GOING TO PAKISTAN, WHAT TO BUY FROM THERE?

Hey every1 im going to pak soon, and all year i think when i go im goin2 get this and that, but now its come to it i can think of anythin!!!

So anyone got any ideas on stuff i can get, anything and everything..cosmetics, creams, facewash, herbal stuff…and other bits and pieces, stuff that i cant get from uk..
Thanks!

Re: GOING TO PAKISTAN, WHAT TO BUY FROM THERE?

taaftaan, seeKh kabaab, chikan tikke aur shaahi TukRe yaa feereenii ;)

lol, i have never heard of the first and last thing, bt i knw fr sure, mere kaam ki nahi hogi!

i'd say the traditional stuff, rosewater, ubtan, multani mitti maybe?

lol...i guess...taaftaan is like sheermaal [mildly sweet bread, the dough made in milk and butter] but is bigger and thinner while feereenii is like kheer but the rice is finely crushed like wheat hearts [sooji] and is cooked slowly on low heat open flame oven [choolha]. its yummmy!**

dont buy any facial products like face wash, creams ect n if u want any china made cosmetics then u can try but nothing really gud n speciall.

buy eclairs and tang and rooh afza :)
I'm going too in a month or so inshallah!

• My major shopping item: SHOESSSSS............... I don't know about UK, but fancy shoes here in USA are expensive and BORING. I always buy my party shoes from pakistan (with stones and diamante and all).
  • Gulab jamuns from Sony Sweets in Karachi (since now they sell them in sealed cans also).
  • Hashmi kajal: 8 pack.
  • Artificial/silver jewlery (fancy earrings, bracelets, glass bangles, etc.) Will post if I think of anything else.

Do you want to collect stuff for your wedding or just shopping in general?

buy artificial jewelries
clothes
jootay u can buy almost every colour of shoes/ sandals since they are so cheap here:)
and eat alot of the desi stuff i bet you cant get them from abroad :) d same taste ie
eat gulab jamuns and kulfi from jamil sweets :D lol if you are coming to the twin cities

and enjoy ALOT :D

shoes is a must!

jst stuff in general, nothing specific! x

And shoes are a bit impossible 4 me in pak, my feet are flat!!! so quite wide and theyr big, u dont get my size in pak!! lol xx

Clothessssssssssss, have lots of nice things to eat, try out various eating places, shawls.

Get mehendi from Pak. The quality and color turns out richer. There's a special type of mehendi known as "dulhan mehndi" which is designed to show up on your skin. You can buy a pack of the mehndi cones and keep them not only for your wedding or weddings in general but to use for Eid as well.

Of course there is the** clothes shopping**. Buy a variety. For example, simple clothes that you can wear at home (if you need those)........slightly fancy that you can wear to semi-formal occasions such as a dinner invitation......and more elaborate/fancy clothes that you can wear to parties and formal occasions such as weddings.

Shoes **is a good idea. You can also get fancy evening clutches/purses.**

Jewelry. There is better variety in gold in Pak. BUT.......you can also get articicial earrings/chokers/anklets/rings that have a more traditional desi style. How about glass bangles? When I go to Pak.......I always get glass bangles because the variety is so much better over there.

It will be getting cooler in a few months. So, you could even get some pretty embroidered shawls from Pak. Some people think that shawls are for old women.......but......i've seen some BEAUTIFUL shawls worn by young girls/women. And they just look like embroidered dupattas.

You could (if you're interested) as someone above suggested......get ubtan/mulatni mitti/surma type cosmetics and facial products.

As far as** food** is concerned......my family usually brings back mithai (barfi especially) and chilgozay (pine nuts).
DVDs of popular dramas**? People sometimes get those as well :)

My parents will sometimes bring back traditional decoration/furniture pieces from Pak because they're cheaper and of course greater variety.

a years supply of contact lenses!!!!!!! and coloured ones for special occasions!! =D

OOOH......that's a good one, Lama! For one who is interested in wearing colored lens....it's definitely cheaper to get it from Pak :)

i know rv i always make sure i get my contacts from there... its so much more cheaper and easier for me!

artificial jewellery,cloths,shoes,mehndi,nd cn get ur cloths stitched there cheaper thn anywhere else in the world

♥ thank u every1 ♥