Going to Dubai

Hi Everyone,

I’m going to Dubai for a week on Monday 9th February…

Can you give me some advice like what to take with me and what to do out there?

I want to know about…

Places to visit
Restaurants
Beauty Salons
Tailors - who make shalwar kameez and curtains
Buying shalwar kameez/sari

I’m staying at the Hilton Jumeirah Beach…

If you have any other advice to give me please do as it will be much appreciated!!!

Re: Going to Dubai

ooo hilton jumeirah beach:p nice nice:o right next to wild wadi and burj al arab :blush:

yes....i hope it's as good as it sounds!

let me know if you have any tips for me! xxx

any1 comin to dubai

Global Village
Burjuman (shopping)
Mall of the Emirates (shopping)

Desert Safari
Gold Souk
Spice Souk
Madinat Jumeira
Al-Qasr
Atlantis

Places to eat (depends on what u like)

I love Biella @ Wafi City
Noodle House
Toscana's
The Great Kabab Factory

JamBase

ur the bomb;) but the list can be further expanded hehe

how bour shakespeare n co?:jano:

Yeah I only wish she had narrowed down her likes :) what cuisine?

Thanks Gina!

Well if i'm going to Dubai then it has to be middle east cuisine!! i love their food....so i want to eat traditional Arabic food!

what about beauty salon and tailors?

thanks guys! x

I stayed there, they r v friendly, if its your bday / anniversary, tell them, they will give u a nice cake, and leave u gifts in your room like a nice pen or chocolates.

Tailors - DREAMGIRL!!! LOL.

Walk around Madinat Jumeirah and there r a whole host of food places there.

So the Hilton Jumeirah is a nice place to stay? i really can't wait..... what type of clothes do i need to take with me? like for the beach?

^ Its friendly, its not bad, but there are MUCH bigger and flashier places to stay in Jumeirah. The rooms were smaller than i expected, the site is smaller than i expected too, but its nice n friendly.

Lots of british and german people there. Pool is quite small compared to others and v bz poolside and beachside.

Take whatever u would normally wear to the beach/ People were wearing v skimpy clothes. (not me tho!)

I prefer somewhere not so bz, thats y i would have liked to go somewhere quieter.

Hallab has nice lebanese food! Parlour..Depilex in Jumeira..

I usually get my clothes from Pak, there are a couple of tailors in Meena Bazar and Karama though.

Lots of good food in madinat jumeira and al qasr!

Mall of the Emirates is nice...I also went to the new "Dubai Mall" which is supposed to be the biggest in the world..all the stores weren't open and the place is huge...but didnt have the atmosphere of mall of the emirates...the food court was massive though... Burjaman is also a nice little mall if you wanto avoid the big crowds...you should go on a desert safari for sure, i booked through desertsafaridubai.com and was very satisifed with the service at a good rate...they also offer a city tour which was good...the thing is you need to know what types of activities you wanto do, if you're staying in Jumeirah its pretty far from these places and a taxi will be pretty expensive so you have to plan it out

thanks guys i'm so looking forward to my holiday!

Are you sure you don't know of a good tailor??

Abey itne se time ke liyey bhi beauty salon and tailor,..chein nahin hai? :)

^ A girls always needs a salon on stand-by! goes back to filing her nails

Don't miss Global Village! it was so much fun! Right now Dubai Shopping Festival is going on I.e. deep discounts on merchandise at all Malls! I've only tried desi tailors in Sharja not sure about Dubai but great shopping for western clothing, art pieces jewelry etc. Good luck! I just got back and miss it a lot!