I know that even people who never go to masjid during the year, turn up to the masjid or eidgah on eid, but which eid? Both eids?
re: Going to masjid on Eid
YES...always on both Eid...5 waqt kii namaaz jo farz hai uskaa koi aHtamaam nahiiN magar jo namaaz farz nahiiN hai uskaa itnaa aHtamaam ... ajeeb baat hai...hai na? kabhii kabhii namaaz paRh lene meN koii maHnat nahiiN aur Eidai'n kii tafreeH saath ho to kia hii kahne! sad! :(
HaaN, ajib baat hai! Meher baani!
Whats Idgah?
Eid Gah :Dعید گاہ Jahan Eid ki namaz perhi jaey :Dat first In my mind was also something like idgha ادغام ![]()
**Eid-gaah [gaah=place] is a place where Muslims gather to offer prayers on eidai’n [Eid-ul-Fitr and Eid-ul-Adha]. It’s just the shell of a building with no roof or rooms. ONLY Eid prayers are held here and it’s sanctity is NOT that of a Masjid. It’s locked for the rest of the year with little or NO upkeep. it’s readied for Eids a few days before the the occasion by applying white-wash on inside and outside of it’s walls, cutting grass and laying rugs for the namaaz if the main Masjid has it.
why build Eid gaahs? it’s because of the need. in olden days, most majids [other than the Jami Mosques] were small and could NOT hold all the Eid prayer namaazis hence there was a need to build it in the outskirts of the town. in rural India/Pakistan, Muslims from all the smaller villages and hamlets would collect in Eid gaahs in bigger villages.**
here is the pic of my village Eid gaah which serves the Muslims of at least a dozen smaller villages.**
Wow, never heard of this before, learning something new everyday ![]()
YUP, every moment of everyday…i do too!..i knew it because i lived in a village until age 14 ![]()
Re: Going to masjid on Eid
Whats Idgah?
flame attempt.....
I know that even people who never go to masjid during the year, turn up to the masjid or eidgah on eid, but which eid? Both eids?
and why does it hurt you?
chalo saal k saal 2 dafa to naha he laite hain log :p
I’m confused. Why would you assume I was being judgmental in any way? I was explaining this to someone, comparing it to Christians who go to church only on Christmas or Easter, and I wanted to get my facts straight, that’s all.
If there is a fight of some sort here, I don’t have a dog in it.![]()
Still, why does it concern you?
If you know them personally then ask them why do you see them in mosque on eids only? They probably go to some smaller mosque for usual 5 prayers.
Actually, I am speaking from the experience of knowing many friends who do not go to masjid and do not pray 5 times a day, yet they go for Eid prayers. Why are you getting all het up about it? It's not about you, and it's not about me, and there is no judgment of anyone else's choices involved, just a desire to be able to explain the importance of Eid.
perhaps because Eid has turned into more of a social activity rather than a religious one so they don't want to miss out on the fun?
Isn't it a good thing that they come to the mosque on eid?
perhaps because Eid has turned into more of a social activity rather than a religious one so they don't want to miss out on the fun?
Could well be. Also, maybe it's a way of saying, Hey, I'm still part of the ummah, even if I'm lazy most of the year!
Isn't it a good thing that they come to the mosque on eid?
Sure, why wouldn't it be? It's nice to have culture. We in America don't have this, unless one is part of some tightknit kind of religion, like Judaism or Greek orthodox or Mormonism.
flame attempt.....
sorry?
im confujsed now.