going overseas

Having grown up overseas and being encouraged to travel anywhere on my own, i found it a bit odd (not crazy) when my cousins were refused to visit us in July

Excuse: Akeli larkiyan baher nahin jaa sakthi. Laug kya kahein gein, pehle hi parhai ke leeye Lahore jaathi hain, aur ab baher jaane ki soch rahi hain, toba!

I see why people would say something and why its feared... but how can this attitude be changed? Why is it assumed that if a girl does something on her own, she's bad or her parents are not bringing her up right...?

^^ :flower1: khush raho.

aagggghh. don’t get me started!

:bummer:

thanks hiccy...

i need some work to do

haha,,ah that's when i love being a guy..left home when i was a little over 18...and just wouldn't have it any other way..nothing like being independent...

Excuse: Akeli larkiyan baher nahin jaa sakthi. Laug kya kahein gein, pehle hi parhai ke leeye Lahore jaathi hain, aur ab baher jaane ki soch rahi hain, toba!

Can you translate this, sorry.

^ Translation (correct me if I'm wrong)
"Girls can't go out alone. What will people say? First, they were away for studies, and now they are thinking of going out, for shame!"

Re: going overseas

hmmmmmmm same as in my case…thats what ive been asking my dad alll along…y wont u let me do that and that and this?..and he says ‘lurki ho’ and i dun want anything bad happening or people o be talking…uurrgggghh i guess that makes us ‘typical’ asians…:mad2:

but one way or the other…he’s right…and i will respect his decision…its better not to do it then be sorry afterwards…ask the people who have already gone through it…

Sadddz, I've been to a couple of countries 'alone' (without parents) And thank god my parents didn't make a big deal out of it. Insh'Allah I'll go to Pakistan alone in a few months, now THAT was difficult for my parents, they're still not sure if they can let me go. I must say that I'm a little nervous myself. It's just journey really, I don't have to travel alone IN Pakistan but still.

I think parents are just overly worried, it's not a safe world. 'What if' something happened?

It's because of our buzurgs' jaahil attitudes mostly.

Hahaha. What's this? Story of my life? :)

yeah… but still i love my parents :flower1: for their strengths and (maybe not as much but still) for their weaknesses

thats the prevalent attitude in pakistan sadzzz, i think its kinda sweet :slight_smile: but pakistani society and peoples attitudes all over the country have undergone are are undergoing huge rapid changes.

i’m the only girl in my entire family [apart from cousins in london] who’s travelled by herself. my unmarried female cousins in pakistan would not be allowed to travel by themselves even within pak. my mom was the only female in her generation from her family who travelled alone, she went abroad for work to libya when she was not married and she is basically the main force behind trying to make me more independent in these things as well.

these days, everything is very safe and travelling alone on flights is quite OK for girls i think.

I never experienced this abroad but I do admit, at the Pakistani airports or all Pakistani flights or if you are by yourself in a public place in Pakistan there are some Mr SLEAZE’s :yukh: :mad: sigh ] around who do try to take advantage of the fact that you’re alone. Just coz you’re alone, they think they can stare at you nonstop or pass by and say something sketchy and you being a female won’t respond. If my brother or dad would have been there they would have never dared to do that. I always just ignore the person and get up and move. I don’t do anything coz I don’t want to bring attention to myself in fact I act like I didn’t even notice the loser. But its true in these cases I do hate being alone and wish my brother or dad were with me.

When I was 16 and travelling to Pakistan with my mother, a Mr. Sleaze made a pass at my mother despite the fact that I was standing right there with her!!! :grumpy:

I honestly wanted to go sock him one right in the face, but with all those security guards around that wouldn’t have ended well for me.

I had to give him a menacing stare instead —> :hoonh:

^ hahah Mr. Sleaze.

Did you ever walk pass a good looking girl and go "mm.mmm.mmmm"

Maddy you should have just punched him bro and broken some of his front teeth :mad: ARGH I hate such losers :disgust:

Well, I have a friend who on main Tariq Road, when some Mr Sleaze made a comment about her, she turned around, took off her chappal and smacked it on his head :o I’m sure that taught him a lesson and he never dared to harrass a girl again. I always hate myself for just letting the loser go unpunished… :frowning: I wish I had the guts to do that too :crying: sigh

Desi parents are always going to be apprehensive about such things. In some ways, its cute because it does show that they care. My parents don’t really have a problem with me travelling alone. I’ve been to Pak by myself several times. And then me and my female cousin went through Europe on our own for 6 weeks :love: after graduating high school. My parents were horror-struck at the idea at first but my darling grandfather persuaded them that we would be fine.

Personally, I think its a helluva lot safer getting off a plane and into a cab in Paris or London than in Karachi or Lahore.

i agree with irem ....:-)

those who live in pak are rightly worried about it ......travelling abroad /oversees is really safe but they calculate the dangers living there in pak .....n sadly it isn't much safe

i spent 4 years in lahore for studies n had to go through a lot while travelling .....all alone on my own n couldn't even share my fears n bad experiences coz i knew i'll not be allowed to complete my degree in that case
(not that my parents don't value education ....but i knew they had no choice)

well i have been to pakistan couple of times my self but whenever i talk about going some where else, this is the standard response i get " jahan jana shadi k baad chali jana apnay shoher k saath." ( u can go where ever u want after u are married. go with ur husband).

i am thinking of putting "travelling" as a condition in the nikkah nama. a new place every summer or winter vacations/long weekends is a must. warna fittay mooh!