Gmat

Whose taken them here and how well did you guys do?
Share your expierence. :slight_smile:

Re: Gmat

the exam’s a breeze… quite a few people here have been through it.

here are some pointers from past threads:

http://www.gupistan.com/gs/showthread.php?t=44197
and
http://www.gupistan.com/gs/showthread.php?t=44064

GMAT is an easier exam in my opinion than GRE because of heavy vocab GRE expects you to have.

Took it in 1995. Studyied, did well. got into the school I wanted. Baat khatam...khana hazam.

You studied for it?? jaaow yaar… u disappoint me. :slight_smile:

^ yeah man...had to..I was working too hard and partying too hard as well just before the exam. Took PR classes to make sure something stuck in the thick skull. DIdn't work in IT, so didn;t have the easy schedule.

Are the prep courses worth it, i have to take it soon too. InshAllah

I personally believe that one can do good with self-study, but if I were to absolutely recommend a course, I'd go with Kaplan.

Lke Saby said, the GMAT is not so much about content as it is about technique... you just hafta know all the tricks before you go into the exam.

I took the exam with ZERO prep and got a 670 which was ok for the schools I was interested in, but I could have done better if I knew how to answer questions quicker.

OMG!

i was gona open a thread abt this!!!!!

GMAT!!!!!

my focus is now shifting from GRE to GMAT :D

cool thread :D

i will be back once i actually get a grip on my life :D

Wait a second..you are derinding prep courses and you only got a 670? Maybe you have taken one, don’t you think?

I think the prep courses are helpful.. they give you allot of shortcuts.
I'm taking one now.. and its helping...
and I suck at tests so I'm totally freaking out.

that’s what I said… if I’d have taken one, I would hve done better… I went for the exam to see how it is… and if I’d have done poorly, I’d have taken a course and re-done it - I just didn’t wanna spend time studying for something that I didn’t need to study for in the first place.

With zero prep, 670 is an ok score don’t you think?
with a 5/5 on the essays, and good undergrad transcripts, decent work experience, I needed a 650 to get in anyways.

MuNiYa, which prep course are you taking, if I may ask?

Umar when you say work experience, how long should the work experience be before you apply for an MBA?

Do schools that offer MBA's pefer that you work for a while after your BA and than apply for an MBA or can you finish your BA and than apply for a MBA right away ?

Sorry if thats too many questions!

Yeah moderator sahib..it all depends where you want to go. I didn't want to leave it to chance.

Belle, depends on the field. In my industry our career path is laid out quite clearly. Two years of work in the banking/strategy consulting/finance industries adn then you are expected to go to a business school. I know people with IT backgrounds take the long road to china but their end points are very different from my track.

why have you ignored my PM? :teary1:

Here is a great link for questions like these.

http://www.testmagic.com/forums/

I will second Umar and say that GMAT is mostly about Time management. How well can you do in oh-so-many questions in oh-so-little time determines your eventual score apart from the fact how good is your English. And thats where prepration metarials come in handy.