new trends are always out there way before they come out here....maybe you could do with heavy/formal type for dawats and any weddings etc. but you could probably do with alot of casuals...
there are loadz of shoes places here you might want to get nice sandle types for some of your outfits....
So is lawn wearable in uk summers or should I go for chiffons, gorgettos etc ???
My fiance and I are of same height so its sad tat I won't be wearing heels a lot , as he specifically asked me not .. Do uk have good collection of flat shoes ? I saw couple of websites but nothing matched good old ecs chappals :)
The cost of living is very high in London so if you can take all the things you are frantic about. You will definitely have sticker shock when you get there and realize that you need to pay three to five times what you would have paid for clothing, jewellery and sandals.
dont worry u will b fine!...ofcourse u will miss ur family, but with the support of ur hubby u will b fine, remember lots of clothes and sandals!! bring dinner sets, handi's(if u want) roti storer (att phatt) because its alot cheaper! good luck may allah give u alot of happiness!! ameen.
Bring enough clothes and accesories to last the busy dawat place.
Household items can be quite expensive. Dinner sets, the big handiyaan especially, so if you can and want too, that maybe a consideration.
You can get reasonably priced things here, you just have to look around a bit more. I used to ask for a lot of things from Pakistan before, but I find that I can find them in the UK for pretty much the same price i.e. pretty sandals, jewellery etc.
so girls, u all are saying brinf loads of clothes now please guide me which kapra works best in ul weather for casuals?? im getting married in april so how r summers in london? shd i go for lawns , cottons or reshmi stuff??
and kitchen pans.. u mean karahais and etc and dinner sets? are we allowed to take them? airport walon ko issue tu nahi hota na?
im sorry im askin al this cause i m actualy nervous and i dont have anyone else to ask .his mom even lives in pakistan so she isnt a big help. :(
Takes loadz n loadz of shalwar kameez with you.... i'd say sum kitchen appliances (masla mixture) etc..... rest u can get from thr.
I'd try not to buy handbags from here..... since u get can better bags thr. but get those lil shiny bags,pouches,cluthes........ typical ones nayi naweli dulhan walay, lol.
London can be HOT........ So, u might get to wear lawn in Summer.....
Since british weather is coldish, i'd say take some motay kapray. but not too motay ghar centerally heated hotay hain.... (im not sure what materials are exactly called)
All the best for ur wedding.... May Allah bless u with loads of happines.... Ameen.
April will probably be quite cool so u will need to start off with some warmish clothes. A word about lawns for summer, yes they can be worn BUT BE WARNED SEE-THROUGH CLOTHING IS NOT ACCEPTABLE IN ENGLAND as much as it is in Pakistan!!! Don't want no desi underwear displays thank you very much... ;)
Take some warm thick cotton / marina clothing, some light cool clothes. I don't know what your general taste is but women parading around in parrot green and bright luminous yellow and pink outfits are a sight for sore eyes so I would advise u to go to a little more toned down / natural / neutral colours for your everyday wear.
Take a tawa too for your roti making. I would NOT advise u to take food processors or any electrical goods from Paks, u can get better spec stuff here.
As zara says, take small bags for occasional use but u r better off getting your everyday bags from uk. But u will need a bigger accomodating handbag for your flight.
yes you can bring handeeya and dinner sets, airport lot dont say anything,oh dont bring kiyoh (ghee) you can get fined for it, but red curry powder is allowed.
as for the clothes bring LOADS! already sewn because its expensive here, bring cotton/lawn clothes for wen we do get some sunshine, but mostly reshmi and motay clothes, hope all this helps.
xoxo hunny… please listen to everyone .. Uk is brilliant to start ur married life!!!:k:… u can get EVERYTHING there so dont worry about kitchen / home stuff- its a shoppers paradise and the sales are A W E S O M E !!!..Inshallah u will settle in fine !!!;0 Good luck hun!!
hey its not really hot in the summers so dont bring too much lawn you can bring a few but dont over do it!!!! cottons are ok for summers aswell
but as someone mentioned bring reshmi style and motta clothes as mostly its on the cold side here and chappals i love the chappals from pakistan. my m,i,l to be sends me them with the fancy type suits she sends me and they are gorjus!!!!
Dont worry u will be fine inshallah. it will take time to settle in but u surely will....